TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
complete
#h6vhtk-069bf1
Published 9 Sept 2026, 15:44 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure

UK6 - Step Up to Social Work Cohort 10 Contractor

Central Government
services
SME eligible
VCSE eligible
Above threshold
Open procedure
Recruitment services
Social work and related services
Published value
£458,333
≈ £323,555 / year
Submission deadline
6 Aug 2026, 12:00 BST
Closed
Clarification Cut-Off
30 Jul 2026, 12:00 BST
Tender enquiry deadline · 1 lot
Contract duration
1 yr 5 mo (with extension options)
Starts 1 Oct 2026, 00:00 BST
Electronic Sourcing Gateway:
Login required
Registration note: Free; latest Chrome/Edge/Firefox only — corporate browsers fail
Instructions: https://education.app.jaggaer.com/web/login.html Jaggaer is the only method for submitting tenders and clarification questions. Suppliers should not make any other form of approach to the Department in connection with this procurement.

What is being bought & procurement scope

Procurement Scope & Specification
Tenderline summary generated from the published notice
Executive Summary: Department for Education: "UK6 - Step Up to Social Work Cohort 10 Contractor". Published status: complete. Published value: £458,333. 1 published lot. Recorded submission deadline: 6 Aug 2026, 12:00 BST. Published submission portal: education.app.jaggaer.com.
Official Requirement Description:
The Department for Education (DfE) is responsible for children’s services including children’s social care in England. Children’s Social Care (CSC) reform is a major priority for the government and backed by £2.5bn investment in this SR period. Government aims to transform children’s services to deliver better outcomes for children and families, as set out in the CSC National Framework. Social Work Workforce is a key enabler of reform: ensuring we have a sufficient and capable workforce to enable better outcomes and contribute to cross-government priorities on tackling Child Sexual Abuse, Domestic Abuse and Violence Against Women and Girls. To ensure we have sufficient social workers for vulnerable children and their families, the DfE funds the Step Up to Social Work (SUSW) programme. SUSW is a specialist, fast track 14-month programme in child and family social work. The programme is a mixture of academic learning and work placements. Local Authorities form Regional Partnerships with a Higher Education Institution to deliver the academic element of the programme. The department is awarding a contract for marketing and attraction, recruitment and supporting the application process, working with Regional Partnerships to ensure all 700 funded places are filled. The remit of the contractor is to: a. Design, manage and host a web portal enabling potential candidates to register an interest, access programme information and submit applications. b. Work with the DfE and Regional Partnerships (RPs) to develop web content. c. Programme marketing with a focus on attracting candidates from diverse backgrounds and targeting male applicants. d. Provide a candidate helpline. e. Conduct eligibility check on qualifications, non-UK equivalency qualifications and eligibility to live and work in the UK. f. Develop an applicant tracking system. g. Host a timed ‘written exercise’ on the recruitment platform. h. Host a booking process for applicants to select a date/time for attendance at an assessment centre. f. Provide personnel to support RPs during assessment centres. g. Keep candidates engaged throughout the process. h. Develop and manage a National Reserve List. i. Manage candidate information and data analytics. j. Produce an End of Year report detailing RP and candidate satisfaction data and recommend areas of the recruitment process that could be improved.

Lots and requirements (1)

Procurement Structure
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Individual lot title not published
    complete
    Renewal
    Published value£458,333
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period:
    1 Oct 2026 — 29 Feb 2028 (1 yr 5 mo)
    Eligibility:
    SME eligible
    VCSE eligible
    Options / extension:
    The Department may extend the Contract for up to two additional cohorts (on a +1+1 basis) by giving not less than 90 Working Days' written notice to the Supplier prior to the Expiry Date. The extension options may be exercised separately or together, resulting in an extension of up to two cohorts. The Supplier acknowledges that, whilst the Contract includes provisions for extension for up to two additional cohorts, there may be periods during which no Services are required to be delivered, as illustrated in Document 1, 4a and 5. Suppliers should take account of any such periods when preparing and submitting their Tender. The Department makes no representation or commitment regarding the future scope, timing, commencement dates, duration, or delivery requirements of any subsequent cohorts. There may be a period between the expiry of the initial Contract Term and the commencement of any extension period. During any such period, no services shall be required to be delivered by the Supplier, and the Department shall have no obligation to make any payment or provide any funding. Any information provided in relation to future cohorts is indicative only and may be subject to change as a result of policy, funding, governance, operational requirements, or other factors. The details of any extension period and associated requirements will be discussed and agreed with the Supplier at the relevant time.

Qualification snapshot & criteria

Go / No-Go Decision Box
Criteria & entry requirements
Evaluation weighting
Award criteria weighting not published in structured data — consult the tender pack documents.
Incumbent & Market Position
Top Retained Vendor (Authority Spend)WavemakerHolds 70.7% of historical attributable spend
High Concentration
Entry requirements & qualification
  • Turnover Benchmark
    Guideline requirement: ~£647,111 annual turnover.Per Cabinet Office EFS 2026 & Sourcing Playbook: general proportionality cap (~2× run-rate), not an automatic disqualifier.
  • Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
    Standard public thresholds: Employer Liability (£5m), Public Liability (£5m-£10m), Professional Indemnity (£1m-£5m).✓ Commitment required upon award only — no upfront policy purchase needed to bid
  • Accreditations & Security Vetting
    Check tender pack for Cyber Essentials Plus (PPN 014 risk-proportional), ISO 27001/9001, and BPSS / SC security clearance requirements for named delivery personnel.
  • Contract Duration & Term OptionsExpected duration: 1 yr 5 mo (with extension options)
  • Source: Cabinet Office Sourcing Playbook & EFS Guidance.

    Buyer track record & authority intelligence: Department for Education

    Rolling 24 months
    Derived from OCDS data
    Published track record for Department for Education. These figures describe a rolling 24-month window, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
    Avg price drop
    11.8%Moderate
    Based on 4 comparable awards · moderate evidence
    Competition Density
    5Bids / Report (median)
    Single-bidder rate: 7.7% · Mean: 9.5 bids
    Supplier Concentration
    High Concentration
    WavemakerTop vendor: 70.7% of attributable value
    Published spend
    £424,308,811Historical spend
    Cumulative GBP spend across 54 retained awards
    Typical award value
    £24,500Robust (n=53)
    Middle 50% of awards: £24,500 – £316,666 · 19% of the sector median for CPV 79
    Awarded spend by half-year
    2024-H2
    2025-H1
    2025-H2
    2026-H1
    2026-H2
    Methodology & coverage notes (54 active published awards)
    Coverage: 54 active published awards; 13 bid reports (which may be per lot); 53 valued awards. Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Every figure carries an evidence level: Robust (5+ observations), Moderate (3–4), Indicative (1–2). Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
    Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 79):
    Supplier Name
    Historic Awards
    Attributable Value
    Avg. Price Discount
    Wavemaker1 win£300,000,000No published budget
    Teach First1 win£89,000,0000% (at budget)
    PERSONNEL HYGIENE SERVICES LIMITED1 win£10,586,364-46.5% below budget
    M&C SAATCHI (UK) LIMITED1 win£7,200,0000% (at budget)
    Mutual Ventures Limited3 wins£6,974,355No published budget

    Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar

    CPV 79 · UK Sector Analysis
    Observed CPV-sector evidence
    Suitable for SMEs
    Prepared 9 Sept 2026, 17:25 BST
    Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
    Median Winning Discount
    0%
    CPV sector evidence · 562 comparable price observations
    Typical Bids Received
    4reported bids
    CPV sector evidence · 6,611 published bid reports
    Decision Velocity
    28 days
    This procedure: deadline to published award
    Notice Stability
    6 updates
    2 deadline changes
    Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 79)
    Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
    Supplier
    Awards won
    Total awarded value
    Avg. winning discount
    PERK UK LIMITEDCRN: 03770815
    3 contracts£100,000,403,600At ceiling / not disclosed
    CAPITA BUSINESS SERVICES LTDCRN: PNHC-7682-GPTQ
    43 contracts£19,576,305,832At ceiling / not disclosed
    11 contracts£11,420,800,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    ILIOSCRN: 1157281
    1 contract£10,000,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    Kier ConstructionCRN: 02099533
    10 contracts£8,502,647,260At ceiling / not disclosed
    7 contracts£8,000,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    3 contracts£7,400,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    10 contracts£5,800,144,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    1 contract£4,200,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    Believ LtdCRN: 12231122
    2 contracts£4,000,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
    Ranked by multi-factor similarity score
    Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
    Published procedure
    Published value
    Matching evidence
    Family Finding Programme RolloutDepartment for Education · 9 Sept 2026, 14:06 BST
    £7,000,000
    same CPV family
    same authority
    same region
    Warehouse File Tracking SoftwareNHS Business Services Authority · 7 Sept 2026, 11:21 BST
    £175,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    Events & Activities CountywideDurham County Council · 7 Sept 2026, 16:22 BST
    £300,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    Managed lettings services for The Sir John Brunner FoundationTHE SIR JOHN BRUNNER FOUNDATION · 8 Sept 2026, 15:37 BST
    £480,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    Young Carers services across Camden and IslingtonLondon Borough of Camden · 8 Sept 2026, 18:18 BST
    £968,792
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.SME Friendly Qualification Criteria

    Procedure terms & legal framework

    Procedure methodOpen procedureLegal basis
    UKPGA · 2023/54
    Procurement Act 2023
    Procurement categoryservices
    Notice statuscompleteProcurement threshold
    Above threshold
    (FTS publication)
    Regulatory regimeStandard commercial regime
    Commercial structureStand-alone contract (No framework)Competition typeCompetitive procedureGPA WTO coveredUnspecified in notice
    Recurring procurementNo (One-off requirement)First published9 Sept 2026, 15:44 BSTLast source update9 Sept 2026, 15:44 BST
    Award evaluation windowSubmission end — 3 Sept 2026, 23:59 BSTEstimated future notice29 Jun 2026, 23:59 BSTClassification (CPV)Recruitment services, Social work and related services
    Delivery area
    Official Registry OCIDocds-h6vhtk-069bf1

    How to participate & submission route

    Authorized E-Sourcing Portal
    Supplier login required
    Online submission allowed
    Language: EN
    Open official portal workspace ↗
    Access & Registration note: Free; latest Chrome/Edge/Firefox only — corporate browsers fail
    Expression of interest (EOI)Tender submission deadline
    6 Aug 2026, 12:00 BST
    Clarification deadline
    30 Jul 2026, 12:00 BST
    Submission channelOfficial e-sourcing portalElectronic submissionAllowedAccepted languagesen
    Participation feeFree of charge (Open access)
    Detailed Submission Instructions & Authority Contacts
    From official release
    education.app.jaggaer.com/web/login.html Jaggaer is the only method for submitting tenders and clarification questions. Suppliers should not make any other form of approach to the Department in connection with this procurement.
    Timeline
    1. Pipeline notice
      19 May 2026, 14:55 BST
    2. Pipeline notice
      19 May 2026, 14:11 BST
    3. Procedure published
      9 Sept 2026, 15:44 BST
    4. engagement
      22 Jun 2026, 23:59 BST · scheduled
      The Department will be holding an initial supplier engagement event on 28 May 2026 from 13:00 to 14:00 hosted virtually via MS Teams. Deadline for registering for the event on 28 May 2026 is 27 May 17:00 (BST) via Jaggaer. The event will be accessible via the ‘View Opportunities’ link on the Jaggaer e-Tendering portal Homepage. Select the Opportunity Notice for ‘Step Up to Social Work Cohort 10 Emergine Talent Recuitment- SSQ_777 and this will take you directly to the registration page. This event is open to all potential suppliers, regardless of previous engagement with the Department. The event will provide an overview of Step up to Social work Cohort 10 and outline and upcoming market engagement activities scheduled shortly afterwards. After the event, suppliers will be invited to complete a questionnaire to register for the 1‑2‑1 sessions, which will take place between 1 June 2026 and 5 June 2026. Deadlines for registration for other events will be noted via the jaggaer messaging system or via the event on 28 May 2026. All correspondence will be shared via Jaggaer.
    5. Clarification deadline
      30 Jul 2026, 12:00 BST
    6. Submission deadline
      6 Aug 2026, 12:00 BST
    7. Award active
      3 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · £454,485

    Commercial outcome and contract awards

    Awards (1)
    Sopra Steria Limited
    £454,485 · 3 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · active · lots 1
    Assessment summaries issued: 9 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST
    Contracts (0)No contract published
    Bid statistics
    bids: 5 (lot 1)
    finalStageBids: 5 (lot 1)
    smeFinalStageBids: 5 (lot 1)
    vcseFinalStageBids: 0 (lot 1)
    Bidding dynamics & published budget outcome
    Published budget → award (single-lot): -0.84% (£3,850 below published budget)
    Total bids received: 5 (5 from SMEs)
    Notice history
    From official release and amendment events
    1. Official notice release published
      9 Sept 2026, 15:44 BST
    2. Official notice release published
      9 Sept 2026, 15:42 BST
    3. tender value changed
      9 Sept 2026, 14:50 BST
    4. Status changed to complete
      9 Sept 2026, 14:50 BST
    5. Official notice release published
      9 Sept 2026, 14:50 BST
    6. Submission deadline changed to published date
      9 Sept 2026, 14:50 BST
    7. Published value updated to £458,333
      9 Jul 2026, 15:12 BST
    8. Status changed to active
      9 Jul 2026, 15:12 BST
    9. Official notice release published
      9 Jul 2026, 15:12 BST
    10. procurement method changed
      9 Jul 2026, 15:12 BST
    11. Submission deadline changed to 6 Aug 2026, 12:00 BST
      9 Jul 2026, 15:12 BST
    12. Official notice release published
      19 May 2026, 14:55 BST
    13. Official notice release published
      19 May 2026, 14:11 BST

    Buyer and organisations in this procedure

    1 participating organisation

    Department for Education

    Contracting authority
    Central Government
    GB-PPON-PDZG-3487-DPVD
    View buyer profile →
    Other participating organisations & roles (1)
    • Sopra Steria Limited
      supplier

      GB-PPON: PHYP-9187-JNPG
      1 Bartholomew Close, London, UKI31, EC1A 7BL, GB
    Award and contract changes

    Official Documents & Specifications (7)

    Official links; attachments are not copied