TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
planning
#h6vhtk-06f4e1
Published 8 Sept 2026, 15:42 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure

Mid Sussex District Council Hard Facilities Management Services

Local Council
services
SME eligible
Above threshold
Repair and maintenance services
Published value
£2,400,000
≈ £599,589 / year
Submission deadline
Open opportunity
planning
Lots published
1
Lots published in procedure
Contract duration
4 yrs (with extension options)
Starts 1 Jul 2027, 00:00 BST
Electronic Sourcing Gateway:
Published portal

What is being bought & procurement scope

Procurement Scope & Specification
Tenderline summary generated from the published notice
Executive Summary: Mid Sussex District Council: "Mid Sussex District Council Hard Facilities Management Services". Published status: planning. Published value: £2,400,000. 1 published lot. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Official Requirement Description:
Mid Sussex District Council is undertaking preliminary market engagement to inform the development of a potential future procurement for the provision of Hard Facilities Management services across its property estate. Mid Sussex District Council is a local authority in West Sussex, covering a district that includes the towns of Haywards Heath, Burgess Hill and East Grinstead, together with surrounding villages and rural areas. The Council manages a varied property estate supporting public services, operational delivery, commercial activity and community use. Approximately 118 properties are expected to be included within the scope of the contract, subject to final confirmation of the property list, service requirements and procurement strategy. The Council is seeking to understand market interest, capacity, delivery models and supplier feedback before finalising its procurement strategy, service specification, commercial approach and timetable. This notice is intended to encourage early interest from suitably experienced providers and to support an open, fair and proportionate future procurement process. The anticipated scope may include, but is not limited to, planned preventative maintenance, statutory compliance, mechanical and electrical services, building fabric maintenance, reactive repairs, emergency call-outs, specialist servicing, asset data management, lifecycle advice, compliance reporting, minor works and works projects. The Contract may include provision for the delivery of minor works and project works up to an agreed value threshold, where these fall within the scope of the Hard FM Services. Any such works would be instructed in accordance with the MSDC Procurement Code, financial regulation and the Council's governance requirements. The Council would retain the right to test the market, seek alternative quotations, or otherwise satisfy itself that value for money is beng achieved. The appointed supplier will be expected to use the Council's CAFM system as required for receiving and managing work orders, updating asset and compliance records, reporting progress, and supporting effective contract management. The Council's estate may include, office, operational, commercial, public-facing and community buildings including temporary residential accommodation. The final property list, service scope, contract value, procurement route, lotting structure and contract duration have not yet been confirmed and may be refined following this engagement. The Council is currently proposing a contract term of four years, with the option to extend by up to two further periods of one year each, subject to performance, ongoing need and the Council's governance requirements. The anticipated contract commencement date is Summer 2027, subject to completion of procurement, award, governance approvals and mobilisation arrangements. The Council currently anticipates that the contract will be based on the NEC4 form of contract and will include requirements relating to social value, local supply chain opportunities, sustainability and wider community benefit. The detailed contractual model, performance mechanisms and social value requirements will be developed as part of the procurement preparation process and may be informed by supplier feedback received through this engagement. This preliminary market engagement exercise is not a procurement competition and does not commit the Council to commencing any procurement, awarding any contract, or accepting any proposal. The Council reserves the right to amend the scope, timetable, procedure, contract structure or any other aspect of any future opportunity following this engagement. Failure to respond to this notice will not affect your ability to participate in any future procurement exercise. The Council will take appropriate steps to ensure that any preliminary market engagement is conducted transparently and does not distort competition or provide any supplier with an unfair advantage.

Lots and requirements (1)

Procurement Structure
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Individual lot title not published
    planning
    Renewal
    Published valueNot published
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period:
    1 Jul 2027 — 30 Jun 2031 (4 yrs)
    Eligibility:
    SME eligible
    Options / extension:
    Renewal options

Qualification snapshot & criteria

Go / No-Go Decision Box
Criteria & entry requirements
Evaluation weighting
Award criteria weighting not published in structured data — consult the tender pack documents.
Incumbent & Market Position
Top Retained Vendor (Authority Spend)SWEEPTECH ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES LTDHolds 100% of historical attributable spend
Entry requirements & qualification
  • Turnover Benchmark
    Guideline requirement: ~£1,199,179 annual turnover.Per Cabinet Office EFS 2026 & Sourcing Playbook: general proportionality cap (~2× run-rate), not an automatic disqualifier.
  • Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
    Standard public thresholds: Employer Liability (£5m), Public Liability (£5m-£10m), Professional Indemnity (£1m-£5m).✓ Commitment required upon award only — no upfront policy purchase needed to bid
  • Accreditations & Security Vetting
    Check tender pack for Cyber Essentials Plus (PPN 014 risk-proportional), ISO 27001/9001, and BPSS / SC security clearance requirements for named delivery personnel.
  • Contract Duration & Term OptionsExpected duration: 4 yrs (with extension options)
  • Source: Cabinet Office Sourcing Playbook & EFS Guidance.

    Buyer track record & authority intelligence: Mid Sussex District Council

    Rolling 24 months
    Derived from OCDS data
    Published track record for Mid Sussex District Council. These figures describe rolling 24 months, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
    Avg price drop
    Not availableEarly / insufficient sample
    Requires 5 comparable published awards
    Competition Density
    8Bids / Report (median)
    Single-bidder rate: 0%
    Supplier Concentration
    No estimate
    SWEEPTECH ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES LTDTop vendor: 100% of attributable value
    Published spend
    £177,400Historical spend
    Cumulative GBP spend across 1 retained awards
    Methodology & coverage notes (1 active published awards)
    Coverage: 1 active published awards; 1 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
    Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 50):
    Supplier Name
    Historic Awards
    Attributable Value
    Avg. Price Discount
    SWEEPTECH ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES LTD1 win£177,400No published budget

    Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar

    CPV 50 · UK Sector Analysis
    Observed CPV-sector evidence
    Suitable for SMEs
    Prepared 8 Sept 2026, 17:14 BST
    Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
    Median Winning Discount
    0%
    CPV sector evidence · 236 comparable price observations
    Typical Bids Received
    4reported bids
    CPV sector evidence · 4,208 published bid reports
    Decision Velocity
    ~56 days
    CPV sector evidence · median from 292 completed procedures
    Notice Stability
    Stable notice
    Published terms remained unchanged
    Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 50)
    Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
    Supplier
    Awards won
    Total awarded value
    Avg. winning discount
    LOCKHEED MARTIN UK LIMITEDCRN: PNLV-4275-TLYW
    127 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    KONGSBERG NORCONTROL LIMITEDCRN: PPYC-1178-HXWN
    127 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    SPACEFLUX LTDCRN: PZRP-1811-DLNX
    127 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    SKYRORA LIMITEDCRN: PZVZ-7296-VJDT
    127 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    SCAN ASSOCIATES LTDCRN: 10155969
    124 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    TTP PLCCRN: PNGY-6876-NPML
    122 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    Bornea Dynamics LimitedCRN: PBQT-1941-CDMP
    117 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    111 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    TELESPAZIO UK LIMITEDCRN: PVQP-7147-CRHL
    93 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    88 contracts£4,464,592At ceiling / not disclosed
    Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
    Ranked by multi-factor similarity score
    Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
    Published procedure
    Published value
    Matching evidence
    HDC Facilities Mechanical and Electrical Repairs and Maintenance ServicesHorsham District Council · 26 Aug 2026, 10:43 BST
    £7,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    €2,700,000
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    £7,400,000
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    £4,000,000
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    £1,000,000
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.SME Friendly Qualification Criteria

    Procedure terms & legal framework

    Procedure methodStandard public procedureLegal basis
    UKPGA · 2023/54
    Procurement Act 2023
    Procurement categoryservices
    Notice statusplanningProcurement threshold
    Above threshold
    (FTS publication)
    Regulatory regimeStandard commercial regime
    Commercial structureStand-alone contract (No framework)Competition typeCompetitive procedureGPA WTO coveredUnspecified in notice
    Recurring procurementNo (One-off requirement)First published8 Sept 2026, 15:42 BSTLast source update8 Sept 2026, 15:42 BST
    Estimated future notice12 Oct 2026, 23:59 BSTClassification (CPV)Repair and maintenance services
    Delivery area
    Official Registry OCIDocds-h6vhtk-06f4e1
    Timeline
    1. Pipeline notice
      8 Sept 2026, 15:42 BST
    2. Procedure published
      8 Sept 2026, 15:42 BST
    3. engagement
      25 Sept 2026, 23:59 BST · scheduled
      The purpose of this preliminary market engagement is to: - raise awareness of the Council's potential future Hard FM opportunity; - understand the level of supplier interest and market capacity; - seek feedback on the proposed scope, delivery model and contract structure; - identify options for packaging, lots, mobilisation and transition; - understand market views on risk allocation, compliance management, performance reporting and commercial mechanisms; - explore opportunities for innovation, social value, sustainability and whole-life asset management; and - inform the Council's future procurement strategy and specification development. The Council is interested in supplier feedback on a potential Hard FM service model covering some or all of the following areas: - statutory inspections, testing, certification and compliance management; - mechanical, electrical and public health maintenance; - planned preventative maintenance programmes; - reactive maintenance and emergency response; - fire safety systems, alarms, emergency lighting and associated servicing; - water hygiene and legionella control; - lifts, hoists and lifting equipment maintenance; - heating, ventilation, air conditioning and boiler plant maintenance; - building fabric, roofing, gutters, doors, windows and drainage maintenance; - asset registers, condition data, compliance records and CAFM reporting; - Streetlighting, height restrictors, civils and hard landscaping, key lock, as required. - minor works, works projects, small projects and lifecycle replacement activity; and - performance management, helpdesk arrangements, KPI reporting and continuous improvement. The contract is also expected to include appropriate arrangements for out-of-hours emergency response, escalation and support where required, to ensure service continuity and effective management of urgent property-related issues. Suppliers are invited to review this published preliminary market engagement notice and, if they wish, provide brief feedback by completing the short market engagement response. The notice will be available to the full market and is intended to raise awareness of the potential opportunity ahead of the formal tender notice. All suppliers will be provided with the same core information. Any future procurement will be conducted in accordance with the Council's procurement governance requirements and relevant public procurement legislation. Participation in this engagement is voluntary. Participation, or non-participation, will not confer any advantage or disadvantage in any subsequent procurement process. This notice does not formally commence a procurement process and does not constitute a call for competition. The Council is particularly interested in supplier feedback on: - whether the proposed scope is clear, deliverable and attractive to the market; - views on the proposed contract duration of four years, with the option to extend by up to two further periods of one year each; - supplier experience of delivering Hard FM services under NEC4 forms of contract, including any comments on contract management, early warning processes, compensation events and performance mechanisms; - mobilisation requirements and realistic mobilisation timescales; - approaches to compliance assurance, risk management and statutory reporting; - CAFM, helpdesk, asset data and performance reporting requirements; - opportunities for local supply chain involvement, social value and sustainability; - how social value could be delivered through the contract, including local employment, apprenticeships, skills development, local supply chain involvement, sustainability and community benefit; - key risks that the Council should consider before tendering; and - any barriers that may prevent suppliers from bidding. Suppliers wishing to provide feedback should send a response to [email protected], containing your answers to our list of questions below. Suppliers should not submit tenders, priced proposals or detailed solutions at this stage. Any information provided will be used solely to inform the Council's consideration of its future procurement approach. Suppliers should clearly identify any information in their response that they consider to be confidential or commercially sensitive and explain the reason for this. The Council will take reasonable steps to treat such information appropriately; however, suppliers should note that the Council is subject to statutory transparency obligations, including the Freedom of Information Act 2000 and Environmental Information Regulations 2004. The Council cannot therefore guarantee that information will not be disclosed where disclosure is required by law. Suppliers should avoid submitting detailed pricing, proprietary solutions or information that is not necessary for this preliminary market engagement exercise. Your email response should contain your Organisation Name, Contact Name, Contact Role/Title, Email Address, Telephone Number, Website and a brief description of your organisation. Our Questions are as follows: 1) Would your organisation be interested in bidding for a future Hard FM opportunity with Mid Sussex District Council? Please briefly explain your interest. 2) Does the proposed scope appear clear, deliverable and attractive to the market? Please highlight any significant omissions, exclusions or areas requiring clarification. 3) Does the proposed contract model appear workable, including a four-year term with two optional one-year extensions, anticipated use of NEC4, and a Summer 2027 commencement date? 4) What should the Council consider in relation to mobilisation, statutory compliance, CAFM/reporting and service continuity? 5) Are there any key barriers to bidding, market issues or social value opportunities that the Council should be aware of before publishing the formal advert? 6) Do you have any thing else to add, particularly around the subject areas the Council is interested in supplier feedback on as outlined above?

    Commercial outcome and contract awards

    Awards (0)No award published
    Contracts (0)No contract published
    Bid statisticsNo aggregate bid statistics published
    Notice history
    From official release and amendment events
    1. Official notice release published
      8 Sept 2026, 15:42 BST

    Buyer and organisations in this procedure

    Mid Sussex District Council

    Contracting authority
    Local Council
    GB-PPON-PQLR-5948-PBHY
    View buyer profile →

    Official Documents & Specifications (1)

    Official links; attachments are not copied