TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
Open for tender
111d 3h left
#h6vhtk-06f584
Published 9 Sept 2026, 12:03 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure

Debt Collection

services
SME eligible
Framework
Above threshold
Competitive flexible procedure
Special Regime: {"utilities"}
Collection agency services
Published value
£43,554,267
≈ £14,505,394 / year
Submission deadline
29 Dec 2026, 16:00 GMT
111d 3h left
Clarification Cut-Off
2 Oct 2026, 00:00 BST
Tender enquiry deadline · 5 lots
Contract duration
3 yrs (with extension options)
Starts 1 Oct 2027, 01:00 BST
Electronic Sourcing Gateway:
Public page
Registration note: Free · 5–10 minutes
Instructions: https://uk.eu-supply.com/app/rfq/rwlentrance_s.asp?PID=108852&TID100113908&B=

What is being bought & procurement scope

Procurement Scope & Specification
Tenderline summary generated from the published notice
Executive Summary: United Utilities Water Limited: "Debt Collection". Published status: active. Published value: £43,554,267. 5 published lots. Recorded submission deadline: 29 Dec 2026, 16:00 GMT. Published submission portal: uk.eu-supply.com.
Official Requirement Description:
The Scope of this proposed service will be for supply of Specialist Debt Collection Agency and Business Process Outsourcing (BPO) providers to deliver standard Live 1st and 2nd, Doorstep visits, specialist vulnerable customer, Final accounts, Trace & Collect, low value placement & Probate/Deceased. DCAs play a key part in reducing the debt currently held by United Utilities. The scope of this tender covers household (Domestic) debt only. The objective for all Suppliers to undertake Debt Collection activities and secure payment of money owed by debtors, in-line with Fair Pay Guidelines. United Utilities will provide Customer Data containing the details of the Debts to the Supplier who will work through the agreed processes to collect the Debts and remit the collected funds back to United Utilities including any additional information obtained whilst securing payment. All Suppliers must adhere to all applicable industry standards and Good Industry Practice and be able to ensure compliance and how failures are managed and resolved.

Lots and requirements (5)

Procurement Structure
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #LOT-0001
    Lot 1 - Live, vulnerable & leaver FA
    active
    Renewal
    Published value£14,160,648
    Live, vulnerable & leaver FA The Scope of this proposed service will be for supply of Specialist Debt Collection Agency and Business Process Outsourcing (BPO) providers to deliver standard Live 1st and 2nd, Doorstep visits, specialist vulnerable customer, Final accounts, Trace & Collect, low value placement & Probate/Deceased. DCAs play a key part in reducing the debt currently held by United Utilities. The scope of this tender covers household (Domestic) debt only. The objective for all Suppliers to undertake Debt Collection activities and secure payment of money owed by debtors, in-line with Fair Pay Guidelines. United Utilities will provide Customer Data containing the details of the Debts to the Supplier who will work through the agreed processes to collect the Debts and remit the collected funds back to United Utilities including any additional information obtained whilst securing payment. All Suppliers must adhere to all applicable industry standards and Good Industry Practice and be able to ensure compliance and how failures are managed and resolved.
    Contract period:
    1 Oct 2027 — 30 Sept 2030 (3 yrs)
    Eligibility:
    SME eligible
    Options / extension:
    An initial term of 3 years, with the option to extend for a maximum term of 8 years.
  • Lot 2 · #LOT-0002
    Lot 2 - BPO Outbound service (1)
    active
    Renewal
    Published value£5,481,359
    BPO Outbound service The Scope of service will be for supply of Specialist Debt Collection Agency and Business Process Outsourcing (BPO) providers to deliver standard Live 1st & 2nd, Doorstep visits, specialist vulnerable customer, Final accounts, Trace & Collect, low value placement & Probate/Deceased. The scope of this tender covers household (Domestic) debt only. The objective is to undertake Debt Collection activities and secure payment of money owed by debtors, in-line with Fair Pay Guidelines
    Contract period:
    1 Oct 2027 — 30 Sept 2030 (3 yrs)
    Eligibility:
    SME eligible
    Options / extension:
    An initial term of 3 years, with the option to extend for a maximum term of 8 years.
  • Lot 3 · #LOT-0003
    Lot 3 - Trace & collection final debt (1)
    active
    Renewal
    Published value£2,959,324
    Trace & collection final debt The Scope of service will be for supply of Specialist Debt Collection Agency and Business Process Outsourcing (BPO) providers to deliver standard Live 1st & 2nd, Doorstep visits, specialist vulnerable customer, Final accounts, Trace & Collect, low value placement & Probate/Deceased. The scope of this tender covers household (Domestic) debt only. The objective is to undertake Debt Collection activities and secure payment of money owed by debtors, in-line with Fair Pay Guidelines
    Contract period:
    1 Oct 2027 — 30 Sept 2030 (3 yrs)
    Eligibility:
    SME eligible
    Options / extension:
    An initial term of 3 years, with the option to extend for a maximum term of 8 years.
  • Lot 4 · #LOT-0004
    Lot 4 - Tertiary & Reconnect (1)
    active
    Renewal
    Published value£20,553,617
    Tertiary & Reconnect The Scope of service will be for supply of Specialist Debt Collection Agency and Business Process Outsourcing (BPO) providers to deliver standard Live 1st & 2nd, Doorstep visits, specialist vulnerable customer, Final accounts, Trace & Collect, low value placement & Probate/Deceased. The scope of this tender covers household (Domestic) debt only. The objective is to undertake Debt Collection activities and secure payment of money owed by debtors, in-line with Fair Pay Guidelines
    Contract period:
    1 Oct 2027 — 30 Sept 2030 (3 yrs)
    Eligibility:
    SME eligible
    Options / extension:
    An initial term of 3 years, with the option to extend for a maximum term of 8 years.
  • Lot 5 · #LOT-0005
    Lot 5 – Probate services/deceased (1)
    active
    Renewal
    Published value£399,316
    Probate services/Deceased The Scope of service will be for supply of Specialist Debt Collection Agency and Business Process Outsourcing (BPO) providers to deliver standard Live 1st & 2nd, Doorstep visits, specialist vulnerable customer, Final accounts, Trace & Collect, low value placement & Probate/Deceased. The scope of this tender covers household (Domestic) debt only. The objective is to undertake Debt Collection activities and secure payment of money owed by debtors, in-line with Fair Pay Guidelines
    Contract period:
    1 Oct 2027 — 30 Sept 2030 (3 yrs)
    Eligibility:
    SME eligible
    Options / extension:
    An initial term of 3 years, with the option to extend for a maximum term of 8 years.

Qualification snapshot & criteria

Go / No-Go Decision Box
Criteria & entry requirements
Evaluation weighting
Technical: 50%
Commercial: 50%
Uniform evaluation weighting applied across all 5 lots.
Incumbent & Market Position
Open Competition LandscapeNo single vendor holds a majority of retained authority awards.
Entry requirements & qualification
  • Turnover Benchmark
    Guideline requirement: ~£29,010,788 annual turnover.Per Cabinet Office EFS 2026 & Sourcing Playbook: general proportionality cap (~2× run-rate), not an automatic disqualifier.
  • Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
    Standard public thresholds: Employer Liability (£5m), Public Liability (£5m-£10m), Professional Indemnity (£1m-£5m).✓ Commitment required upon award only — no upfront policy purchase needed to bid
  • Accreditations & Security Vetting
    Check tender pack for Cyber Essentials Plus (PPN 014 risk-proportional), ISO 27001/9001, and BPSS / SC security clearance requirements for named delivery personnel.
  • Contract Duration & Term OptionsExpected duration: 3 yrs (with extension options)
  • Source: Cabinet Office Sourcing Playbook & EFS Guidance.

    Buyer track record & authority intelligence: United Utilities Water Limited

    Rolling 24 months
    Derived from OCDS data
    Published track record for United Utilities Water Limited. These figures describe rolling 24 months, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
    Avg price drop
    Not availableEarly / insufficient sample
    Requires 5 comparable published awards
    Competition Density
    Not availableNo published reports
    Single-bidder rate: Not published
    Supplier Concentration
    No estimate
    Insufficient attributable awardsEarly evidence: fewer than 3 attributable awards
    Published spend
    Check noticePublished terms
    Payment obligations depend on the applicable regime and contract.
    Methodology & coverage notes (0 active published awards)
    Coverage: 0 active published awards; 0 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.

    Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar

    CPV 79 · UK Sector Analysis
    Observed CPV-sector evidence
    Suitable for SMEs
    Prepared 9 Sept 2026, 12:57 BST
    Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
    Median Winning Discount
    Not recorded
    No comparable price observations published
    Typical Bids Received
    Not recorded
    No published bid reports in this sector
    Decision Velocity
    Not recorded
    No published deadline-to-award observations
    Notice Stability
    Stable notice
    Published terms remained unchanged
    Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 79)
    Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
    Supplier
    Awards won
    Total awarded value
    Avg. winning discount
    KPMGCRN: OC301540
    50 contracts£157,335,280,561-9.7% below budget
    37 contracts£57,705,708,486At ceiling / not disclosed
    36 contracts£78,121,082,603-6.3% below budget
    35 contracts£13,244,557,062At ceiling / not disclosed
    DeloitteCRN: OC303675
    30 contracts£104,328,670,062-37% below budget
    Ernst & Young LLPCRN: OC300001
    29 contracts£54,840,682,648At ceiling / not disclosed
    28 contracts£5,576,393At ceiling / not disclosed
    27 contracts£704,062,138At ceiling / not disclosed
    27 contracts£3,662,531At ceiling / not disclosed
    25 contracts£22,142,230At ceiling / not disclosed
    Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
    Ranked by multi-factor similarity score
    Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
    Published procedure
    Published value
    Matching evidence
    Provision of Debt Collection ServicesHM Revenue & Customs · 24 Aug 2026, 15:15 BST
    £350,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    matching published text
    ITT for the Provision of Repairs Services TenderROCHDALE BOROUGHWIDE HOUSING LIMITED · 9 Sept 2026, 12:50 BST
    £32,197,500
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    Independent Monitor - Thames WaterWater Services Regulation Authority (Ofwat) · 4 Sept 2026, 15:58 BST
    £13,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    Asset Sustainability, Improvement and Decarbonisation FrameworkEASTERN PROCUREMENT LIMITED · 1 Sept 2026, 11:12 BST
    £450,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    Services-Framework-Debt CollectionUNITED UTILITIES WATER LIMITED · 27 Jan 2026, 13:56 GMT
    Value not published
    same CPV family
    same region
    matching published text
    Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.SME Friendly Qualification Criteria

    Procedure terms & legal framework

    Procedure methodCompetitive flexible procedureLegal basis
    UKPGA · 2023/54
    Procurement Act 2023
    Procurement categoryservices
    Notice statusactiveProcurement threshold
    Above threshold
    (FTS publication)
    Regulatory regime{"utilities"}
    Commercial structureFramework agreementCompetition typeCompetitive procedureGPA WTO coveredUnspecified in notice
    Recurring procurementNo (One-off requirement)First published9 Sept 2026, 12:03 BSTLast source update9 Sept 2026, 12:03 BST
    Award evaluation windowSubmission end — 31 May 2027, 23:59 BSTClassification (CPV)Collection agency services
    Delivery area
    Official Registry OCIDocds-h6vhtk-06f584

    How to participate & submission route

    Authorized E-Sourcing Portal
    Public portal access
    Online submission allowed
    Language: EN
    Open official portal workspace ↗
    Access & Registration note: Free · 5–10 minutes
    Expression of interest (EOI)Tender submission deadline
    29 Dec 2026, 16:00 GMT
    Clarification deadline
    2 Oct 2026, 00:00 BST
    Submission channelOfficial e-sourcing portalElectronic submissionAllowedAccepted languagesen
    Participation feeFree of charge (Open access)
    Detailed Submission Instructions & Authority Contacts
    From official release
    Timeline
    1. Procedure published
      9 Sept 2026, 12:03 BST
    2. Clarification deadline
      2 Oct 2026, 00:00 BST
    3. Submission deadline
      29 Dec 2026, 16:00 GMT

    Commercial outcome and contract awards

    Awards (0)No award published
    Contracts (0)No contract published
    Bid statisticsNo aggregate bid statistics published
    Notice history
    From official release and amendment events
    1. Official notice release published
      9 Sept 2026, 12:03 BST

    Buyer and organisations in this procedure

    United Utilities Water Limited

    Contracting authority
    GB-PPON-PVVB-5589-BWHX
    View buyer profile →

    Official Documents & Specifications (2)

    Official links; attachments are not copied
    • 9 Sept 2026, 12:03 BST
    • Conflict of interest declaration

      tender
      Conflict of interest declaration
      Notice declares: Not published