TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
planned
#h6vhtk-067ec8
Published 9 Sept 2026, 13:27 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure

2627-0169 Lift Repairs and Maintenance Services

Local Council
works
SME eligible
Framework
Below threshold
Lift and escalator installation work
Published value
£21,311,478
≈ £10,641,162 / year
Submission deadline
Open opportunity
planned
Lots published
1
Lots published in procedure
Contract duration
2 yrs (with extension options)
Starts 1 Oct 2027, 00:00 BST
Electronic Sourcing Gateway:
Published portal

What is being bought & procurement scope

Procurement Scope & Specification
Tenderline summary generated from the published notice
Executive Summary: London Borough of Islington: "2627-0169 Lift Repairs and Maintenance Services". Published status: planned. Published value: £21,311,478. 1 published lot. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.

Official Requirement Description:

The London Borough of Islington is preparing to procure a number of appropriately accredited contractors to deliver responsive repairs, maintenance, and servicing works to respond to and rectify any breakdown in or malfunction of any part of lift equipment in the Council’s lift stock. The Council has 426 passenger lifts within the housing stock and 52 passenger lifts within public buildings. The Council is considering a range of contract packaging options, including a multi-lot arrangement covering Housing and Non-Housing lift assets. One option under consideration is the appointment of multiple contractors with defined lot responsibilities, supported by resilience arrangements that may require contractors to provide mutual support during periods of exceptional demand, supplier failure, poor performance, or emergency situations. Feedback on the viability of such arrangements is welcomed through this engagement exercise.

Lots and requirements (1)

Procurement Structure
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Individual lot title not published
    planned
    Renewal
    Published valueNot published
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period:
    1 Oct 2027 — 30 Sept 2029 (2 yrs)
    Eligibility:
    SME eligible
    Options / extension:
    Renewal options

Qualification snapshot & criteria

Go / No-Go Decision Box
Criteria & entry requirements
Evaluation weighting
Award criteria weighting not published in structured data — consult the tender pack documents.
Incumbent & Market Position
Top Retained Vendor (Authority Spend)GRENVILLE BUILDING & DECORATING CONTRACTORS LIMITEDHolds 28% of historical attributable spend
Moderate Concentration
Entry requirements & qualification
  • Turnover Benchmark
    Guideline requirement: ~£21,282,324 annual turnover.Per Cabinet Office EFS 2026 & Sourcing Playbook: general proportionality cap (~2× run-rate), not an automatic disqualifier.
  • Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
    Standard public thresholds: Employer Liability (£5m), Public Liability (£5m-£10m), Professional Indemnity (£1m-£5m).✓ Commitment required upon award only — no upfront policy purchase needed to bid
  • Accreditations & Security Vetting
    Check tender pack for Cyber Essentials Plus (PPN 014 risk-proportional), ISO 27001/9001, and BPSS / SC security clearance requirements for named delivery personnel.
  • Contract Duration & Term OptionsExpected duration: 2 yrs (with extension options)
  • Source: Cabinet Office Sourcing Playbook & EFS Guidance.

    Buyer track record & authority intelligence: London Borough of Islington

    Rolling 24 months
    Derived from OCDS data
    Published track record for London Borough of Islington. These figures describe a rolling 24-month window, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
    Avg price drop
    Not availableEarly / insufficient sample
    Needs a published budget AND award for the same procedure
    Competition Density
    23Bids / Report (median)
    Single-bidder rate: 0% · Mean: 17.4 bids
    Supplier Concentration
    Moderate Concentration
    GRENVILLE BUILDING & DECORATING CONTRACTORS LIMITEDTop vendor: 28% of attributable value
    Published spend
    £3,799,117Historical spend
    Cumulative GBP spend across 24 retained awards
    Typical award value
    £132,351Robust (n=17)
    Middle 50% of awards: £67,380 – £276,432 · 59% of the sector median for CPV 45
    Awarded spend by half-year
    2024-H2
    2025-H1
    2025-H2
    2026-H1
    2026-H2
    Methodology & coverage notes (24 active published awards)
    Coverage: 24 active published awards; 7 bid reports (which may be per lot); 17 valued awards. Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Every figure carries an evidence level: Robust (5+ observations), Moderate (3–4), Indicative (1–2). Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
    Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 45):
    Supplier Name
    Historic Awards
    Attributable Value
    Avg. Price Discount
    GRENVILLE BUILDING & DECORATING CONTRACTORS LIMITED2 wins£1,063,932No published budget
    Alphatrack Systems Ltd1 win£727,299No published budget
    VENTROLLA LIMITED1 win£495,399No published budget
    WARWICK LANDSCAPING LIMITED1 win£276,432No published budget
    REBOUND RUBBER LIMITED2 wins£250,917No published budget

    Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar

    CPV 45 · UK Sector Analysis
    Observed CPV-sector evidence
    Suitable for SMEs
    Prepared 9 Sept 2026, 15:02 BST
    Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
    Median Winning Discount
    0.2%
    CPV sector evidence · 813 comparable price observations
    Typical Bids Received
    4reported bids
    CPV sector evidence · 7,050 published bid reports
    Decision Velocity
    ~51 days
    CPV sector evidence · median from 841 completed procedures
    Notice Stability
    1 updates
    1 budget change
    Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 45)
    Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
    Supplier
    Awards won
    Total awarded value
    Avg. winning discount
    Mears LimitedCRN: PYVN-7644-LZQQ
    70 contracts£3,188,167,900-4.4% below budget
    113 contracts£2,239,846,409At ceiling / not disclosed
    10 contracts£2,207,200,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    12 contracts£1,882,180,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    1 contract£1,770,760,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    Wates Construction LimitedCRN: PHQT-5476-TZBR
    52 contracts£1,746,245,228-0% below budget
    89 contracts£1,559,958,144-0% below budget
    65 contracts£1,518,620,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    Axis Europe PlcCRN: PCNG-4217-XXCQ
    138 contracts£1,397,717,888-5.6% below budget
    EQUANS Regeneration LimitedCRN: PDWQ-6852-QYVW
    145 contracts£1,388,365,822At ceiling / not disclosed
    Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
    Ranked by multi-factor similarity score
    Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
    Published procedure
    Published value
    Matching evidence
    £54,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    Framework for the Installation of Low and Zero Carbon TechnologiesPROCURE PLUS HOLDINGS LIMITED · 9 Sept 2026, 11:31 BST
    £1,838,400,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    Subsea Cable Remediation and ProtectionNATIONAL GRID UK LIMITED · 4 Sept 2026, 10:31 BST
    £20,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    North Acton to Hanger Lane - Cutting Remedial WorksTransport for London · 4 Sept 2026, 11:29 BST
    £20,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    CHIC Consultancy Framework 2026-30Communities & Housing Investment Consortium Ltd (CHIC) · 8 Sept 2026, 22:37 BST
    £123,600,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.SME Friendly Qualification Criteria

    Procedure terms & legal framework

    Procedure methodStandard public procedureLegal basis
    UKPGA · 2023/54
    Procurement Act 2023
    Procurement categoryworks
    Notice statusplannedProcurement thresholdSub-thresholdRegulatory regimeStandard commercial regime
    Commercial structureFramework agreementCompetition typeCompetitive procedureGPA WTO coveredUnspecified in notice
    Recurring procurementNo (One-off requirement)First published9 Sept 2026, 13:27 BSTLast source update9 Sept 2026, 13:27 BST
    Estimated future notice9 Dec 2026, 23:59 GMTClassification (CPV)Lift and escalator installation work
    Delivery area
    Official Registry OCIDocds-h6vhtk-067ec8
    Timeline
    1. Pipeline notice
      9 Sept 2026, 13:27 BST
    2. Pipeline notice
      9 Apr 2026, 11:47 BST
    3. Procedure published
      9 Sept 2026, 13:27 BST
    4. engagement
      29 Sept 2026, 23:59 BST · scheduled
      The London Borough of Islington is preparing to procure a number of appropriately accredited contractors to deliver responsive repairs, maintenance, and servicing works to respond to and rectify any breakdown in or malfunction of any part of lift equipment in the Council’s lift stock. The Council has 426 passenger lifts within the housing stock and 52 passenger lifts within public buildings. The Council is considering a range of contract packaging options, including a multi-lot arrangement covering Housing and Non-Housing lift assets. One option under consideration is the appointment of multiple contractors with defined lot responsibilities, supported by resilience arrangements that may require contractors to provide mutual support during periods of exceptional demand, supplier failure, poor performance, or emergency situations. Feedback on the viability of such arrangements is welcomed through this engagement exercise. This questionnaire seeks supplier feedback to support the council’s planning for the upcoming procurement. This pre-market engagement exercise aims to: • Inform the development of the procurement strategy and specification. • Gauge market interest and capacity. • Understand supplier capabilities and innovations. • Identify any barriers to participation, especially for SMEs and local providers. Please note that responses to this questionnaire are for information‑gathering purposes only and will not be used to assess or exclude any supplier from any future procurement process. Please answer as many or as few of the questions as you deem relevant. All feedback is welcome. We greatly appreciate your insight and expertise and time taken to participate in this engagement exercise. Please click to Express your interest - https://procontract.due-north.com/Supplier/Advert/View?advertId=b93ea16f-3fac-f111-813c-005056b64545 How to express an interest - If you wish to apply for this contract opportunity please follow these steps: • Register your organisation free of charge via the London Tenders Portal • When you receive an email confirming your username and password use these to log on to the London Tenders Portal and express your interest in "2627-0169 Lift Repairs and Maintenance Services" • Shortly after you have expressed interest, you will receive a second email containing a link to access the UK2 PME documents

    Commercial outcome and contract awards

    Awards (0)No award published
    Contracts (0)No contract published
    Bid statisticsNo aggregate bid statistics published
    Notice history
    From official release and amendment events
    1. Published value updated to £21,311,478
      9 Sept 2026, 13:27 BST
    2. Official notice release published
      9 Sept 2026, 13:27 BST
    3. Official notice release published
      9 Apr 2026, 11:47 BST

    Buyer and organisations in this procedure

    London Borough of Islington

    Contracting authority
    Local Council
    GB-PPON-PBMD-2513-CWJJ
    View buyer profile →

    Official Documents & Specifications (2)

    Official links; attachments are not copied