TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
planning
#h6vhtk-06f6cf
Published 10 Sept 2026, 13:26 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure

Quarrying - North District

works
SME eligible
Below threshold
Demolition
site preparation and clearance work
Excavating and earthmoving work
+1 more
Published value
£2,400,000
≈ £599,589 / year
Submission deadline
Open opportunity
planning
Lots published
1
Lots published in procedure
Contract duration
4 yrs
Starts 2 Nov 2026, 00:00 GMT
Electronic Sourcing Gateway:
Published portal

What is being bought & procurement scope

Procurement Scope & Specification
Tenderline summary generated from the published notice
Executive Summary: Forestry Commission: "Quarrying - North District". Published status: planning. Published value: £2,400,000. 1 published lot. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Official Requirement Description:
Quarrying works in the north of England (Northumberland) comprise extraction and processing of aggregate from 4 (maybe 5) hard rock quarries, including associated drilling and blasting works. Materials are extracted in relatively small quantities and used in various Forestry England civil engineering applications, mostly for the construction and maintenance of forest roads for the purposes of facilitating timber harvesting. Quarrying operations are therefore undertaken in a number of specific locations, in close proximity to the point of use of the extracted materials. Typically, extraction of materials will take place over a period of a few weeks each year, with material then stockpiled within the quarry, or at other designated locations for use as and when needed. This Framework will be divided in to two Lots: 1. Drilling and blasting 2 . Extraction and quarry development and crushing Lot 1 - Drilling and blasting The Supplier carries out all drilling and blasting operations, in accordance with the Quarries Regulations 1999 particularly Part V and the Explosives Regulations 2014 , and the quarry Health and Safety Document. Blasting activities typically take place at 2 to 5 sites per year, with tonnages between 20,000 and 35,000T per blast. The Client (The Operator) will retain 8.1.(c) responsibilities during blasting operations. The supplier’s named individual will be appointed as the 8.1. (d) and the client will also appoint the supplier’s named individual as the Explosives Supervisor under regulation 25 of the Quarries Regulations for the duration of the Work Order. This requires the Supplier to have capability in the following areas: 1. Provide suitably qualified, competent and qualified personnel to undertake the following duties.  Explosives Supervisor  Shotfirer  Driller  Blast Designer  Face profiler  Trainee Shotfirer (if required)  Handing of explosives  Transportation of explosives  Provide all required survey work relating to the blasting operation. Provide all plant and equipment required including fuels, oils, transportation, explosives and accessories. Lot 2 - Extraction and quarry development and crushing The Supplier carries out all extraction and processing, in accordance with the Quarries Regulations 1999, and the quarry Health and Safety Document. The Client (The Operator) will retain 8.1.(c) responsibilities during operations. The supplier’s named individual will be appointed as the 8.1. (d) deputy quarry manager to supervise the works for the duration of the Work Order. The Client requires the Supplier to carry out the following services to facilitate the extraction and processing of aggregates at Forestry England quarries: 1. Removal of material from processed stockpiles and blast piles. 2. Excavation of raw materials 3. Processing of raw materials including crushing and screening. 4. Provision of stemming material and plant for movement and placement 5. Maintenance and reinstatement of quarry floor and safety features 6. Maintenance and reinstatement of egress and quarry roads, during quarrying operations 7. Crushing of as blasted material. 8. Loading of aggregate during quarry operations 9. Haulage of aggregate to forest locations 10. Daily inspections as required by the Quarries Regulations in accordance with the client’s requirements. 11. Soil and overburden excavation, haulage within the quarry and tip creation. 12. Restoration works.

Lots and requirements (1)

Procurement Structure
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Individual lot title not published
    planning
    Published valueNot published
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period:
    2 Nov 2026 — 1 Nov 2030 (4 yrs)
    Eligibility:
    SME eligible

Qualification snapshot & criteria

Go / No-Go Decision Box
Criteria & entry requirements
Evaluation weighting
Award criteria weighting not published in structured data — consult the tender pack documents.
Incumbent & Market Position
Top Retained Vendor (Authority Spend)Ashbrook Construction Services LimitedHolds 42.3% of historical attributable spend
Moderate Concentration
Entry requirements & qualification
  • Turnover Benchmark
    Guideline requirement: ~£1,199,179 annual turnover.Per Cabinet Office EFS 2026 & Sourcing Playbook: general proportionality cap (~2× run-rate), not an automatic disqualifier.
  • Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
    Standard public thresholds: Employer Liability (£5m), Public Liability (£5m-£10m), Professional Indemnity (£1m-£5m).✓ Commitment required upon award only — no upfront policy purchase needed to bid
  • Accreditations & Security Vetting
    Check tender pack for Cyber Essentials Plus (PPN 014 risk-proportional), ISO 27001/9001, and BPSS / SC security clearance requirements for named delivery personnel.
  • Contract Duration & Term OptionsExpected duration: 4 yrs
  • Source: Cabinet Office Sourcing Playbook & EFS Guidance.

    Buyer track record & authority intelligence: Forestry Commission

    Rolling 24 months
    Derived from OCDS data
    Published track record for Forestry Commission. These figures describe a rolling 24-month window, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
    Avg price drop
    Not availableEarly / insufficient sample
    Needs a published budget AND award for the same procedure
    Competition Density
    Not availableNo published reports
    Single-bidder rate: Not published
    Supplier Concentration
    Moderate Concentration
    Ashbrook Construction Services LimitedTop vendor: 42.3% of attributable value
    Published spend
    £2,361,400Historical spend
    Cumulative GBP spend across 18 retained awards
    Typical award value
    £48,809Robust (n=17)
    Middle 50% of awards: £40,000 – £124,746 · 22% of the sector median for CPV 45
    Awarded spend by half-year
    2024-H2
    2025-H1
    2025-H2
    2026-H1
    2026-H2
    Methodology & coverage notes (18 active published awards)
    Coverage: 18 active published awards; 0 bid reports (which may be per lot); 17 valued awards. Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Every figure carries an evidence level: Robust (5+ observations), Moderate (3–4), Indicative (1–2). Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
    Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 45):
    Supplier Name
    Historic Awards
    Attributable Value
    Avg. Price Discount
    Ashbrook Construction Services Limited1 win£1,000,000No published budget
    IRRIGATION CONTROL LIMITED1 win£295,555No published budget
    RTL UK Group Ltd1 win£236,000No published budget
    CLIXBY'S FORESTRY GROUND PREP LIMITED1 win£166,225No published budget
    UK Power Networks (Operations) Limited1 win£124,746No published budget

    Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar

    CPV 45 · UK Sector Analysis
    Observed CPV-sector evidence
    Suitable for SMEs
    Prepared 10 Sept 2026, 15:09 BST
    Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
    Median Winning Discount
    0.3%
    CPV sector evidence · 790 comparable price observations
    Typical Bids Received
    4reported bids
    CPV sector evidence · 6,983 published bid reports
    Decision Velocity
    ~49 days
    CPV sector evidence · median from 761 completed procedures
    Notice Stability
    Stable notice
    Published terms remained unchanged
    Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 45)
    Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
    Supplier
    Awards won
    Total awarded value
    Avg. winning discount
    4 contracts£21,191,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    113 contracts£18,529,846,409At ceiling / not disclosed
    Kier ConstructionCRN: PYYQ-3271-CYND
    75 contracts£15,595,703,176At ceiling / not disclosed
    53 contracts£15,161,656,379At ceiling / not disclosed
    ILIOSCRN: 1157281
    1 contract£10,000,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    Wates Construction LimitedCRN: PHQT-5476-TZBR
    52 contracts£9,923,245,228-0% below budget
    EQUANS Regeneration LimitedCRN: PDWQ-6852-QYVW
    145 contracts£8,388,365,822At ceiling / not disclosed
    Mclaren Construction LimitedCRN: PDDX-6189-DNXD
    17 contracts£8,050,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    42 contracts£7,886,911,783At ceiling / not disclosed
    Bouygues UKCRN: 03460378
    5 contracts£7,750,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
    Ranked by multi-factor similarity score
    Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
    Published procedure
    Published value
    Matching evidence
    Depot Fire Hydrants Design and Build - Tranche 1Transport for London · 10 Sept 2026, 13:06 BST
    £3,232,541
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    £3,300,000
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    Disabled Facilities Adaptations DN805651 RESID 2526-106London Borough of Brent · 7 Sept 2026, 16:43 BST
    £3,600,000
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    £6,000,000
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    COV-Parks ServicesCoventry City Council · 9 Sept 2026, 17:11 BST
    £2,000,000
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.SME Friendly Qualification Criteria

    Procedure terms & legal framework

    Procedure methodStandard public procedureLegal basis
    UKPGA · 2023/54
    Procurement Act 2023
    Procurement categoryworks
    Notice statusplanningProcurement thresholdSub-thresholdRegulatory regimeStandard commercial regime
    Commercial structureStand-alone contract (No framework)Competition typeCompetitive procedureGPA WTO coveredUnspecified in notice
    Recurring procurementNo (One-off requirement)First published10 Sept 2026, 13:26 BSTLast source update10 Sept 2026, 13:26 BST
    Estimated future notice5 Oct 2026, 23:59 BSTClassification (CPV)Demolition, site preparation and clearance work, Excavating and earthmoving work, Test drilling and boring work
    Delivery areaLocation not published
    Official Registry OCIDocds-h6vhtk-06f6cf
    Timeline
    1. Pipeline notice
      10 Sept 2026, 13:26 BST
    2. Procedure published
      10 Sept 2026, 13:26 BST
    3. engagement
      21 Sept 2026, 23:59 BST · scheduled
      We are using this Market Engagement to assess initial interest in each of the two Lots and determine the number of potential suppliers capable of meeting the requirements. This will help to inform the procurement approach and level of competition expected. Suppliers interested in this opportunity are invited to register their interest by contacting Commercial Services at [email protected] with the title Quarrying - Market Engagement. Expressions of interest should include the organisation name, contact details, which Lot(s) you are interested in and a brief overview of relevant experience.

    Commercial outcome and contract awards

    Awards (0)No award published
    Contracts (0)No contract published
    Bid statisticsNo aggregate bid statistics published
    Notice history
    From official release and amendment events
    1. Official notice release published
      10 Sept 2026, 13:26 BST

    Buyer and organisations in this procedure

    Forestry Commission

    Contracting authority
    GB-PPON-PLRM-7846-HGLG
    View buyer profile →

    Official Documents & Specifications (1)

    Official links; attachments are not copied