Find a Tender
complete
Official procurement procedure
EF0020 Framework agreement for the hire of equipment, plant and vehicles
Articulated trucks
Crane and dumper trucks
Cranes
+19 more
Published value
Not published
Submission deadline Not published
Lots published13
Procurement Intelligence
Published evidence · v1
Suitable for SMEs
Prepared 7 Sept 2026, 22:09 BST
A pre-calculated analytical view of official UK procurement facts, competition benchmarks and decision timelines.
Bid readiness
Review notice
Check official notice for submission route
Scope structure
13lots
7 published CPV families
Decision Velocity
~52 days
Sector median: 52 days
Contract lifecycle
Not published
No published extension signal
Pricing & Budget Savings
£117,000,000
18 award suppliers linked
Bidding Competition
7 bids
No bid spread metrics published
Sector Market Benchmark (CPV 16)
Based on 261 published procedures
Median Winning Discount
22.5%
Typical Bids Received
4 bidders
Typical Evaluation Window
52 days
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 16)
Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
| Supplier | Awards won in sector | Total awarded value | Avg. winning discount |
|---|---|---|---|
P Tuckwell LtdCRN: 01189939 | 11 contracts | £699,136,688 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
| 8 contracts | £104,175,947 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
F.R. SHARROCK LIMITEDCRN: 00599323 | 6 contracts | £2,328,296,800 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
RUSSELL'S (KIRBYMOORSIDE) LIMITEDCRN: 00178738 | 6 contracts | £2,296,427,100 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
LISTER WILDER LIMITEDCRN: 01966449 | 5 contracts | £2,200,292,025 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
BALMERS GM LIMITEDCRN: 08099551 | 5 contracts | £1,928,108,595 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
ERNEST DOE & SONS LIMITEDCRN: 00431173 | 5 contracts | £1,601,468,241 | -7.8% below budget |
T. H. WHITE LIMITEDCRN: 00519868 | 4 contracts | £1,640,061,451 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
| 4 contracts | £575,320,000 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
| 4 contracts | £206,377,275 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Evidence coverage
8/12 core inputs published
Comparable published opportunities
Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Values and dates are retained OCDS facts; missing source data remains unknown.Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They are research comparables, not expected competitors or a price forecast.
| Published procedure | Published value | Matching evidence |
|---|---|---|
Cycling Solutions Procurement DocumentClackmannanshire Council · 1 Sept 2026, 10:24 BST | £293,273 | same CPV family same region |
PLACE1100H Hire of Non-Operated Plant, Equipment and VehiclesDerbyshire County Council · 3 Sept 2026, 14:53 BST | £7,000,000 | same CPV family |
Under Vehicle Inspection Equipment 2026Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency · 1 Sept 2026, 08:28 BST | £205,000 | same CPV family |
On Vehicle Digital Technology (AVL, CCTV, APC, TLP, Comms, On Bus Destination, AVA, Bridge Strike Systems & Vehicle Compute Capability) Franchising and Wider Transport Ticketing & Payment Consultancy ServicesSOUTH WEST SMART APPLICATIONS LIMITED · 2 Sept 2026, 16:58 BST | £100,000,000 | same CPV family |
GWR Customer Facing MaintenanceFIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · 1 Sept 2026, 09:51 BST | £3,600,000 | same CPV family |
Procurement Executive Summary
AI & Search Synopsis
Generated from official OCDS record
Tenderline Synopsis: Fife Council: "EF0020 Framework agreement for the hire of equipment, plant and vehicles". Published status: complete. Published value: Value not published. 13 published lots. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
| Contracting Authority | Fife Council | Scope & Categories | Not published | Submission Window | complete No deadline published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Submission Gateway | Direct notice route | Legal Basis & Regime | Standard procurement | Estimated Value (exc. VAT) | Not published |
Bidder Intelligence · Authority Profile: Fife Council
Market Analytics
Derived from OCDS awards & bid statistics
Published history for Fife Council. These figures describe retained records, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Published-to-award variance
Not availableInsufficient comparable data
Competition Density
4Bids / Report (median)
Supplier ConcentrationLow Concentration
Jarvie Plant Group LtdTop vendor: 17.1% of attributable valuePayment Terms
Check noticePublished terms
Coverage: 29 active published awards; 29 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 16):
| Supplier Name | Historic Awards | Attributable Value | Avg. Price Discount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jarvie Plant Group Ltd | 7 wins | £63,000,000 | — |
| John McGeady Ltd | 6 wins | £54,000,000 | — |
| STRATHORE PLANT HIRE LTD | 5 wins | £45,000,000 | — |
| E & J DOUGLAS & SONS LTD | 4 wins | £36,000,000 | — |
| James Penman Plant Hire Ltd | 4 wins | £36,000,000 | — |
Procedure terms
Contracting AuthorityFife Council | Procedure methodNot published | Procurement categoryNot published |
Statuscomplete | Framework / DPSFramework | CompetitionNot published |
Above thresholdNot published | Legal basisNot published | Tender period startsNot published |
Clarification deadlineNot published | Electronic submissionNot published | Submission languagesNot published |
Published1 Nov 2022, 11:24 GMT | Last source update1 Nov 2022, 11:24 GMT | Recurring procurementNot published |
ClassificationArticulated trucks, Crane and dumper trucks, Cranes, Cranes, mobile lifting frames and works trucks fitted with a crane, Flatbed and Tipper trucks, Hire of cranes with operator, Hire of earthmoving equipment with operator, Hire of goods-transport vehicles with driver, Motor vehicles, Off-road vehicles, Road rollers, Road sweepers, Road-maintenance equipment, Road-maintenance vehicles, Road-surfacing machinery, Suction-sweeper vehicles, Tractors, Traffic lights, Trailers, Winter equipments, Winter-maintenance vehicles | ||
Delivery area | ||
OCIDocds-h6vhtk-037e01 | ||
What is being bought
Fife Council’s Roads Operations co-ordinate the business strategy and planning for the operation of roads and manage plant with operated plant and vehicles excluding self-drive vehicles. The purpose of this requirement is to find suitable contractors able to meet all requirements in the hire of equipment, plant and vehicles in order to enable Roads Operations to fulfil this role.
What changed
From the official release history
- Status changed to complete
1 Nov 2022, 11:24 GMT - Official notice release published
1 Nov 2022, 11:24 GMT - Buyer information updated
1 Nov 2022, 11:24 GMT
Lots and requirements (13)
Published by the contracting authority
- Lot 1 · #1Contract Equipment Hire (long term hire)cancelledPublished valueNot publishedContract equipment hire - long term hireContract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
- Lot 2 · #10Operated Plant - HiabcancelledPublished valueNot publishedHire of operated plant - HIABContract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
- Lot 3 · #11Tractors (Winter)cancelledPublished valueNot publishedHire of tractors (winter)Contract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
- Lot 4 · #12Portable Traffic Light HirecancelledPublished valueNot publishedHire of portable traffic lightsContract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
- Lot 5 · #13Winter assistance (adhoc emergency)cancelledPublished valueNot publishedWinter assistance (adhoc emergency)Contract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
- Lot 6 · #2Ad-hoc Equipment HirecancelledPublished valueNot publishedAd-hoc equipment hireContract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
- Lot 7 · #3Self drive plantcancelledPublished valueNot publishedHire of self drive plantContract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
- Lot 8 · #4Operated Vehicles (Tippers)cancelledPublished valueNot publishedHire of operated vehicles - tippersContract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
- Lot 9 · #5Operated Vehicle (Road sweepers)cancelledPublished valueNot publishedHire of operated vehicles - (road sweepers)Contract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
- Lot 10 · #6Operated Plant (Lo Loaders)cancelledPublished valueNot publishedHire of operated plant - Lo loadersContract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
- Lot 11 · #7Operated Plant (JCB’s & Excavators)cancelledPublished valueNot publishedOperated Plant (JCBs & Excavators)Contract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
- Lot 12 · #8Operated Plant (Surfacing plant)cancelledPublished valueNot publishedHire of Operated Plant - Surfacing PlantContract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
- Lot 13 · #9Operated Plant (Planers)cancelledPublished valueNot publishedHire of Operated Plant - PlanersContract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
Timeline
- Procedure published
1 Nov 2022, 11:24 GMT - Award active
Not published · Not published - Award active
Not published · Not published - Award active
Not published · Not published - Award active
Not published · Not published - Award active
Not published · Not published - Award active
Not published · Not published - Award active
Not published · Not published - Award active
Not published · Not published - Award active
Not published · Not published - Award active
Not published · Not published - Award active
Not published · Not published - Award active
Not published · Not published - Award active
Not published · Not published - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000 - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000 - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000 - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000 - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000 - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000 - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000 - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000 - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000 - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000 - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000 - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000 - Contract active
Signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · £9,000,000
Commercial outcome and competition
Awards GAP Group Limited, Jarvie Plant Group Ltd, Martin Plant Hire Not published · Not published · active James Penman Plant Hire Ltd, Jarvie Plant Group Ltd, Sandy Allan Blacksmiths Ltd Not published · Not published · active James Penman Plant Hire Ltd, Jarvie Plant Group Ltd, The Double A Trading Co Ltd Not published · Not published · active GAP Group Limited, Markon Limited, Sunbelt Rentals Limited Not published · Not published · active ANDREW COOK (BUILDERS) LTD, James Penman Plant Hire Ltd, Jarvie Plant Group Ltd, Murdoch MacKenzie Construction Ltd, STRATHORE PLANT HIRE LTD, TAYFORTH MACHINERY RING Not published · Not published · active Jarvie Plant Group Ltd Not published · Not published · active GAP Group Limited, Jarvie Plant Group Ltd, Nixon Hire Not published · Not published · active E & J DOUGLAS & SONS LTD, John McGeady Ltd, STRATHORE PLANT HIRE LTD Not published · Not published · active E & J DOUGLAS & SONS LTD, John McGeady Ltd, STRATHORE PLANT HIRE LTD Not published · Not published · active E & J DOUGLAS & SONS LTD, John McGeady Ltd, STRATHORE PLANT HIRE LTD Not published · Not published · active James Penman Plant Hire Ltd, Jarvie Plant Group Ltd, John McGeady Ltd, STRATHORE PLANT HIRE LTD Not published · Not published · active Dr Plant Hire [Ratho] Ltd, John McGeady Ltd, Trevor Harris Plant Repairs Ltd Not published · Not published · active E & J DOUGLAS & SONS LTD, Hermiston Asphalt Hire Ltd, John McGeady Ltd Not published · Not published · active |
Contracts Ad-hoc Equipment Hire £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active Operated Plant - Hiab £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active Tractors (Winter) £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active Portable Traffic Light Hire £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active Winter assistance (adhoc emergency) £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active Contract Equipment Hire (long term hire) £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active Self drive plant £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active Operated Vehicles (Tippers) £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active Operated Vehicle (Road sweepers) £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active Operated Plant (Lo Loaders) £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active Operated Plant (JCB’s & Excavators) £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active Operated Plant (Surfacing plant) £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active Operated Plant (Planers) £9,000,000 · signed 5 Oct 2022, 00:00 BST · active |
Bid statistics bids: 5 (lot 1) electronicBids: 5 (lot 1) foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 1) foreignBidsFromNonEU: 5 (lot 1) smeBids: 4 (lot 1) bids: 3 (lot 10) electronicBids: 3 (lot 10) foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 10) foreignBidsFromNonEU: 3 (lot 10) smeBids: 3 (lot 10) bids: 3 (lot 11) electronicBids: 0 (lot 11) foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 11) foreignBidsFromNonEU: 3 (lot 11) smeBids: 3 (lot 11) bids: 3 (lot 12) electronicBids: 3 (lot 12) foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 12) foreignBidsFromNonEU: 3 (lot 12) smeBids: 1 (lot 12) bids: 6 (lot 13) electronicBids: 6 (lot 13) foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 13) foreignBidsFromNonEU: 6 (lot 13) smeBids: 6 (lot 13) bids: 5 (lot 2) electronicBids: 5 (lot 2) foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 2) foreignBidsFromNonEU: 5 (lot 2) smeBids: 2 (lot 2) bids: 6 (lot 3) electronicBids: 6 (lot 3) foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 3) foreignBidsFromNonEU: 6 (lot 3) smeBids: 3 (lot 3) bids: 4 (lot 4) electronicBids: 4 (lot 4) foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 4) foreignBidsFromNonEU: 4 (lot 4) smeBids: 4 (lot 4) bids: 6 (lot 5) electronicBids: 6 (lot 5) foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 5) foreignBidsFromNonEU: 6 (lot 5) smeBids: 6 (lot 5) bids: 7 (lot 6) electronicBids: 7 (lot 6) foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 6) foreignBidsFromNonEU: 7 (lot 6) smeBids: 7 (lot 6) |
Buyer and organisations in this procedure
Fife Council
Contracting authority GB-FTS-48158Documents (0)
Official links; attachments are not copied
No linked documents are published
Related procedures (0)
No related procedures published