TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
complete
#h6vhtk-0397e3
Published 3 Apr 2023, 12:14 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure

Provision of Insurance & Claims Handling Services

Local Council
SME eligible
Insurance services
Published value
Not published
Contract value exc. VAT
Submission deadline
Open opportunity
complete
Lots published
4
Lots published in procedure
Contract duration
Standard
Published delivery schedule
Electronic Sourcing Gateway:
Published portal

What is being bought & procurement scope

Procurement Scope & Specification
Tenderline summary generated from the published notice
Executive Summary: East Renfrewshire Council: "Provision of Insurance & Claims Handling Services". Published status: complete. Published value: Value not published. 4 published lots. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Official Requirement Description:
Contract is for the provision of the Councils Insurance cover, including Public liability cover, employee liability property motor vehicle cover travel insurance and some others. The companies providing the Council with the Insurance cover will also handle all claims relating to the policies Lot 1 Material Damage cover including terrorism cover Lot 2 Casualty Insurance Lot 3 Motor Vehicle Insurance Lot 4 Engineering insurance and inspections Lot 5 Personal Accident & Business Travel to Include School Travel For each Lot, only one supplier will be awarded the contract. Only insurance companies are requested to respond this tender no brokers required as ERC have a contract with regards to brokerage element. This procurement will be conducted via the Public Contracts Scotland - Tender portal (PCS-T). We will apply a one stage Open procedure. Bidders must self-certify their adherence to the conditions of participation via the SPD (Scotland) in PSC-T, and may be required to submit Means of Proof before contract award. Bidders must refer to the specific requirements listed in Section III in this OJEU Contract Notice when completing the SPD in PCS-T.

Lots and requirements (4)

Procurement Structure
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Material Damage Cover Including Terrorism Cover
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Physical loss of or damage to the Property insured caused by an insured peril including terrorism. The duties listed are not comprehensive and are included for guidance only and are indicative of the services that may be required. Master ITT Qualification/Technical Envelopes must be completed by all bidders before you move on to the lots you wish to apply for. Failure to complete the Master ITT envelopes or any of the Lot(s) you wish to bid for envelopes will result in the rejection of your submission. Additional information: Quality weighting above are sub weighting and the overall weighting for quality is 40. Economic operators may be excluded from this competition if they are in any of the situations referred to in regulation 8 and 9 of the Procurement (Scotland) Regulations 2016.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 2 · #2
    Casualty Insurance
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Casualty Insurance to provide Employers Liability Cover Public / Products Liability Cover Libel & Slander The duties listed are not comprehensive and are included for guidance only and are indicative of the services that may be required, please see specification documents within tender for full requirements. Master ITT Qualification/Technical Envelopes must be completed by all bidders before you move on to the lots you wish to apply for. Failure to complete the Master ITT envelopes or any of the Lot(s) you wish to bid for envelopes will result in the rejection of your submission. Additional information: Quality weighting above are sub weighting and the overall weighting for quality is 40. Economic operators may be excluded from this competition if they are in any of the situations referred to in regulation 8 and 9 of the Procurement (Scotland) Regulations 2016.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 3 · #3
    Motor Vehicle Insurance
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Motor Fleet Cover Legal liability for death of or injury to third parties or damage to third party property Loss of or damage to insured vehicles by accidental means including malicious damage by any person, fire, theft or attempted theft. The duties listed are not comprehensive and are included for guidance only and are indicative of the services that may be required, please see specification documents within tender for full requirements. Master ITT Qualification/Technical Envelopes must be completed by all bidders before you move on to the lots you wish to apply for. Failure to complete the Master ITT envelopes or any of the Lot(s) you wish to bid for envelopes will result in the rejection of your submission. Additional information: Quality weighting above are sub weighting and the overall weighting for quality is 40. Economic operators may be excluded from this competition if they are in any of the situations referred to in regulation 8 and 9 of the Procurement (Scotland) Regulations 2016.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 4 · #4
    Engineering Insurance / Inspection
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Engineering Insurance / Inspection Cover Legal Liability under the terms of a hiring agreement or otherwise to pay compensation for loss of or damage to the Plant and Equipment and continuing hire charges The duties listed are not comprehensive and are included for guidance only and are indicative of the services that may be required, please see specification documents within tender for full requirements. Master ITT Qualification/Technical Envelopes must be completed by all bidders before you move on to the lots you wish to apply for. Failure to complete the Master ITT envelopes or any of the Lot(s) you wish to bid for envelopes will result in the rejection of your submission. Additional information: Quality weighting above are sub weighting and the overall weighting for quality is 40. Economic operators may be excluded from this competition if they are in any of the situations referred to in regulation 8 and 9 of the Procurement (Scotland) Regulations 2016.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published

Qualification snapshot & criteria

Go / No-Go Decision Box
Criteria & entry requirements
Evaluation weighting
Policy Cover: 40
Quality, Range of Services and Claims Handling: 35
Community Benefits: 10
Carbon Footprint: 5
Fair Working Practices: 5
Exit Strategy: 5
price: 60
Policy Cover: 40
Quality, Range of Services and Claims Handling: 35
Community Benefits: 10
Carbon Footprint: 5
Fair Working Practices: 5
Exit Strategy: 5
price: 60
Policy Cover: 40
Quality, Range Of Services & Claims Handling: 35
Community Benefits: 10
Carbon Footprint: 5
Fair Working Practices: 5
Exit Strategy: 5
price: 60
Policy Cover: 40
Quality, Range of Services and Claims Handling: 35
Community Benefits: 10
Carbon Footprint: 5
Fair Working Practices: 5
Exit Strategy: 5
price: 60
Published as relative weighting ratio, not percentage points.
Incumbent & Market Position
Repeat Winner in Category (66)Zurich Insurance3 repeat awards retained in category
Entry requirements & qualification
  • Turnover Benchmark
    Guideline requirement: ~2× annual contract value annual turnover.Per Cabinet Office EFS 2026 & Sourcing Playbook: general proportionality cap (~2× run-rate), not an automatic disqualifier.
  • Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
    Standard public thresholds: Employer Liability (£5m), Public Liability (£5m-£10m), Professional Indemnity (£1m-£5m).✓ Commitment required upon award only — no upfront policy purchase needed to bid
  • Accreditations & Security Vetting
    Check tender pack for Cyber Essentials Plus (PPN 014 risk-proportional), ISO 27001/9001, and BPSS / SC security clearance requirements for named delivery personnel.
  • Source: Cabinet Office Sourcing Playbook & EFS Guidance.

    Buyer track record & authority intelligence: East Renfrewshire Council

    Rolling 24 months
    Derived from OCDS data
    Published track record for East Renfrewshire Council. These figures describe rolling 24 months, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
    Avg price drop
    Not availableEarly / insufficient sample
    Requires 5 comparable published awards
    Competition Density
    Not availableNo published reports
    Single-bidder rate: Not published
    Supplier Concentration
    No estimate
    Insufficient attributable awardsEarly evidence: fewer than 3 attributable awards
    Published spend
    Check noticePublished terms
    Payment obligations depend on the applicable regime and contract.
    Methodology & coverage notes (0 active published awards)
    Coverage: 0 active published awards; 0 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.

    Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar

    CPV 66 · UK Sector Analysis
    Observed CPV-sector evidence
    Suitable for SMEs
    Prepared 7 Sept 2026, 21:28 BST
    Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
    Median Winning Discount
    0%
    CPV sector evidence · 55 comparable price observations
    Typical Bids Received
    3reported bids
    CPV sector evidence · 1,303 published bid reports
    Decision Velocity
    ~57 days
    CPV sector evidence · median from 81 completed procedures
    Notice Stability
    6 updates
    2 deadline changes
    Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 66)
    Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
    Supplier
    Awards won
    Total awarded value
    Avg. winning discount
    59 contracts£16,821,444At ceiling / not disclosed
    Marsh LimitedCRN: 01507274
    57 contracts£7,532,300At ceiling / not disclosed
    51 contracts£6,472,954At ceiling / not disclosed
    51 contracts£640,466At ceiling / not disclosed
    36 contracts£733,676At ceiling / not disclosed
    35 contracts£69,894,495At ceiling / not disclosed
    29 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    29 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    29 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    27 contracts£1,203,002At ceiling / not disclosed
    Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
    Ranked by multi-factor similarity score
    Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
    Published procedure
    Published value
    Matching evidence
    Provision of Insurance and Claims Handling- TrustEast Renfrewshire Council · 20 Jun 2024, 14:46 BST
    Value not published
    same CPV family
    same authority
    same region
    matching published text
    Provision of an Insurance and Claims Handling ServiceInverclyde Council · 20 Nov 2023, 11:08 GMT
    Value not published
    same CPV family
    same region
    matching published text
    Insurance Brokerage ServicesCaledonian Maritime Assets Ltd (Utility) · 27 Jul 2026, 09:34 BST
    Value not published
    same CPV family
    same region
    Insurance and related services and claims handling servicesPlatform Housing Limited · 7 Sept 2023, 16:06 BST
    £13,100,000
    same CPV family
    matching published text
    Value not published
    same CPV family
    matching published text
    Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.SME Friendly Qualification Criteria

    Procedure terms & legal framework

    Procedure methodStandard public procedureLegal basisStandard UK Procurement RulesProcurement categoryServices
    Notice statuscompleteProcurement thresholdSub-thresholdRegulatory regimeStandard commercial regime
    Commercial structureStand-alone contract (No framework)Competition typeCompetitive procedureGPA WTO coveredUnspecified in notice
    Recurring procurementNo (One-off requirement)First published3 Apr 2023, 12:14 BSTLast source update3 Apr 2023, 12:14 BST
    Classification (CPV)Insurance services
    Delivery area
    Official Registry OCIDocds-h6vhtk-0397e3
    Timeline
    1. Procedure published
      3 Apr 2023, 12:14 BST
    2. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    3. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    4. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    5. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    6. Contract active
      Signed 9 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · £1,232,213
    7. Contract active
      Signed 9 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · £3,537,159
    8. Contract active
      Signed 9 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · £1,109,231
    9. Contract active
      Signed 9 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · £671,481

    Commercial outcome and contract awards

    Awards (4)
    Zurich Insurance
    Not published · Not published · active
    Zurich Insurance
    Not published · Not published · active
    Zurich Insurance
    Not published · Not published · active
    Allianz Insurance PLC
    Not published · Not published · active
    Contracts (4)
    Material Damage Cover Including Terrorism Cover
    £1,232,213 · signed 9 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Casualty Insurance
    £3,537,159 · signed 9 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Motor Vehicle Insurance
    £1,109,231 · signed 9 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Engineering Insurance / Inspection
    £671,481 · signed 9 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Bid statistics
    bids: 1 (lot 1)
    electronicBids: 1 (lot 1)
    foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 1)
    foreignBidsFromNonEU: 1 (lot 1)
    smeBids: 1 (lot 1)
    bids: 1 (lot 2)
    electronicBids: 1 (lot 2)
    foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 2)
    foreignBidsFromNonEU: 1 (lot 2)
    smeBids: 1 (lot 2)
    bids: 2 (lot 3)
    electronicBids: 2 (lot 3)
    foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 3)
    foreignBidsFromNonEU: 2 (lot 3)
    smeBids: 2 (lot 3)
    bids: 3 (lot 4)
    electronicBids: 3 (lot 4)
    foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 4)
    foreignBidsFromNonEU: 3 (lot 4)
    smeBids: 3 (lot 4)
    Bidding dynamics & price outcome
    Total bids received: 3 (3 from SMEs)
    Notice history
    From official release and amendment events
    1. tender value changed
      3 Apr 2023, 12:14 BST
    2. Status changed to complete
      3 Apr 2023, 12:14 BST
    3. Official notice release published
      3 Apr 2023, 12:14 BST
    4. Submission deadline changed to published date
      3 Apr 2023, 12:14 BST
    5. Published value updated to £4,765,000
      16 Jan 2023, 15:28 GMT
    6. Status changed to active
      16 Jan 2023, 15:28 GMT
    7. Official notice release published
      16 Jan 2023, 15:28 GMT
    8. Submission deadline changed to 16 Feb 2023, 12:00 GMT
      16 Jan 2023, 15:28 GMT
    9. Buyer information updated
      16 Jan 2023, 15:28 GMT

    Buyer and organisations in this procedure

    East Renfrewshire Council

    Contracting authority
    Local Council
    GB-FTS-1036
    View buyer profile →

    Official Documents & Specifications (0)

    Official links; attachments are not copied
    No data
    No linked documents are published