TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
planning
#h6vhtk-06f57b
Published 9 Sept 2026, 11:53 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure

London Violence Reduction Unit (VRU) Tertiary Redesign Service Recommission, formally known as Violence & Exploitation Support Service (VESS)

Central Government
services
Above threshold
Special Regime: {"lightTouch"}
Health and social work services
Published value
£11,493,534
≈ £5,738,906 / year
Submission deadline
Open opportunity
planning
Lots published
1
Lots published in procedure
Contract duration
2 yrs (with extension options)
Starts 1 Jun 2027, 00:00 BST
Electronic Sourcing Gateway:
Published portal

What is being bought & procurement scope

Procurement Scope & Specification
Tenderline summary generated from the published notice
Executive Summary: Mayors Office For Policing And Crime: "London Violence Reduction Unit (VRU) Tertiary Redesign Service Recommission, formally known as Violence & Exploitation Support Service (VESS)". Published status: planning. Published value: £11,493,534. 1 published lot. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Official Requirement Description:
London Violence Reduction Unit (VRU) Tertiary Redesign Service Recommission, formally known as Violence & Exploitation Support Service (VESS) Indicative Contract Value: Up to £11,493,534 excl. VAT Contract Duration: 1 June 2027 – 31 May 2029 with option to extend to 31 May 2030 This market warming session will be delivered jointly with the VRU's forthcoming Mayoral Youth Clubs Safety Programme. The two programmes form complementary elements of the VRU's tertiary violence reduction offer for young people affected by violence and exploitation. While the Mayoral Youth Clubs Safety Programme will provide specialist youth workers embedded across Mayoral youth club settings to identify risk, build trusted relationships and connect young people to support, the redesigned tertiary service will provide intensive, specialist and longer-term support for young people experiencing established, escalating, or entrenched violence and exploitation. Together, these programmes aim to strengthen London's pathway of support for vulnerable young people through earlier identification, stronger partnership working and improved access to specialist interventions. The London Violence Reduction Unit The London Violence Reduction Unit (VRU), hosted within the Mayor's Office for Policing and Crime (MOPAC), pioneers a partnership-based public health approach to tackling violence rooted in prevention and early intervention. Since 2019, the VRU has invested in over 550,000 targeted interventions for young people across London. The VRU invests in interventions at critical moments to keep young people safe in and out of school and at the key touchpoints that influence a young person’s journey; early years and families, education, positive opportunities, youth work, and communities and place. Project Background The Violence and Exploitation Support Service (VESS), also known as The Safe Place, was launched in June 2024 to provide coordinated, holistic support for children, young people and families affected by violence and exploitation in London. The service provides specialist support for young people aged 11 to 25 affected by violence and exploitation through an alliance of organisations delivering housing support, advocacy, mentoring, mental health support and other specialist interventions. The current contract expires in June 2027. Young people aged 11 to 25 living in London who are experiencing, or are at significant risk of, entrenched violence, criminal exploitation, sexual exploitation and related harms. Particular consideration will be given to young adults, young people with complex safeguarding needs, and those facing barriers to engagement with mainstream services. Following stakeholder engagement, needs analysis and review of learning from current delivery, the VRU intends to procure a redesigned tertiary service focused on young people experiencing established, escalating or entrenched violence and exploitation. The future model reflects evidence highlighting the importance of trusted relationships, trauma informed practice, specialist support, and strong local partnerships. Key themes emerging from this work include: •The need for a clearer focus on young people experiencing entrenched violence and exploitation. •Greater emphasis on trusted adult relationships and long-term support. •Stronger transitional safeguarding support for young adults aged 18 to 25. •Improved local partnership and borough-level integration. •Enhanced specialist provisions around housing, mental health, education, employment and family support. •Improved referral pathways and engagement approaches for young people who are least likely to access traditional services. •Greater recognition of sexual exploitation alongside criminal exploitation. •Increased focus on neurodiversity, inclusion, and cultural competence. The redesigned service is expected to become the VRU's flagship tertiary intervention for young people at risk, and those experiencing the highest levels of vulnerability to violence and exploitation Description of the Service The future service will operate as a pan-London tertiary intervention with strengthened local delivery through cluster-based arrangements. It is expected to provide intensive, flexible and relationship-based support; specialist expertise in housing, mental health, education, employment and training; support for young adults aged 18 to 25; specialist responses for girls and young women; and improved pathways for criminal and sexual exploitation. A team-around-the-worker approach will support case workers with specialist advocates and navigators. The service is expected to: •Provide dedicated lead practitioners who build trusted relationships with young people. •Deliver flexible, community-based support in locations that are accessible and comfortable for young people. •Operate through a partnership model that combines core casework with specialist expertise. •Strengthen local partnerships and referral pathways while maintaining a pan-London offer. •Support young people through a long-term journey of engagement, stabilisation, change, and sustained outcomes. •Embed trauma-informed practice, lived experience and cultural competence throughout service delivery. Target Audience Young people aged 11 to 25 living in London who are experiencing, or are at significant risk of, or currently entrenched in violence, criminal exploitation, sexual exploitation. Scope of Delivery The provider partnership will be expected to deliver a consistent pan-London service whilst maintaining strong local relationships with boroughs, safeguarding partners, community organisations and specialist services. Core elements are expected to include targeted referrals, intensive casework, housing support, family support, education and employment pathways, mental health navigation, support for neurodiverse young people, transitional safeguarding and county lines rescue capability. Indicative Service Model While the final specification has not yet been developed, current thinking suggests the service may include: Core Specialist Casework Dedicated Violence and Exploitation Practitioners providing intensive support and care for coordination for young people. Specialist Pathways and Expertise Potential specialist functions may include: •Housing and accommodation support. •Mental health and therapeutic support. •Education, Employment and Training (EET). •SEND and neurodiversity expertise. •Family support. •Support for girls and young women. •Transitional safeguarding for young adults aged 18-25. County Lines Rescue Function The recommissioned service is expected to retain a county lines rescue and relocation capability, although the final model is currently under consideration. Timeframe: The contract is expected to commence on 1 June 2027 following a mobilisation period from March to May 2027. The initial term will be two years with an option to extend for one additional year. For more information about this opportunity, please visit the eSourcing portal at: https://www.delta-esourcing.com/tenders/UK-UK-London:-Health-and-social-work-services./M39747MG64 To respond to this opportunity, please click here: https://www.delta-esourcing.com/respond/M39747MG64

Lots and requirements (1)

Procurement Structure
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Individual lot title not published
    planning
    Renewal
    Published valueNot published
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period:
    1 Jun 2027 — 31 May 2029 (2 yrs)
    Eligibility:
    Not published
    Options / extension:
    Renewal options

Qualification snapshot & criteria

Go / No-Go Decision Box
Criteria & entry requirements
Evaluation weighting
Award criteria weighting not published in structured data — consult the tender pack documents.
Incumbent & Market Position
Top Retained Vendor (Authority Spend)Suzy Lamplugh TrustHolds 44.5% of historical attributable spend
Moderate Concentration
Entry requirements & qualification
  • Turnover Benchmark
    Guideline requirement: ~£11,477,811 annual turnover.Per Cabinet Office EFS 2026 & Sourcing Playbook: general proportionality cap (~2× run-rate), not an automatic disqualifier.
  • Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
    Standard public thresholds: Employer Liability (£5m), Public Liability (£5m-£10m), Professional Indemnity (£1m-£5m).✓ Commitment required upon award only — no upfront policy purchase needed to bid
  • Accreditations & Security Vetting
    Check tender pack for Cyber Essentials Plus (PPN 014 risk-proportional), ISO 27001/9001, and BPSS / SC security clearance requirements for named delivery personnel.
  • Contract Duration & Term OptionsExpected duration: 2 yrs (with extension options)
  • Source: Cabinet Office Sourcing Playbook & EFS Guidance.

    Buyer track record & authority intelligence: Mayors Office For Policing And Crime

    Rolling 24 months
    Derived from OCDS data
    Published track record for Mayors Office For Policing And Crime. These figures describe a rolling 24-month window, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
    Avg price drop
    0.1%Moderate
    Based on 3 comparable awards · moderate evidence
    Competition Density
    3Bids / Report (median)
    Single-bidder rate: 33.3% · Mean: 2.3 bids
    Supplier Concentration
    Moderate Concentration
    Suzy Lamplugh TrustTop vendor: 44.5% of attributable value
    Published spend
    £10,379,574Historical spend
    Cumulative GBP spend across 8 retained awards
    Typical award value
    £294,305Robust (n=8)
    Middle 50% of awards: £203,568 – £1,794,419 · 74% of the sector median for CPV 85
    Awarded spend by half-year
    2024-H2
    2025-H1
    2025-H2
    2026-H1
    2026-H2
    Methodology & coverage notes (8 active published awards)
    Coverage: 8 active published awards; 3 bid reports (which may be per lot); 8 valued awards. Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Every figure carries an evidence level: Robust (5+ observations), Moderate (3–4), Indicative (1–2). Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
    Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 85):
    Supplier Name
    Historic Awards
    Attributable Value
    Avg. Price Discount
    Suzy Lamplugh Trust1 win£4,620,000No published budget
    Rise Mutual CIC1 win£3,577,674-0.6% below budget
    London Youth (The Federation of London Youth Clubs)1 win£1,200,000+0.8% above budget
    Tender Education and Arts1 win£313,610-0.4% below budget
    Victim Support1 win£275,000No published budget

    Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar

    CPV 85 · UK Sector Analysis
    Observed CPV-sector evidence
    Prepared 9 Sept 2026, 13:26 BST
    Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
    Median Winning Discount
    0%
    CPV sector evidence · 450 comparable price observations
    Typical Bids Received
    1reported bids
    CPV sector evidence · 24,051 published bid reports
    Decision Velocity
    ~54 days
    CPV sector evidence · median from 586 completed procedures
    Notice Stability
    Stable notice
    Published terms remained unchanged
    Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 85)
    Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
    Supplier
    Awards won
    Total awarded value
    Avg. winning discount
    40 contracts£166,246,903,700At ceiling / not disclosed
    23 contracts£35,248,700,687At ceiling / not disclosed
    23 contracts£27,480,539,010At ceiling / not disclosed
    17 contracts£27,287,590,145At ceiling / not disclosed
    24 contracts£23,471,877,206At ceiling / not disclosed
    14 contracts£14,636,940,244At ceiling / not disclosed
    13 contracts£14,362,569,838At ceiling / not disclosed
    18 contracts£13,166,371,703At ceiling / not disclosed
    4 contracts£12,843,963,488At ceiling / not disclosed
    6 contracts£12,491,739,544-0% below budget
    Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
    Ranked by multi-factor similarity score
    Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
    Published procedure
    Published value
    Matching evidence
    Economic Independence for Victims and Survivors of Violence Against Women and Girls (VAWG)Mayors Office For Policing And Crime · 4 Sept 2026, 10:09 BST
    £3,680,000
    same CPV family
    same authority
    same region
    Nottingham Children's Residential Care HomesNottingham City Council · 7 Sept 2026, 12:46 BST
    £33,791,401
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    HAC6150 HomecareTower Hamlets · 4 Sept 2026, 13:05 BST
    £300,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    GMCA 2087 GM Inclusion Health Services: Co-occurring Conditions Support ServicesGreater Manchester Combined Authority · 7 Sept 2026, 16:48 BST
    £15,000,000
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    All Age Service Substance MisuseMedway Council · 8 Sept 2026, 18:11 BST
    £26,011,695
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.

    Procedure terms & legal framework

    Procedure methodStandard public procedureLegal basis
    UKPGA · 2023/54
    Procurement Act 2023
    Procurement categoryservices
    Notice statusplanningProcurement threshold
    Above threshold
    (FTS publication)
    Regulatory regime{"lightTouch"}
    Commercial structureStand-alone contract (No framework)Competition typeCompetitive procedureGPA WTO coveredUnspecified in notice
    Recurring procurementNo (One-off requirement)First published9 Sept 2026, 11:53 BSTLast source update9 Sept 2026, 11:53 BST
    Classification (CPV)Health and social work services
    Delivery area
    Official Registry OCIDocds-h6vhtk-06f57b
    Timeline
    1. Pipeline notice
      9 Sept 2026, 11:53 BST
    2. Procedure published
      9 Sept 2026, 11:53 BST
    3. engagement
      16 Sept 2026, 23:59 BST · scheduled
      The VRU will be holding a market warming session on: Wednesday 16th September 2026, 11.00 - 12.15 pm via MS Teams. The VRU welcomes engagement from organisations with expertise in violence reduction, safeguarding, exploitation, housing, mental health, youth work, education, employment and training, and specialist services for girls and young women. Partnership and consortium approaches are encouraged. Market engagement activity will help inform the final specification and procurement documents. The VRU is particularly interested in approaches that strengthen local partnership working, improve access for high-risk young people, and demonstrate effective methods of sustaining engagement with complex cohorts. The Eventbrite link for the market warming session can be found here: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/mayoral-youth-clubs-safety-programme-and-vrus-tertiary-service-tickets-2000156538048?aff=oddtdtcreator Please note that this exercise is in no way a call for competition and will not result in the award of a contract to any respondents to this notice.

    Commercial outcome and contract awards

    Awards (0)No award published
    Contracts (0)No contract published
    Bid statisticsNo aggregate bid statistics published
    Notice history
    From official release and amendment events
    1. Official notice release published
      9 Sept 2026, 11:53 BST

    Buyer and organisations in this procedure

    Mayors Office For Policing And Crime

    Contracting authority
    Central Government
    GB-PPON-PTMT-7816-YCQG
    View buyer profile →

    Official Documents & Specifications (1)

    Official links; attachments are not copied