TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
complete
Official procurement procedure

The Open University learning content services/OPEN/PRO/2023

Design support services
Published value
Not published
Submission deadline Not published
Lots published1
Procurement Intelligence
Published evidence · v1
Prepared 7 Sept 2026, 20:12 BST
A pre-calculated analytical view of official UK procurement facts, competition benchmarks and decision timelines.
Bid readiness
Review notice
Submission deadline not published
Check official notice for submission route
Scope structure
1lots
1 lot · 1 published item
1 published CPV family
Decision Velocity
~64 days
Typical sector award window after deadline
Sector median: 64 days
Contract lifecycle
Not published
No future linked contract end in retained records
No published extension signal
Pricing & Budget Savings
£3,960,000
Contract/award value: £3,960,000
3 award suppliers linked
Bidding Competition
7 bids
SME bid count not published · 7 electronic
No bid spread metrics published
Sector Market Benchmark (CPV 79)
Based on 13,031 published procedures
Median Winning Discount
9.17%
Award reduction below published budget
Typical Bids Received
4 bidders
Median competitive participation in sector
Typical Evaluation Window
64 days
Median time between deadline and award
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 79)
Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
SupplierAwards won in sectorTotal awarded valueAvg. winning discount
KPMG LLPCRN: OC301540
49 contracts£157,191,280,561-9.7% below budget
36 contracts£78,121,082,603-6.3% below budget
36 contracts£57,303,208,486At ceiling / not disclosed
34 contracts£13,244,279,400At ceiling / not disclosed
DELOITTE LLPCRN: OC303675
30 contracts£104,328,670,062-37% below budget
Ernst & Young LLPCRN: OC300001
28 contracts£54,840,655,892At ceiling / not disclosed
28 contracts£5,576,393At ceiling / not disclosed
27 contracts£304,062,138At ceiling / not disclosed
27 contracts£3,662,531At ceiling / not disclosed
25 contracts£22,142,230At ceiling / not disclosed
Evidence coverage
7/12 core inputs published
Framework procedure
Comparable published opportunities
Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They are research comparables, not expected competitors or a price forecast.
Published procedurePublished valueMatching evidence
PAS 2038 Commercial Retrofit AssessmentsMilton Keynes City Council · 28 Aug 2026, 15:55 BST
£40,000
same CPV family
same region
UHB Managed Digital Content ServiceUniversity Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust · 3 Sept 2026, 14:48 BST
£0
same CPV family
Flexible Lifelong LearningCardiff University · 27 Aug 2026, 17:34 BST
£5,000,000
same CPV family
£650,000
same CPV family
Estates Works and Capital Projects Dynamic MarketEmbark Multi Academy Trust · 27 Aug 2026, 14:18 BST
Value not published
same CPV family
Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Values and dates are retained OCDS facts; missing source data remains unknown.
Procurement Executive Summary
AI & Search Synopsis
Generated from official OCDS record
Tenderline Synopsis: OPEN UNIVERSITY(THE): "The Open University learning content services/OPEN/PRO/2023". Published status: complete. Published value: Value not published. 1 published lot. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Contracting AuthorityOPEN UNIVERSITY(THE)Scope & CategoriesNot publishedSubmission Window
complete
No deadline published
Submission GatewayDirect notice routeLegal Basis & RegimeStandard procurementEstimated Value (exc. VAT)Not published
Bidder Intelligence · Authority Profile: OPEN UNIVERSITY(THE)
Market Analytics
View Authority Profile →
Derived from OCDS awards & bid statistics
Published history for OPEN UNIVERSITY(THE). These figures describe retained records, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Published-to-award variance
Not availableInsufficient comparable data
Requires at least 5 comparable procedures
Competition Density
7Bids / Report (median)
40% of reports have one bid · Mean: 4.6 bids
Supplier ConcentrationModerate Concentration
Amnet ContentSource Pvt. LtdTop vendor: 29.3% of attributable value
Payment Terms
Check noticePublished terms
Payment obligations depend on the applicable regime and contract. Consult the official documents.
Coverage: 6 active published awards; 5 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 79):
Supplier NameHistoric AwardsAttributable ValueAvg. Price Discount
Amnet ContentSource Pvt. Ltd1 win£1,320,000
Integra Software Services Private Limited1 win£1,320,000
KnowledgeWorks Global Ltd.1 win£1,320,000
Norman Managed Services1 win£550,000
Procedure terms
Contracting AuthorityOPEN UNIVERSITY(THE)
Procedure methodNot published
Procurement categoryNot published
Statuscomplete
Framework / DPSFramework
CompetitionNot published
Above thresholdNot published
Legal basisNot published
Tender period startsNot published
Clarification deadlineNot published
Electronic submissionNot published
Submission languagesNot published
Published8 Jan 2024, 13:30 GMT
Last source update8 Jan 2024, 13:30 GMT
Recurring procurementNot published
ClassificationDesign support services
Delivery area
OCIDocds-h6vhtk-03e4c2
What is being bought
The OU is looking for 3 key partners to take on the tasks outlined in Appendix 3 at scale during peak periods to alleviate internal pressures on capacity and ensure the timely provision of high-quality learning material to OU students. We expect to work with our vendor partners on identifying, developing and scaling ancillary and additional service lines that support and complement the core proposition service offering, thus improving the efficiency of the service and enabling the OU to achieve its wider strategic objectives.
What changed
From the official release history
  1. tender value changed
    8 Jan 2024, 13:30 GMT
  2. Status changed to complete
    8 Jan 2024, 13:30 GMT
  3. Official notice release published
    8 Jan 2024, 13:30 GMT
  4. Submission deadline changed to published date
    8 Jan 2024, 13:30 GMT
  5. Buyer information updated
    8 Jan 2024, 13:30 GMT
  6. Published value updated to £1,320,000
    24 Jul 2023, 14:02 BST
  7. Status changed to active
    24 Jul 2023, 14:02 BST
  8. Official notice release published
    24 Jul 2023, 14:02 BST
  9. Submission deadline changed to 30 Aug 2023, 12:00 BST
    24 Jul 2023, 14:02 BST
  10. Buyer information updated
    24 Jul 2023, 14:02 BST
Lots and requirements (1)
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Individual lot title not published
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The primary business objective is to deliver the OU's bi-annual cycle of updates to module websites and supporting digital and print learning aids to required quality, time and cost standards. The OU requires vendor partners to provide it with flexibility in its capacity so that it can effectively handle peaks in demand that cannot be met by inhouse staff. Additionally, we expect to work with our vendor partners on identifying, developing and scaling ancillary and additional service lines that support and complement the core proposition service offering, thus improving operational efficiency, achieving economies of scale and supporting the delivery of the OU's wider strategic aims and social mission. Core service provision As OU modules prepare to 'present' to a new cohort of students, their study website, hosted in the OU's Virtual Learning Environment (VLE), and associated digital and print learning aids, require updating in accordance with student feedback on their learning experience, key assessment milestones for the new cohort's study dates, changes in the academic field and requirements for the correction or clarification of errors. The vendor partner will need to work inside OU systems and liaise closely with the responsible OU Project Manager within Learner and Discovery Services (LDS), graphics and interactive media developers within LDS' Design, Development and Production (DDP) subunit, as well as with the Qualification/Curriculum Manager and academic authoring teams within the faculty whose module is being updated, performing requisite editorial, quality assurance, project coordination, graphic/interactive media assets update and rights clearance tasks as required by the project specification. Breakdown of service lines Core service provision: OU module updates, editorial o Copyediting of any new text insertions of 50+ words o Proofreading of updated sections of material, including sense checks for 'fit' with surrounding content and any internal cross-references o Briefing IMD/GMD team on graphic/interactive media asset updates AND/OR origination/updates of graphics/interactive media assets o Taking in corrections to XML source files, re-rendering and sending to OU stakeholders for approval o Validation of XML with QC o Checking and editing of closed captions and module transcripts for any new assets via the OU's 3Play platform o Web checks" - final QC of module websites, once all other updates complete, ahead of final 'presentation ready' signoff. Ancillary services Graphic media assets updates/origination/redraws Interactive media assets updates/origination Rights and permissions clearances Copyedit and proofread Structural editing
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
Timeline
  1. Procedure published
    8 Jan 2024, 13:30 GMT
  2. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  3. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  4. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  5. Contract active
    Signed 7 Jan 2024, 00:00 GMT · £1,320,000
  6. Contract active
    Signed 7 Jan 2024, 00:00 GMT · £1,320,000
  7. Contract active
    Signed 7 Jan 2024, 00:00 GMT · £1,320,000
Commercial outcome and competition
Awards
Amnet ContentSource Pvt. Ltd
Not published · Not published · active
Integra Software Services Private Limited
Not published · Not published · active
KnowledgeWorks Global Ltd.
Not published · Not published · active
Contracts
Contract
£1,320,000 · signed 7 Jan 2024, 00:00 GMT · active
Contract
£1,320,000 · signed 7 Jan 2024, 00:00 GMT · active
Contract
£1,320,000 · signed 7 Jan 2024, 00:00 GMT · active
Bid statistics
bids: 7 (lot 1)
bids: 7 (lot 1)
bids: 7 (lot 1)
electronicBids: 7 (lot 1)
electronicBids: 7 (lot 1)
electronicBids: 7 (lot 1)
Buyer and organisations in this procedure

OPEN UNIVERSITY(THE)

Contracting authority GB-FTS-10604
View buyer profile
  • OPEN UNIVERSITY(THE)
    buyer

    Walton Hall, MILTON KEYNES, UKJ12, MK76AA
  • Amnet ContentSource Pvt. Ltd
    supplier

    Chennai, IN
  • Integra Software Services Private Limited
    supplier

    Chennai, IN
  • KnowledgeWorks Global Ltd.
    supplier

    Brainerd, US
  • The Open University
    reviewBody

    Milton Keynes
Documents (0)
Official links; attachments are not copied
No data
No linked documents are published
Related procedures (0)
No data
No related procedures published