TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
Open for tender
28d 18h left
#h6vhtk-06f6ea
Published 10 Sept 2026, 14:18 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure

SBRI - Agri-Food Tech Contracts for Innovation Cymru Phase 1 Challenge

Education
services
SME eligible
VCSE eligible
Above threshold
Open procedure
GPA Covered: {"GPA"}
Agricultural
forestry
horticultural
+3 more
Published value
£300,000
Contract value exc. VAT
Submission deadline
9 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST
28d 18h left
Clarification Cut-Off
2 Oct 2026, 00:00 BST
Tender enquiry deadline · 1 lot
Contract duration
4 months
Starts 16 Nov 2026, 00:00 GMT
Electronic Sourcing Gateway:
Published portal
Instructions: https://sbri.simplydo.co.uk/challenges/6a9ff735c496e6d4882c88aa?utm-link=6aa10cbf1e7c7982e086791a

What is being bought & procurement scope

Procurement Scope & Specification
Tenderline summary generated from the published notice
Executive Summary: Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board: "SBRI - Agri-Food Tech Contracts for Innovation Cymru Phase 1 Challenge". Published status: active. Published value: £300,000. 1 published lot. Recorded submission deadline: 9 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST. Published submission portal: sbri.simplydo.co.uk.
Official Requirement Description:
It is the ambition of the Welsh Government to develop a thriving and confident agriculture sector in Wales built around innovation and growth, to rise to the challenges we face and make most of the opportunities available. In July 2025 the Welsh Government published its Sustainable Farming Scheme designed to ensure Welsh Government support for agriculture in Wales delivers against the four Sustainable Land Management objectives of the Agriculture (Wales) Act: - Produce food and other goods in a sustainable manner - Mitigate and adapt to climate change - Maintain and enhance the resilience of ecosystems and the benefits they provide - Conserve and enhance the countryside and cultural resources, promote public access to and engagement with them, and to sustain the Welsh language and promote and facilitate its use. Innovation will play a key role in delivering this scheme. In 2023, the Welsh Government published an Innovation Strategy for Wales. Innovation in food and Agri-Food Tech was seen as a key part of Wales’s future economic development. In late 2023, the Welsh Government published an Agri-tech action plan for Wales. The development and adoption of Agri-Tech and Precision Agri-Tech is a strategic area of growth for the Welsh economy and one the Welsh Government deems requiring of focussed attention and a road map for development. The action plan has four priorities: 1. Accelerate Home Grown Welsh Agri-tech Capabilities. 2. Drive on-farm adoption to achieve productivity and efficiencies (incl. Environmental) gains ‘more for less’. 3. Deliver environmental benefits and help transition to Net Zero. 4. Support educational and skills development to equip future and existing agricultural professionals to exploit Agri-tech to its fullest. SCOPE: Cattle mortality data may provide valuable information on animal health, disease emergence and herd management. However, there are opportunities to make better use of mortality data alongside wider animal health surveillance information to generate timely intelligence that supports veterinary decision-making, farmer engagement and evidence-based policy. Improving the collection, access, interpretation and communication of mortality intelligence could enable earlier identification of disease risks, encourage preventative herd health management and support the delivery of the Animal health and welfare framework | GOV.WALES for Wales, while contributing to the objectives of the Sustainable Farming Scheme. We are therefore seeking innovative technologies, digital tools, data-driven approaches or other novel solutions that improve the collection, integration, analysis and application of cattle mortality intelligence to support proactive animal health management.

Lots and requirements (1)

Procurement Structure
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Individual lot title not published
    active
    Published value£300,000
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period:
    16 Nov 2026 — 24 Mar 2027 (4 mo)
    Eligibility:
    SME eligible
    VCSE eligible
    Pre-Qualification & Selection Criteria (PQQ)
    • Economic & Financial
      Please refer to the draft contract in the tender docs available via [Include link to brief]
    • Technical Capacity
      Please refer to the draft contract in the tender docs available via [Include link to brief]

Qualification snapshot & criteria

Go / No-Go Decision Box
Criteria & entry requirements
Evaluation weighting
Technical: 87%
Commercial: 9%
Social Value: 4%
Incumbent & Market Position
Open Competition LandscapeNo single vendor holds a majority of retained authority awards.
Entry requirements & qualification
  • Turnover Benchmark
    Guideline requirement: ~£600,000 annual turnover.Per Cabinet Office EFS 2026 & Sourcing Playbook: general proportionality cap (~2× run-rate), not an automatic disqualifier.
  • Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
    Standard public thresholds: Employer Liability (£5m), Public Liability (£5m-£10m), Professional Indemnity (£1m-£5m).✓ Commitment required upon award only — no upfront policy purchase needed to bid
  • Accreditations & Security Vetting
    Check tender pack for Cyber Essentials Plus (PPN 014 risk-proportional), ISO 27001/9001, and BPSS / SC security clearance requirements for named delivery personnel.
  • Contract Duration & Term OptionsExpected duration: 4 months
  • Source: Cabinet Office Sourcing Playbook & EFS Guidance.

    Buyer track record & authority intelligence: Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board

    Rolling 24 months
    Derived from OCDS data
    Published track record for Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board. These figures describe a rolling 24-month window, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
    Avg price drop
    Not availableEarly / insufficient sample
    Needs a published budget AND award for the same procedure
    Competition Density
    Not availableNo published reports
    Single-bidder rate: Not published
    Supplier Concentration
    No estimate
    Insufficient attributable awardsNo attributable single-supplier awards retained
    Published spend
    Check noticePublished terms
    Payment obligations depend on the applicable regime and contract.
    Typical award value
    Not available
    Too few awards for a meaningful range
    Awarded spend by half-year
    2024-H2
    2025-H1
    2025-H2
    2026-H1
    2026-H2
    Methodology & coverage notes (0 active published awards)
    Coverage: 0 active published awards; 0 bid reports (which may be per lot); 0 valued awards. Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Every figure carries an evidence level: Robust (5+ observations), Moderate (3–4), Indicative (1–2). Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.

    Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar

    CPV 73 · UK Sector Analysis
    Observed CPV-sector evidence
    Suitable for SMEs
    Prepared 10 Sept 2026, 16:00 BST
    Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
    Median Winning Discount
    0.91%
    CPV sector evidence · 147 comparable price observations
    Typical Bids Received
    3reported bids
    CPV sector evidence · 1,247 published bid reports
    Decision Velocity
    ~34 days
    CPV sector evidence · median from 96 completed procedures
    Notice Stability
    Stable notice
    Published terms remained unchanged
    Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 73)
    Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
    Supplier
    Awards won
    Total awarded value
    Avg. winning discount
    1 contract£4,000,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    4 contracts£1,605,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    QINETIQ LIMITEDCRN: 03796233
    10 contracts£1,534,755,702At ceiling / not disclosed
    1 contract£1,177,000,000-0% below budget
    Fera Science LtdCRN: PDGX-4332-VPXR
    38 contracts£701,722,872-0.7% below budget
    Ballymore LimitedCRN: 04936525
    1 contract£600,000,000-0% below budget
    1 contract£600,000,000-0% below budget
    1 contract£267,900,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    NPL Management LimitedCRN: PYDB-8862-JBYM
    12 contracts£211,878,707-0% below budget
    University of LeedsCRN: RC000658
    21 contracts£134,206,590At ceiling / not disclosed
    Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
    Ranked by multi-factor similarity score
    Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
    Published procedure
    Published value
    Matching evidence
    £320,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    Welsh Event Support FrameworkCardiff University · 10 Sept 2026, 10:30 BST
    £124,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    similar value band
    Review of the Business Finance Landscape in WalesDevelopment Bank of Wales · 3 Sept 2026, 16:10 BST
    £125,000
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    £650,000
    same CPV family
    similar value band
    Provision of Legal ServicesCodi Group Ltd · 3 Sept 2026, 15:09 BST
    £2,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.SME Friendly Qualification Criteria

    Procedure terms & legal framework

    Procedure methodOpen procedureLegal basis
    UKPGA · 2023/54
    Procurement Act 2023
    Procurement categoryservices
    Notice statusactiveProcurement threshold
    Above threshold
    (FTS publication)
    Regulatory regimeStandard commercial regime
    Commercial structureStand-alone contract (No framework)Competition typeCompetitive procedureGPA WTO covered{"GPA"}
    Recurring procurementNo (One-off requirement)First published10 Sept 2026, 14:18 BSTLast source update10 Sept 2026, 14:18 BST
    Award evaluation windowSubmission end — 28 Oct 2026, 23:59 GMTContract terms summaryPayment: 30 days after approval of deliverables completion Classification (CPV)Agricultural, forestry, horticultural, aquacultural and apicultural services, Market research services, Research and development services and related consultancy services
    Delivery area
    Official Registry OCIDocds-h6vhtk-06f6ea

    How to participate & submission route

    Authorized E-Sourcing Portal
    Official Buyer Portal
    Online submission allowed
    Language: CY, EN
    Open official portal workspace ↗
    Expression of interest (EOI)Tender submission deadline
    9 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST
    Clarification deadline
    2 Oct 2026, 00:00 BST
    Submission channelOfficial e-sourcing portalElectronic submissionAllowedAccepted languagescy, en
    Participation feeFree of charge (Open access)
    Detailed Submission Instructions & Authority Contacts
    From official release
    Timeline
    1. Procedure published
      10 Sept 2026, 14:18 BST
    2. Clarification deadline
      2 Oct 2026, 00:00 BST
    3. Submission deadline
      9 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST

    Commercial outcome and contract awards

    Awards (0)No award published
    Contracts (0)No contract published
    Bid statisticsNo aggregate bid statistics published
    Notice history
    From official release and amendment events
    1. Official notice release published
      10 Sept 2026, 14:18 BST

    Buyer and organisations in this procedure

    Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board

    Contracting authority
    Education
    GB-PPON-PHBY-3981-QBMR
    View buyer profile →

    Official Documents & Specifications (5)

    Official links; attachments are not copied
    Procedure justification & pre-market engagement
    Official Statement
    Preliminary market engagement (PME) rationaleSuppliers within market known