TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
complete
Official procurement procedure

Surface Dressing Framework

works
Open procedure
Engineering works and construction works
Surface work for roads
Various surface works
Published value
£100,000,000
Submission deadline 13 Jan 2026, 15:00 GMT
Lots published7
Procurement Intelligence
Published evidence · v1
Suitable for SMEs
Prepared 8 Sept 2026, 00:17 BST
A pre-calculated analytical view of official UK procurement facts, competition benchmarks and decision timelines.
Bid readiness
Core facts published
Deadline: 13 Jan 2026, 15:00 GMT
Submission route published
Scope structure
7lots
7 lots · 21 published items
1 published CPV family
Decision Velocity
169 days
Time from tender deadline to award notice
Sector median: 58 days
Contract lifecycle
Not published
No future linked contract end in retained records
No published extension signal
Pricing & Budget Savings
£200,000,000
Contract/award value: £200,000,000
5 award suppliers linked
Bidding Competition
5 bids
3 SME bids
No bid spread metrics published
Sector Market Benchmark (CPV 45)
Based on 16,418 published procedures
Median Winning Discount
18.835%
Award reduction below published budget
Typical Bids Received
4 bidders
Median competitive participation in sector
Typical Evaluation Window
58 days
Median time between deadline and award
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 45)
Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
SupplierAwards won in sectorTotal awarded valueAvg. winning discount
105 contracts£8,080,876At ceiling / not disclosed
69 contracts£2,790,776At ceiling / not disclosed
51 contracts£293,403,753,867-40.9% below budget
BELL GROUP LTDCRN: SC114142
42 contracts£470,582,179,692-22.1% below budget
JP Developers LtdCRN: 03873231
41 contracts£12,499,028,816-31.4% below budget
KOMPAN LIMITEDCRN: 01704623
34 contracts£109,811,792,407-9.5% below budget
33 contracts£200,378,445At ceiling / not disclosed
30 contracts£9,472,772,321-29.6% below budget
26 contracts£407,472,667,596At ceiling / not disclosed
HAGS-SMP LIMITEDCRN: 00908021
24 contracts£82,353,202,287-2.8% below budget
Evidence coverage
11/12 core inputs published
Framework procedure
Comparable published opportunities
Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They are research comparables, not expected competitors or a price forecast.
Published procedurePublished valueMatching evidence
Highways and Footpaths Surface DressingThe Council of the City of Wakefield · 28 Aug 2026, 15:50 BST
£200,000,000
same CPV family
similar value band
matching published text
Provision of Roads Maintenance Services (TPC2108)Tayside Procurement Consortium · 31 May 2022, 09:52 BST
£16,000,000
same CPV family
similar value band
matching published text
Pre Market Engagement North East Lincolnshire Highways Framework 2026 - 2030North East Lincolnshire Borough Council · 13 Jan 2026, 15:08 GMT
£55,000,000
same CPV family
similar value band
matching published text
Eastern Region Level Crossing Lift & ReplaceNETWORK RAIL INFRASTRUCTURE LIMITED · 15 Dec 2025, 11:21 GMT
£24,000,000
same CPV family
similar value band
matching published text
Wales & Western - Level Crossing & Rail Road Access Points (RRAP)NETWORK RAIL INFRASTRUCTURE LIMITED · 19 Nov 2025, 10:20 GMT
£31,200,000
same CPV family
similar value band
matching published text
Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Values and dates are retained OCDS facts; missing source data remains unknown.
Procurement Executive Summary
AI & Search Synopsis
Generated from official OCDS record
Tenderline Synopsis: DfI Transport and Road Asset Management (TRAM): "Surface Dressing Framework". Published status: complete. Published value: £100,000,000. 7 published lots. Recorded submission deadline: 13 Jan 2026, 15:00 GMT. Published submission portal: etendersni.gov.uk.
Contracting AuthorityDfI Transport and Road Asset Management (TRAM)Scope & CategoriesWORKS (7 lots)Submission Window
Closed
13 Jan 2026, 15:00 GMT
Submission GatewayLegal Basis & Regime2023/54 · Open procedure · Above thresholdEstimated Value (exc. VAT)£100,000,000
Bidder Intelligence · Authority Profile: DfI Transport and Road Asset Management (TRAM)
Market Analytics
View Authority Profile →
Derived from OCDS awards & bid statistics
Published history for DfI Transport and Road Asset Management (TRAM). These figures describe retained records, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Published-to-award variance
Not availableInsufficient comparable data
Requires at least 5 comparable procedures
Competition Density
4.29Bids / Report (median)
0% of reports have one bid
Supplier ConcentrationNo estimate
Insufficient attributable awardsNo concentration estimate available
Payment Terms
Check noticePublished terms
Payment obligations depend on the applicable regime and contract. Consult the official documents.
Coverage: 0 active published awards; 7 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Procedure terms
Procedure methodOpen procedure
Procurement categoryworks
Statuscomplete
Framework / DPSFramework
CompetitionNot published
Above thresholdYes
Legal basisUKPGA · 2023/54
Tender period startsNot published
Clarification deadline13 Jan 2026, 14:59 GMT
Electronic submissionallowed
Submission languagesen
Published3 Sept 2026, 11:49 BST
Last source update3 Sept 2026, 11:49 BST
Recurring procurementYes
ClassificationEngineering works and construction works, Surface work for roads, Various surface works
OCIDocds-h6vhtk-05a99b
How to participate
Submission methodNot published
Electronic submissionallowed
Clarification deadline13 Jan 2026, 14:59 GMT
Submission languagesen
Expression of interest deadlineNot published
E-Sourcing Portal
Submission instructions
Tenders must be submitted electronically via the relevant Call for Tender (CfT) opportunity on eTendersNI, website details immediately below. Paper submissions will not be accepted or considered and will be rejected by the Authority. The tender documents are available with unrestricted and full direct access, free of charge, at: URL https://etendersni.gov.uk/epps For this procurement, all Supplier Technical and Financial submissions must be uploaded exclusively via Lot 1 (SDF S2) on the eTendersNI platform. Lot 1 will serve as the single, centralised submission point for all Lots within the Framework. Accordingly, Suppliers must select Lot 1 on eTendersNI (in addition to all other Lots they are tendering for) regardless of whether they are submitting a tender for Lot 1 itself.
What is being bought
* This UK6 Contract Award Notice replaces the previously published UK6 Contract Award Notice (Notice Identifier: 2026/S 000-063302). The replacement notice is required due the withdrawal of a supplier's tenders for Lot 6 and Lot 7 following the publication of the original notice. The purpose of this notice is to ensure that the published contract award information accurately reflects the revised outcome of the procurement process for the Framework.* This tender notice is for the award of a Framework (a public contract) following a competitive tendering procedure by means of an open procedure in accordance with section 20(1) and (2)(a) of the Procurement Act 2023. The Road Asset Management (RAM) Surface Dressing Framework will include the following work activities: - Application of surface dressing. - Associated road markings. - Delivery of temporary traffic management as part of associated civils works on live trafficked public roads. - Other associated ancillary works. The Framework comprises seven Lots. This notice sets out the eligible suppliers being appointed to the Framework. A Surface Dressing Measured Term Contract (MTC) will be awarded from each Lot to deliver surface dressing schemes each valued up to £750,000(excluding VAT). Each Lot corresponds to a specific geographical area: Lot 1 - SDF S2 - Newry, Mourne & Down / Ards & North Down; Lot 2 - SDF W2 - Derry & Strabane / Fermanagh & Omagh; Lot 3 - SDF S1 - Armagh, Banbridge & Craigavon; Lot 4 - SDF W1 - Mid Ulster; Lot 5 - SDF N1 - Causeway Coast & Glens; Lot 6 - SDF N2 - Mid & East Antrim / Antrim & Newtownabbey; Lot 7 - SDF E1 - Belfast / Lisburn & Castlereagh The overall cumulative value of the Framework is £80m (ex VAT) over the four-year Framework Term. If the Contracting Authority is unable, for any reason, to award a new Surface Dressing Framework or to put in place an alternative regime to replace this Framework on its termination or expiry, any MTC Call-Off Contract established under this Framework may be extended for a further period or periods up to a maximum of 12 additional months. This may increase the overall cumulative value of this Framework to £100m (ex VAT). Framework Lot values may be shared with other Lots
What changed
From the official release history
  1. Official notice release published
    3 Sept 2026, 11:49 BST
  2. tender value changed
    6 Jul 2026, 15:56 BST
  3. Status changed to complete
    6 Jul 2026, 15:56 BST
  4. Official notice release published
    6 Jul 2026, 15:56 BST
  5. Submission deadline changed to published date
    6 Jul 2026, 15:56 BST
  6. Official notice release published
    18 Nov 2025, 16:30 GMT
  7. Submission deadline changed to 13 Jan 2026, 15:00 GMT
    18 Nov 2025, 16:30 GMT
  8. Official notice release published
    18 Nov 2025, 16:13 GMT
  9. Submission deadline changed to 13 Jan 2026, 23:59 GMT
    18 Nov 2025, 16:13 GMT
  10. Published value updated to £100,000,000
    6 Nov 2025, 11:00 GMT
  11. Status changed to active
    6 Nov 2025, 11:00 GMT
  12. Official notice release published
    6 Nov 2025, 11:00 GMT
  13. procurement method changed
    6 Nov 2025, 11:00 GMT
  14. Submission deadline changed to 10 Dec 2025, 23:59 GMT
    6 Nov 2025, 11:00 GMT
  15. Official notice release published
    7 Oct 2025, 14:19 BST
  16. Published tender amendment
    Not published
    The Department has extended the tender submission period, all tenders must now be received by 15:00 on 13 January 2026.
  17. Published tender amendment
    Not published
    The Department has extended the tender submission period, all tenders must now be received by 15:00 on 13 January 2026.
Lots and requirements (7)
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    SDF S2 (Newry, Mourne & Down / North Down & Ards)
    complete
    Options
    Published value£22,500,000
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period1 Apr 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Mar 2030, 23:59 BST
    Eligibility
    SME eligible
    Options / renewalFramework Lot values may be shared with other Lots.
  • Lot 2 · #2
    SDF W2 (Derry & Strabane / Fermanagh & Omagh)
    complete
    Options
    Published value£21,250,000
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period1 Apr 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Mar 2030, 23:59 BST
    Eligibility
    SME eligible
    Options / renewalFramework Lot values may be shared with other Lots.
  • Lot 3 · #3
    SDF S1 (Armagh, Banbridge & Craigavon)
    complete
    Options
    Published value£15,000,000
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period1 Apr 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Mar 2030, 23:59 BST
    Eligibility
    SME eligible
    Options / renewalFramework Lot values may be shared with other Lots.
  • Lot 4 · #4
    SDF W1 (Mid Ulster N & S)
    complete
    Options
    Published value£15,000,000
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period1 Apr 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Mar 2030, 23:59 BST
    Eligibility
    SME eligible
    Options / renewalFramework Lot values may be shared with other Lots.
  • Lot 5 · #5
    SDF N1 (Causeway Coast & Glens E & W)
    complete
    Options
    Published value£11,250,000
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period1 Apr 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Mar 2030, 23:59 BST
    Eligibility
    SME eligible
    Options / renewalFramework Lot values may be shared with other Lots.
  • Lot 6 · #6
    SDF N2 (Mid & East Antrim / Antrim & Newtownabbey)
    complete
    Options
    Published value£10,000,000
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period1 Apr 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Mar 2030, 23:59 BST
    Eligibility
    SME eligible
    Options / renewalFramework Lot values may be shared with other Lots.
  • Lot 7 · #7
    SDF E1 (Belfast N / Belfast S / Lisburn & Castlereagh)
    complete
    Options
    Published value£5,000,000
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period1 Apr 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Mar 2030, 23:59 BST
    Eligibility
    SME eligible
    Options / renewalFramework Lot values may be shared with other Lots.
Timeline
  1. Pipeline notice
    7 Oct 2025, 14:19 BST
  2. Procedure published
    3 Sept 2026, 11:49 BST
  3. engagement
    Not published · met
    As part of the Department for Infrastructure’s (DfI) Procurement Enhancement Programme (PEP), a comprehensive procurement strategy was developed to support the efficient and cost-effective delivery of road asset maintenance across Northern Ireland. This strategy encompasses a range of road maintenance and improvement works, including Surface Dressing, with individual project values up to £5 million. To ensure the strategy was informed by industry insight and stakeholder needs, DfI undertook a structured Preliminary Market Engagement (PME) process between June 2022 and January 2023. This engagement involved consultation with internal stakeholders and the wider market to align procurement approaches with current capabilities and expectations. The feedback gathered during this PME directly shaped the final Procurement Strategy, which was published on 31 March 2023. Responses to stakeholder input are detailed in Appendix A of the strategy document. Further details on the Procurement Strategy, the PME process and outcome, are available in the published documentation which can be found here: www.infrastructure-ni.gov.uk/publications/department-infrastructure-roads-works-and-maintenance-procurement-enhancement-programme Although the Framework is expected to be awarded in March 2026, works under the MTC call-off contracts are not anticipated to commence until the 2027 Surface Dressing season, expected to start in May 2027. It is currently anticipated that the Surface Dressing Framework tender competition will be published via eTendersNI in October 2025.
  4. Submission deadline
    13 Jan 2026, 15:00 GMT
  5. Award pending
    1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · £15,000,000
  6. Award pending
    1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · £15,000,000
  7. Award pending
    1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · £11,250,000
  8. Award pending
    1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · £10,000,000
  9. Award pending
    1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · £5,000,000
  10. Award pending
    1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · £22,500,000
  11. Award pending
    1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · £21,250,000
  12. Award pending
    2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · £22,500,000
  13. Award pending
    2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · £21,250,000
  14. Award pending
    2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · £15,000,000
  15. Award pending
    2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · £15,000,000
  16. Award pending
    2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · £11,250,000
  17. Award pending
    2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · £10,000,000
  18. Award pending
    2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · £5,000,000
Commercial outcome and competition
Awards
FP MCCANN LIMITED, I.C.B. EMULSIONS LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED, Patrick Keenan Quarries
£15,000,000 · 1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 3
FP MCCANN LIMITED, I.C.B. EMULSIONS LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED, Patrick Keenan Quarries
£15,000,000 · 1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 4
FP MCCANN LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED, Patrick Keenan Quarries
£11,250,000 · 1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 5
FP MCCANN LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED
£10,000,000 · 1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 6
FP MCCANN LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED
£5,000,000 · 1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 7
FP MCCANN LIMITED, I.C.B. EMULSIONS LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED, Patrick Keenan Quarries
£22,500,000 · 1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 1
FP MCCANN LIMITED, I.C.B. EMULSIONS LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED, Patrick Keenan Quarries
£21,250,000 · 1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 2
FP MCCANN LIMITED, I.C.B. EMULSIONS LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED, Patrick Keenan Quarries
£22,500,000 · 2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 1
FP MCCANN LIMITED, I.C.B. EMULSIONS LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED, Patrick Keenan Quarries
£21,250,000 · 2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 2
FP MCCANN LIMITED, I.C.B. EMULSIONS LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED, Patrick Keenan Quarries
£15,000,000 · 2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 3
FP MCCANN LIMITED, I.C.B. EMULSIONS LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED, Patrick Keenan Quarries
£15,000,000 · 2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 4
FP MCCANN LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED, Patrick Keenan Quarries
£11,250,000 · 2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 5
FP MCCANN LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED, Patrick Keenan Quarries
£10,000,000 · 2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 6
FP MCCANN LIMITED, JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED, KIELY BROS. LIMITED, Patrick Keenan Quarries
£5,000,000 · 2 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 7
ContractsNo contract published
Bid statistics
bids: 5 (lot 1)
finalStageBids: 5 (lot 1)
smeFinalStageBids: 3 (lot 1)
vcseFinalStageBids: 0 (lot 1)
bids: 5 (lot 2)
finalStageBids: 5 (lot 2)
smeFinalStageBids: 3 (lot 2)
vcseFinalStageBids: 0 (lot 2)
bids: 5 (lot 3)
finalStageBids: 5 (lot 3)
smeFinalStageBids: 3 (lot 3)
vcseFinalStageBids: 0 (lot 3)
bids: 5 (lot 4)
finalStageBids: 5 (lot 4)
smeFinalStageBids: 3 (lot 4)
vcseFinalStageBids: 0 (lot 4)
bids: 4 (lot 5)
finalStageBids: 4 (lot 5)
smeFinalStageBids: 2 (lot 5)
vcseFinalStageBids: 0 (lot 5)
bids: 3 (lot 6)
finalStageBids: 3 (lot 6)
smeFinalStageBids: 1 (lot 6)
vcseFinalStageBids: 0 (lot 6)
bids: 3 (lot 7)
finalStageBids: 3 (lot 7)
smeFinalStageBids: 1 (lot 7)
vcseFinalStageBids: 0 (lot 7)
Buyer and organisations in this procedure

DfI Transport and Road Asset Management (TRAM)

Contracting authority GB-PPON-PYQH-8789-DZPG
View buyer profile
  • DfI Transport and Road Asset Management (TRAM)
    buyer

    GB-PPON: PYQH-8789-DZPG
    James House, 2-4 Cromac Avenue, The Gasworks Business Park, Belfast, UKN06, BT7 2JA, GB
  • FP MCCANN LIMITED
    supplier
    tenderer

    GB-COH: NI013563 · GB-PPON: PXDW-3139-CNJW
    Knockloughrim Quarry,, Magherafelt,, UKN0B, BT45 8QA, GB
  • I.C.B. EMULSIONS LIMITED
    supplier
    tenderer

    GB-COH: NI025931 · GB-PPON: PJCV-7581-ZQRG
    76,Ballyhannon Road, Craigavon, UKN07, BT63 5SE, GB
  • JOHN MCQUILLAN (CONTRACTS) LIMITED
    supplier
    tenderer

    GB-COH: NI003255 · GB-PPON: PDRP-3662-GGZY
    11 Ballinderry Road, Lisburn, UKN0E, BT28 2SA, GB
  • KIELY BROS. LIMITED
    supplier
    tenderer

    GB-COH: 03487871 · GB-PPON: PLTP-7638-LVWL
    135 Cherrywood Road, Birmingham, UKG31, B9 4XE, GB
  • Patrick Keenan Quarries
    supplier
    tenderer

    GB-PPON: PJHW-6851-WCNG
    Rocktown Quarry, 35 Rocktown Road, Lemnaroy, Rocktown, Magherafelt, UKN0B, BT45 8QE, GB
Award and contract changes
Documents (19)
Official links; attachments are not copied
Related procedures (0)
No data
No related procedures published
Planning and rationale
Planning budgetNot published
No-engagement rationaleNot published
Procedure rationaleNot published