TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
complete
Official procurement procedure

Supply of Digital Publications and Services

Library books
Library management services
Newspapers
+6 more
Published value
Not published
Submission deadline Not published
Lots published5
Procurement Intelligence
Published evidence · v1
Suitable for SMEs
Prepared 7 Sept 2026, 22:07 BST
A pre-calculated analytical view of official UK procurement facts, competition benchmarks and decision timelines.
Bid readiness
Review notice
Submission deadline not published
Check official notice for submission route
Scope structure
5lots
5 lots · 5 published items
2 published CPV families
Decision Velocity
~52 days
Typical sector award window after deadline
Sector median: 52 days
Contract lifecycle
Not published
No future linked contract end in retained records
No published extension signal
Pricing & Budget Savings
£4,000,000
Contract/award value: £4,000,000
6 award suppliers linked
Bidding Competition
5 bids
4 SME bids · 5 electronic
No bid spread metrics published
Sector Market Benchmark (CPV 22)
Based on 14 published procedures
Median Winning Discount
22.5%
Award reduction below published budget
Typical Bids Received
4 bidders
Median competitive participation in sector
Typical Evaluation Window
52 days
Median time between deadline and award
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 22)
Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
SupplierAwards won in sectorTotal awarded valueAvg. winning discount
13 contracts£9,240At ceiling / not disclosed
5 contracts£2,545At ceiling / not disclosed
4 contracts£690,567,924At ceiling / not disclosed
4 contracts£437,637,921At ceiling / not disclosed
4 contracts£7,580At ceiling / not disclosed
4 contracts£3,984At ceiling / not disclosed
3 contracts£5,200,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
3 contracts£5,200,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
3 contracts£154,500,000At ceiling / not disclosed
3 contracts£152,094,823At ceiling / not disclosed
Evidence coverage
8/12 core inputs published
Framework procedure
Comparable published opportunities
Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They are research comparables, not expected competitors or a price forecast.
Published procedurePublished valueMatching evidence
SPS-02357 Temporary Maintenance StaffScottish Prison Service · 24 Aug 2026, 15:41 BST
Value not published
same CPV family
same region
Provision of Aviation DataVisitScotland · 31 Aug 2026, 10:21 BST
£180,000
same CPV family
same region
DCEA Scotland Migration ServiceScottish Government · 1 Sept 2026, 08:55 BST
£5,000,000
same CPV family
same region
Asset Sustainability, Improvement and Decarbonisation FrameworkEASTERN PROCUREMENT LIMITED · 1 Sept 2026, 11:12 BST
£450,000,000
same CPV family
same region
Pan TfL Signage and Display FrameworkTransport for London · 23 Feb 2026, 10:01 GMT
£23,200,000
same CPV family
matching published text
Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Values and dates are retained OCDS facts; missing source data remains unknown.
Procurement Executive Summary
AI & Search Synopsis
Generated from official OCDS record
Tenderline Synopsis: Scotland Excel: "Supply of Digital Publications and Services". Published status: complete. Published value: Value not published. 5 published lots. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Contracting AuthorityScotland ExcelScope & CategoriesNot publishedSubmission Window
complete
No deadline published
Submission GatewayDirect notice routeLegal Basis & RegimeStandard procurementEstimated Value (exc. VAT)Not published
Bidder Intelligence · Authority Profile: Scotland Excel
Market Analytics
View Authority Profile →
Derived from OCDS awards & bid statistics
Published history for Scotland Excel. These figures describe retained records, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Published-to-award variance
Not availableInsufficient comparable data
Requires at least 5 comparable procedures
Competition Density
10Bids / Report (median)
2% of reports have one bid · Mean: 12.7 bids
Supplier ConcentrationLow Concentration
EBSCO INTERNATIONAL INCTop vendor: 4.6% of attributable value
Payment Terms
Check noticePublished terms
Payment obligations depend on the applicable regime and contract. Consult the official documents.
Coverage: 344 active published awards; 343 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 22):
Supplier NameHistoric AwardsAttributable ValueAvg. Price Discount
EBSCO INTERNATIONAL INC17 wins£62,760,000
Browns Books16 wins£62,160,000
scotia and chameleon books ltd16 wins£50,960,000
Findel Education Ltd14 wins£153,280,000
Blackwell13 wins£10,920,000
Procedure terms
Contracting AuthorityScotland Excel
Procedure methodNot published
Procurement categoryNot published
Statuscomplete
Framework / DPSFramework
CompetitionNot published
Above thresholdNot published
Legal basisNot published
Tender period startsNot published
Clarification deadlineNot published
Electronic submissionNot published
Submission languagesNot published
Published10 Nov 2022, 13:33 GMT
Last source update10 Nov 2022, 13:33 GMT
Recurring procurementNot published
ClassificationLibrary books, Library management services, Newspapers, Newspapers, journals, periodicals and magazines, Publishing services, School books, Textbooks
Delivery area
OCIDocds-h6vhtk-02c91f
What is being bought
A renewal framework for the Supply of Digital Publications and Services. The scope of products covered under the framework will include but not be limited to, ebooks, eaudiobooks, emagazines, ecomics and enewspapers for provision into Public Library establishments throughout Scotland.
What changed
From the official release history
  1. tender value changed
    10 Nov 2022, 13:33 GMT
  2. Status changed to complete
    10 Nov 2022, 13:33 GMT
  3. Official notice release published
    10 Nov 2022, 13:33 GMT
  4. Submission deadline changed to published date
    10 Nov 2022, 13:33 GMT
  5. Status changed to active
    1 Mar 2022, 13:43 GMT
  6. Official notice release published
    1 Mar 2022, 13:43 GMT
  7. Submission deadline changed to 29 Mar 2022, 12:00 BST
    1 Mar 2022, 13:43 GMT
  8. Published value updated to £4,000,000
    16 Jul 2021, 15:45 BST
  9. Status changed to planned
    16 Jul 2021, 15:45 BST
  10. Official notice release published
    16 Jul 2021, 15:45 BST
  11. Buyer information updated
    16 Jul 2021, 15:45 BST
Lots and requirements (5)
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    E-Books
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The products under this lot will include, but not be limited to, supply of E-Books. For further information regarding the evaluation of this lot, please refer to the “1021 Evaluation Methodology including IIT” document, available within the relevant ITT on PCS Tender. Additional information: Economic operators may be excluded from this competition (or any competition in relation to any lot) if they are in any of the situations referred to in Regulation 58 of the Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015.
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
  • Lot 2 · #2
    E-Audiobooks
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The products under this lot will include, but not be limited to, supply of E-Audiobooks. For further information regarding the evaluation of this lot, please refer to the “1021 Evaluation Methodology including IIT” document, available within the relevant ITT on PCS-Tender. Additional information: Economic operators may be excluded from this competition (or any competition in relation to any lot) if they are in any of the situations referred to in Regulation 58 of the Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015.
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
  • Lot 3 · #3
    E-Magazines
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The products under this lot will include, but not be limited to, supply of E-Magazines. For further information regarding the evaluation of this lot, please refer to the “1021 Evaluation Methodology including IIT” document, available within the relevant ITT on PCS-Tender. Additional information: Economic operators may be excluded from this competition (or any competition in relation to any lot) if they are in any of the situations referred to in Regulation 58 of the Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015.
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
  • Lot 4 · #4
    E-Comics
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The products under this lot will include, but not be limited to, supply of E-Comics. For further information regarding the evaluation of this lot, please refer to the “1021 Evaluation Methodology including IIT” document, available within the relevant ITT on PCS-Tender. Additional information: Economic operators may be excluded from this competition (or any competition in relation to any lot) if they are in any of the situations referred to in Regulation 58 of the Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015.
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
  • Lot 5 · #5
    E-Newspapers
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The products under this lot will include, but not be limited to, supply of E-Newspapers. For further information regarding the evaluation of this lot, please refer to the “1021 Evaluation Methodology including IIT” document, available within the relevant ITT on PCS-Tender. Additional information: Economic operators may be excluded from this competition (or any competition in relation to any lot) if they are in any of the situations referred to in Regulation 58 of the Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015.
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
Timeline
  1. Procedure published
    10 Nov 2022, 13:33 GMT
  2. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  3. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  4. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  5. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  6. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  7. Contract active
    Signed 28 Jul 2022, 00:00 BST · £1,400,000
  8. Contract active
    Signed 28 Jul 2022, 00:00 BST · £600,000
  9. Contract active
    Signed 28 Jul 2022, 00:00 BST · £160,000
  10. Contract active
    Signed 28 Jul 2022, 00:00 BST · £80,000
  11. Contract active
    Signed 28 Jul 2022, 00:00 BST · £1,760,000
Commercial outcome and competition
Awards
Bibliotheca Limited, Bolinda UK Ltd, OverDrive, Inc., Ulverscroft Limited, Wheelers ePlatform Ltd
Not published · Not published · active
Bolinda UK Ltd, EBSCO INTERNATIONAL INC, OverDrive, Inc.
Not published · Not published · active
Bibliotheca Limited, Bolinda UK Ltd, OverDrive, Inc.
Not published · Not published · active
Bolinda UK Ltd, OverDrive, Inc.
Not published · Not published · active
Bibliotheca Limited, Bolinda UK Ltd, OverDrive, Inc., Ulverscroft Limited, Wheelers ePlatform Ltd
Not published · Not published · active
Contracts
E-Audiobooks
£1,400,000 · signed 28 Jul 2022, 00:00 BST · active
E-Magazines
£600,000 · signed 28 Jul 2022, 00:00 BST · active
E-Comics
£160,000 · signed 28 Jul 2022, 00:00 BST · active
E-Newspapers
£80,000 · signed 28 Jul 2022, 00:00 BST · active
E-Books
£1,760,000 · signed 28 Jul 2022, 00:00 BST · active
Bid statistics
bids: 5 (lot 1)
electronicBids: 5 (lot 1)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 1)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 5 (lot 1)
smeBids: 4 (lot 1)
bids: 5 (lot 2)
electronicBids: 5 (lot 2)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 2)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 5 (lot 2)
smeBids: 4 (lot 2)
bids: 3 (lot 3)
electronicBids: 3 (lot 3)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 3)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 3 (lot 3)
smeBids: 1 (lot 3)
bids: 3 (lot 4)
electronicBids: 3 (lot 4)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 4)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 3 (lot 4)
smeBids: 2 (lot 4)
bids: 2 (lot 5)
electronicBids: 2 (lot 5)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 5)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 2 (lot 5)
smeBids: 1 (lot 5)
Buyer and organisations in this procedure

Scotland Excel

Contracting authority GB-FTS-186
View buyer profile
  • Scotland Excel
    buyer
    centralPurchasingBody

    Renfrewshire House, Cotton Street, Paisley, UKM, PA1 1AR
  • Bibliotheca Limited
    supplier

    Landmark House , Station Road, Cheadle Hulme, UKD3, SK8 7BS
  • Bolinda UK Ltd
    supplier

    The Pavilion, Nebwury Business Park, London Road, Newbury, UK, RG14 2PZ
  • Court of Session
    reviewBody

    Edinburgh, EH1 1RQ
    +44 314443300
  • EBSCO INTERNATIONAL INC
    supplier

    6th Floor, Civic Centre, Silver Street, Enfield, London, UKI, EN1 3XA
  • OverDrive, Inc.
    supplier

    One OverDrive Way, Cleveland, UKZ, 44125
  • Ulverscroft Limited
    supplier

    The Green, Bradgate Road, Anstey, Leicester, UKF21, LE7 7FU
  • Wheelers ePlatform Ltd
    supplier

    Office 42, Building 8, Vantage Point Business Village, Mitcheldean, UK, GL17 0DD
Documents (0)
Official links; attachments are not copied
No data
No linked documents are published
Related procedures (0)
No data
No related procedures published