Find a TenderRequests to participate open Tender notice
Published 5 Nov 2026, 10:13 GMT

Official UK procurement notice

UK4 - Tender Notice - Improvements to the Lived Experience of Ethnic Minority Staff in Defence and Deliver on the Race Action Plan

Authority: Ministry of Defence (Central government)

Two-stageServicesCompetitive flexible procedureAbove threshold
Budget not disclosedValue not published
Submission deadline 7 Dec 202623:59 GMT · 32 days left
Contract term 1 yrends 31 Mar 2028 · starts 31 Mar 2027

What is being bought

Published requirement description
  1. The requirement is for a suitably experienced Service Provider to support delivery of the Civil Service Race Action Plan and improve the lived experience, representation, progression and retention of ethnic minority personnel across Defence. The requirement comprises three main elements: an evidence-based diagnostic review and prioritised intervention plan; the development and delivery of four agreed interventions per contract year; and the design and delivery of six bespoke virtual workshops per year for senior Defence leaders. The Service Provider will be expected to draw on workforce data, lived-experience insights and leading practice, while recognising Defence’s mixed civilian and military workforce and organisational complexity.
  • How the procedure runs: Following the project specific questionaire, the Authority reserves the right to invite the top 6 scoring suppliers to tender.
  • No preliminary market engagement: This requirement is particularly specialist in nature, the project and commercial team have taken the view that any pre-engagement would not add any value to the procurement.

CPV: Business analysis consultancy services · Business development consultancy services · Development consultancy services · Equal opportunities consultancy services · Human resources management consultancy services · Research consultancy services

The lotProcurement structure

single lot · value published
Lot #1 1 yrPublished value£0
Contract period: 31 Mar 2027 – 31 Mar 2028 (1 yr)
Second stage: 1–null candidates invited to tender
Pre-qualification & selection criteria (PQQ)1
  • Condition of participation

    The Authority reserves the right to limit the number of suppliers invited to tender to 6.

    shortlisting

Who is likely to bid for this lot ↓

What it takes to win
i

How this buyer will score bids.

The evaluation criteria and weights exactly as published on the notice, grouped by family (price, quality, social value and so on).

Evaluation split and conditions of participation as published; the tender pack may add more
How bids are scored
  • Most Advantageous Tender - Weighted Value for Money: 60/40, Technical/Price
Conditions of participation1
  • Condition of participation

    The Authority reserves the right to limit the number of suppliers invited to tender to 6.

    shortlisting

Competition analysis · published record, not a forecast of who will bid

How Ministry of Defence buys Business and management consultancy services (CPV 7941), and who usually turns up

Ministry of Defence’s published record next to the market for the same work. Frameworks and DPS are left out: they draw different bid counts. Whole-market view: Business and management consultancy services (CPV 7941) →

1

How the contest usually goes

Winner shares use published awards; bid and price charts use contested lots.

Question for the bid
This buyerMinistry of Defence · all categories
What to do with it
How often do SMEs win?
i

How often small and medium firms win.

Share of awards where the winner’s size is known.

The counts under this question show how many awards have a known supplier size.

Last 36 months.

Buyer: 258 of 713 known-size awards · market: CPV 7941 · Scotland (authority’s region), n=19
36%74%

Small firms have won here. Neither number says whether you qualify; it describes who has been winning.

How often do local suppliers win?
i

How often local firms win similar work.

Winners with a registered address in the delivery region, out of awards with a known address.

Local means the winner is registered in the region where that award was delivered. The market figure counts awards delivered in Scotland (authority’s region).

A local branch does not count if the registered address is elsewhere.

Last 36 months.

Buyer: 64 of 132 known-location awards · market: CPV 7941 · Scotland (authority’s region), n=13
48%69%

Most of this buyer’s recorded winners were registered outside the region where that award was delivered.

How long to a decision?
i

How long buyers here take to decide after bids close.

Middle value in days from the bid deadline to the award date, on competitions that published both.

Only decided tenders count, so slow ones still waiting are not in.

Last 36 months.

Buyer: 85 decided notices · market: CPV 7941 · UK-wide, n=159
43 days33 days

Half of these awards have an award date within 43 days of the bid deadline.

How often single-bid or direct?
i

How often work is awarded with no recorded rival.

Direct awards and tenders where every published lot count shows one bid.

The buyer’s share is a minimum: some awards have no bid count.

Thin markets produce this too; it is not proof of a tailored specification.

Last 36 months.

Buyer: at least 543 of 958 procurements with awards had no recorded rival · market: CPV 7941 · Scotland (authority’s region), n=23
57%39%

Direct awards or one recorded bid are common here. Check the route before spending time on a bid.

How many bids did past lots attract?

i

How many bids past lots received.

Each colour is a bid-count range. Only competed lots with a published count are included.

Past bids do not predict this tender.

Last 36 months.

This buyer270 lots with bid counts · all categories
47% had one bid
The market21 lots with bid counts · CPV 7941 · Scotland (authority’s region)
19% had one bid
Buyer / market · select a colour for counts
1 bid47% / 19%
Buyer: 126 of 270 lots with published bid counts. Market: 4 of 21 lots with published bid counts.
2–331% / 14%
Buyer: 85 of 270 lots with published bid counts. Market: 3 of 21 lots with published bid counts.
4–617% / 19%
Buyer: 47 of 270 lots with published bid counts. Market: 4 of 21 lots with published bid counts.
7+4% / 48%
Buyer: 12 of 270 lots with published bid counts. Market: 10 of 21 lots with published bid counts.

How did awards compare with estimates?

i

Where winning prices landed against estimates.

Each colour shows awards below, close to or above the published estimate, one lot at a time.

Past prices are a guide, not a bid price.

Last 36 months.

This buyer92 lots with estimate and award · all categories
60% below estimate
The market11 lots with estimate and award · CPV 7941 · Scotland (authority’s region)
45% below estimate
Buyer / market · select a colour for counts
Below estimate60% / 45%
Buyer: 55 of 92 lots with an estimate and award. Market: 5 of 11 lots with an estimate and award.
Within ±2%21% / 55%
Buyer: 19 of 92 lots with an estimate and award. Market: 6 of 11 lots with an estimate and award.
Above estimate20% / 0%
Buyer: 18 of 92 lots with an estimate and award. Market: 0 of 11 lots with an estimate and award.
2

Assess each lot
i

What past awards tell you about each lot.

See the forecast, this buyer’s earlier suppliers and firms with relevant wins.

No supplier is confirmed as a bidder.

Open a lot for its forecast, this buyer’s previous supplier and possible competitors, from published award history, not a bid list

Lot #1CPV 794112 monthsNo real estimate
Expected competition
i

How many bids this lot may attract.

The forecast uses similar past competitions. The bar shows either that forecast or past bid counts; the line below says which.

Each lot shows its own forecast based on its own category; forecasts for different lots of the same notice are not comparative. The bar shows 21 past lots.

A forecast, not a list of bidders.

—No model forecast yet19% chance of a single bid
Past bids on 21 similar lots
1 bid19%
4 of 21 similar past lots received 1 bid (19%).
2–314%
3 of 21 similar past lots received 2–3 (14%).
4–619%
4 of 21 similar past lots received 4–6 (19%).
7+48%
10 of 21 similar past lots received 7+ (48%).
Comparable past lots usually drew 6 bids.
Commercial price forecast
i

Where the award price may land.

The forecast uses similar awards and the buyer’s estimate. The band covers the middle half of likely prices.

No comparable awards for this lot yet.

A statistical guide from past awards, not a price to bid.

—No real estimate
The buyer published £0 as the estimate (a placeholder, not the contract’s value), so there is nothing to forecast against.

Who has supplied this buyer on similar work?
i

Who has done similar work for this buyer.

Past contracts are matched by buyer, title and type of work.

A past supplier may not bid again.

No earlier contract of this buyer matches this lot on the published record.

Who could compete for this lot?
i

Who could compete for this lot?

Firms with relevant past wins. On a framework, we show firms on that agreement.

None is confirmed as a bidder.

Restricted route (Stage 2 ITT / Shortlist): Bidding is restricted to invited candidates who qualified at Stage 1. Uninvited suppliers cannot participate in this round.

Candidate suppliers for this notice have not been worked out yet, so this is not a verdict that nobody fits.

About this data
  • Source. Official UK public procurement notices (Find a Tender), reused under the Open Government Licence v3.0. New notices arrive through the day; the figures are rebuilt nightly. Contracts Finder contracts appear on the Retender Radar, not yet in these figures.
  • Two views, kept apart. The authority’s own track record and the wider market for the same kind of work sit side by side and are never mixed. Where the local picture is too thin, a figure widens to a broader market and says which one it used.
  • Forecasts are labelled. The price forecast and its range, possible competitors and the earlier-work matches are our estimates from past awards: not published facts, not win chances and not price advice. Official notices do not say who is bidding.
  • Every figure shows what it rests on. Not every notice publishes a bid count, a value or a delivery region, so each figure carries the number of records behind it, and one built on few records is marked as such. The on a figure explains it; the counting rules are in the methodology. Spotted something wrong? Tell us.

Procedure terms & legal framework

From the official record
Procedure method
Competitive flexible procedure
Legal basis
UKPGA · 2023/54 Procurement Act 2023
Procurement category
Services
Notice status
Requests to participate open
Procurement threshold
Above threshold (FTS publication)
Regulatory regime
Standard
Commercial structure
Stand-alone contract (no framework)
Competition type
Competitive procedure
GPA / WTO covered
Unspecified in notice
Recurring procurement
Unspecified in notice
First published
5 Nov 2026, 10:13 GMT
Last source update
5 Nov 2026, 10:13 GMT
Award evaluation window
Submission end – 18 Mar 2027
FTS notice number
2026/S 000-105022
Latest notice
Tender notice (UK4)
Classification (CPV)
Business analysis consultancy servicesBusiness development consultancy servicesDevelopment consultancy servicesEqual opportunities consultancy servicesHuman resources management consultancy servicesResearch consultancy services
Delivery area
Not published
Official registry OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-07b39f Find a Tender
How it runs

Following the project specific questionaire, the Authority reserves the right to invite the top 6 scoring suppliers to tender.

How to participate & submission route

Official notice Submit via Defence Sourcing Portal
Submission portal named on this notice: Defence Sourcing Portal · Who buys & how to bid on MOD DSP
Supplier login requiredElectronic submission allowedLanguage: EN
Access & registration note: Free · registration requires an NCAGE code — obtain in advance · before you can bid: NCAGE
Requests to participate (first stage)
7 Dec 2026, 23:59 GMT
Tender submission deadline
7 Dec 2026, 23:59 GMT
Clarification deadline
—
Submission channel
Official e-sourcing portal
Electronic submission
Allowed
Accepted languages
en
Detailed submission instructions & authority contactsFrom official release

All tenderers must submit responses to the PSQ via the Defence Sourcing Portal - contracts.mod.uk/esop/guest/go/opport… ↗

We have not disclosed the indicative requirement budget at this time.

Timeline

5 Nov 2026 → 31 Mar 2027 · 4 dates
  1. Tender notice published6h ago
    5 Nov 2026, 10:13 GMT
  2. Today
    5 Nov 2026
  3. Submission deadlinein 32 days
    7 Dec 2026, 23:59 GMT
  4. Award decision expected byin 133 days
    18 Mar 2027, 23:59 GMT
  5. Contract startsin 145 days
    31 Mar 2027, 00:00 BST

Notice history

1 event · 1 release on Find a Tender
  1. Tender notice published
    5 Nov 2026, 10:13 GMT
    UK4

Commercial outcome & contract awards

Nothing awarded yet
Awards (0)
No award published
Contracts (0)
No contract published
Bid statistics
No aggregate bid statistics published

Contracting authority & participating public bodies

Ministry of Defence

Contracting authorityPublic authority - central government GB-PPON: PHVX-4316-ZVGZ Kentigern House, 65 Brown St, Glasgow, Scotland, G2 8EXContact email

Official documents & specifications (3)

Official links; attachments are not copied

Tender pack and attachments

  • Bidding documents and specificationstenderBidding documents and specificationsAccess: All documents will be provided through the Defence Sourcing Portal.
  • Bidding documents and specifications tenderBidding documents and specificationsoctet-streamDraft ITT

Notices published for this procedure

  • Tender notice tenderTender noticeUK4Tender notice on Find a Tender