Find a Tender
Open for tender
27d 21h left
#h6vhtk-06840b
Published 10 Sept 2026, 11:32 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure
PLACE1134H Surface Dressing and Ancillary Works
Local Council
works
SME eligible
Above threshold
Open procedure
Construction
foundation and surface works for highways
roads
Published value
£40,000,000
Submission deadline
9 Oct 2026, 11:00 BST
Clarification Cut-Off
25 Sept 2026, 11:00 BST
Contract duration
1 yr (with extension options)
Registration note: Free · short registration with manual review; public opportunity list
Instructions: https://procontract.due-north.com/RFx/RFxSummary?rfxId=68f9f1ce-f7ac-f111-813c-005056b64545&projectId=0fa45490-f4ac-f111-813c-005056b64545
What is being bought & procurement scope
Procurement Scope & Specification
Executive Summary: Derbyshire County Council: "PLACE1134H Surface Dressing and Ancillary Works". Published status: active. Published value: £40,000,000. 1 published lot. Recorded submission deadline: 9 Oct 2026, 11:00 BST. Published submission portal: procontract.due-north.com.
Official Requirement Description:
Derbyshire County Council is seeking to appoint a suitably qualified and experienced contractor to deliver a programme of highways surface dressing and ancillary works across the county's rural and urban road network.
The contract covers the provision of all labour, plant, materials, equipment, supervision and associated services necessary to undertake surface dressing works, including pre-treatment preparation, masking of ironwork, chipping supply and management, application of surface dressing and seal coats, lockchipping, sweeping operations and defect rectification. Works will be undertaken on a variety of highway classifications throughout Derbyshire and must be delivered in accordance with the Specification for Highway Works, NHSS 13 and the RSTA/ADEPT Code of Practice for Surface Dressing.
Lots and requirements (1)
Procurement Structure
- Lot 1 · #1Individual lot title not publishedactiveRenewalPublished value£40,000,000The source published no individual title or description for this lot.Contract period:1 Dec 2026 — 30 Nov 2027 (1 yr)Eligibility:SME eligibleOptions / extension:The initial contract term will be 1 year, with the option to extend for up to 3 further 12-month periods at the Council's discretion.Pre-Qualification & Selection Criteria (PQQ)
- Economic & FinancialFollow the instructions in the Invitation to Tender Documentation
- Technical CapacityFollow the instructions in the Invitation to Tender Documentation
Qualification snapshot & criteria
Go / No-Go Decision Box
Evaluation weighting
Technical: 20%
Price: 70%
Social Value: 10%
Incumbent & Market Position
Top Retained Vendor (Authority Spend)EUROVIA INFRASTRUCTURE LIMITEDHolds 24.1% of historical attributable spend
Low ConcentrationEntry requirements & qualification
Turnover Benchmark
Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
Accreditations & Security Vetting
Contract Duration & Term OptionsExpected duration: 1 yr (with extension options)
Published track record for Derbyshire County Council. These figures describe a rolling 24-month window, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Avg price drop
-2.6%Robust
Competition Density
11Bids / Report (median)
Supplier Concentration
Published spend
£16,586,429Historical spend
Typical award value
£79,000Robust (n=36)
Awarded spend by half-year
2024-H2
2025-H1
2025-H2
2026-H1
2026-H2
Methodology & coverage notes (51 active published awards)
Coverage: 51 active published awards; 9 bid reports (which may be per lot); 36 valued awards. Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Every figure carries an evidence level: Robust (5+ observations), Moderate (3–4), Indicative (1–2). Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 45):
Supplier Name | Historic Awards | Attributable Value | Avg. Price Discount |
|---|---|---|---|
| EUROVIA INFRASTRUCTURE LIMITED | 1 win | £4,000,000 | No published budget |
| Colas Ltd | 1 win | £3,600,000 | No published budget |
| C.T. CONSTRUCTION LIMITED | 2 wins | £2,260,129 | +28.9% above budget |
| ELITE SYSTEMS (GB) LIMITED | 1 win | £1,714,890 | No published budget |
| COATING SERVICES LIMITED | 2 wins | £1,311,403 | +20.4% above budget |
Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar
CPV 45 · UK Sector Analysis
Observed CPV-sector evidence
Suitable for SMEs
Prepared 10 Sept 2026, 17:44 BST
Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
Median Winning Discount
0.2%
Typical Bids Received
4reported bids
Decision Velocity
~51 days
Notice Stability
2 updates
Historical Incumbency: PETER BYARD PLANT HIRE LIMITED has won 22 previous contracts with this contracting authority in this sector.
Procurement history indicates repeat engagement with this buyer in this sector. All public competitions remain open to qualifying tenderers under UK procurement regulations.
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 45)
Supplier | Awards won | Total awarded value | Avg. winning discount |
|---|---|---|---|
Mears LimitedCRN: PYVN-7644-LZQQ | 70 contracts | £3,188,167,900 | -4.4% below budget |
Morgan Sindall Construction and Infrastructure LtdCRN: PPZX-2842-HHPG | 113 contracts | £2,239,846,409 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Milestone Infrastructure LimitedCRN: 13007933 | 10 contracts | £2,207,200,000 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Ringway Infrastructure Services LimitedCRN: 2756434 | 12 contracts | £1,882,180,000 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Wakefield Waste PFI LtdCRN: 08193325 | 1 contract | £1,770,760,000 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Wates Construction LimitedCRN: PHQT-5476-TZBR | 52 contracts | £1,746,245,228 | -0% below budget |
Wates Property Services LimitedCRN: PTTB-7947-QVWT | 89 contracts | £1,559,958,144 | -0% below budget |
UNITED LIVING (SOUTH) LIMITEDCRN: 817560 | 65 contracts | £1,518,620,000 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Axis Europe PlcCRN: PCNG-4217-XXCQ | 138 contracts | £1,397,717,888 | -5.6% below budget |
EQUANS Regeneration LimitedCRN: PDWQ-6852-QYVW | 145 contracts | £1,388,365,822 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
Published procedure | Published value | Matching evidence |
|---|---|---|
Vehicle Restraint Systems (VRS) Reactive and Maintenance WorksDerbyshire County Council · 8 Sept 2026, 14:30 BST | £20,000,000 | same CPV family same authority same region similar value band |
PRP303 (524286) Grassmoor Primary School - Construction of a modular SEN pod & associated external worksDerbyshire County Council · 9 Sept 2026, 14:20 BST | £130,000 | same CPV family same authority same region |
PLACE710H Breadsall - Natural Flood ManagementDerbyshire County Council · 9 Sept 2026, 15:34 BST | £85,000 | same CPV family same authority same region |
Minor Works, Repairs and Refurbishment FrameworkUnited Lincolnshire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust · 9 Sept 2026, 12:31 BST | £50,000,000 | same CPV family same region similar value band |
Frontage Improvements FrameworkHull City Council · 10 Sept 2026, 16:26 BST | £20,000,000 | same CPV family similar value band |
Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.SME Friendly Qualification Criteria
Procedure terms & legal framework
| Procedure method | Open procedure | Legal basis | UKPGA · 2023/54 Procurement Act 2023 | Procurement category | works |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Notice status | active | Procurement threshold | Above threshold (FTS publication) | Regulatory regime | Standard commercial regime |
| Commercial structure | Stand-alone contract (No framework) | Competition type | Competitive procedure | GPA WTO covered | Unspecified in notice |
| Recurring procurement | Yes · Anticipated re-tender | First published | 10 Sept 2026, 11:32 BST | Last source update | 10 Sept 2026, 11:32 BST |
| Award evaluation window | Submission end — 27 Oct 2026, 23:59 GMT | Estimated future notice | 17 Jul 2026, 23:59 BST | Classification (CPV) | Construction, foundation and surface works for highways, roads |
| Delivery area | |||||
| Official Registry OCID | ocds-h6vhtk-06840b | ||||
How to participate & submission route
Authorized E-Sourcing Portal
Supplier login required
Online submission allowed
Language: EN
Access & Registration note: Free · short registration with manual review; public opportunity list
| Expression of interest (EOI) | — | Tender submission deadline | 9 Oct 2026, 11:00 BST | Clarification deadline | 25 Sept 2026, 11:00 BST |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Submission channel | Official e-sourcing portal | Electronic submission | Allowed | Accepted languages | en |
| Participation fee | Free of charge (Open access) | ||||
Detailed Submission Instructions & Authority Contacts
Timeline
- Pipeline notice
15 Jun 2026, 13:04 BST - Pipeline notice
16 Apr 2026, 12:08 BST - Procedure published
10 Sept 2026, 11:32 BST - Clarification deadline
25 Sept 2026, 11:00 BST - Submission deadline
9 Oct 2026, 11:00 BST
Commercial outcome and contract awards
Awards (0)No award published |
Contracts (0)No contract published |
Bid statisticsNo aggregate bid statistics published |
Notice history
From official release and amendment events
- Status changed to active
10 Sept 2026, 11:32 BST - Official notice release published
10 Sept 2026, 11:32 BST - procurement method changed
10 Sept 2026, 11:32 BST - Submission deadline changed to 9 Oct 2026, 11:00 BST
10 Sept 2026, 11:32 BST - Official notice release published
15 Jun 2026, 13:04 BST - Official notice release published
16 Apr 2026, 12:08 BST
Buyer and organisations in this procedure
Derbyshire County Council
Contracting authority
Local Council
Official Documents & Specifications (6)
Official links; attachments are not copied
- 10 Sept 2026, 11:32 BST
- 15 Jun 2026, 13:04 BST
- 16 Apr 2026, 12:08 BST