TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
complete
Official procurement procedure

CHIMERA High Heat Flux System Laser Procurement

Electrical installation work of heating and other electrical building-equipment
Electricity
heating
+19 more
Published value
Not published
Submission deadline Not published
Lots published1
Procurement Intelligence
Published evidence · v1
Prepared 8 Sept 2026, 00:06 BST
A pre-calculated analytical view of official UK procurement facts, competition benchmarks and decision timelines.
Bid readiness
Review notice
Submission deadline not published
Check official notice for submission route
Scope structure
1lots
1 lot · 1 published item
9 published CPV families
Decision Velocity
~30 days
Typical sector award window after deadline
Sector median: 30 days
Contract lifecycle
Not published
No future linked contract end in retained records
No published extension signal
Pricing & Budget Savings
£2,500,000
Contract/award value: £2,500,000
1 award supplier linked
Bidding Competition
Not published
SME bid count not published
No bid spread metrics published
Sector Market Benchmark (CPV 09)
Based on 1,765 published procedures
Median Winning Discount
60.4%
Award reduction below published budget
Typical Bids Received
3 bidders
Median competitive participation in sector
Typical Evaluation Window
30 days
Median time between deadline and award
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 09)
Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
SupplierAwards won in sectorTotal awarded valueAvg. winning discount
SSE Energy Supply LimitedCRN: PCGX-2814-WLHL
33 contracts£3,512,895,971-29.9% below budget
23 contracts£1,828,578,352-22.1% below budget
21 contracts£66,543,635,000-25.2% below budget
21 contracts£17,690,000-22.2% below budget
20 contracts£52,500,000,000-30% below budget
19 contracts£6,668,411-39.8% below budget
Good Energy LtdCRN: PLNW-9135-RDNX
18 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
YÜ ENERGY RETAIL LIMITEDCRN: PTNX-6527-XQXY
17 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
Conrad Energy Group LimitedCRN: PZRR-8583-MLBT
17 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
SEFE ENERGY LIMITEDCRN: 03904624
16 contracts£139,596,917-44.4% below budget
Evidence coverage
6/12 core inputs published
Standard procedure facts
Comparable published opportunities
Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They are research comparables, not expected competitors or a price forecast.
Published procedurePublished valueMatching evidence
Replacement Boiler for Aylsham Town CouncilAylsham Town Council · 3 Sept 2026, 10:56 BST
£50,000
same CPV family
BU322026-Confocal Laser Scanning MicroscopePrifysgol Bangor / Bangor University · 7 Sept 2026, 12:02 BST
£437,000
same CPV family
£1,600,000
same CPV family
Home Group Housing Repairs and Maintenance Dynamic MarketHOME GROUP LIMITED · 3 Sept 2026, 11:57 BST
Value not published
same CPV family
Whole Energy Absorption Spectrometer (WEAS)UK Atomic Energy Authority · 3 Sept 2026, 16:32 BST
£0
same CPV family
Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Values and dates are retained OCDS facts; missing source data remains unknown.
Procurement Executive Summary
AI & Search Synopsis
Generated from official OCDS record
Tenderline Synopsis: United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority: "CHIMERA High Heat Flux System Laser Procurement". Published status: complete. Published value: Value not published. 1 published lot. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Contracting AuthorityUnited Kingdom Atomic Energy AuthorityScope & CategoriesNot publishedSubmission Window
complete
No deadline published
Submission GatewayDirect notice routeLegal Basis & RegimeStandard procurementEstimated Value (exc. VAT)Not published
Bidder Intelligence · Authority Profile: United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority
Market Analytics
View Authority Profile →
Derived from OCDS awards & bid statistics
Published history for United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority. These figures describe retained records, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Published-to-award variance
Not availableInsufficient comparable data
Requires at least 5 comparable procedures
Competition Density
8Bids / Report (median)
17.7% of reports have one bid · Mean: 12.5 bids
Supplier ConcentrationHigh Concentration
EDF EnergyTop vendor: 59.3% of attributable value
Payment Terms
Check noticePublished terms
Payment obligations depend on the applicable regime and contract. Consult the official documents.
Coverage: 182 active published awards; 175 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 09):
Supplier NameHistoric AwardsAttributable ValueAvg. Price Discount
EDF Energy1 win£4,000,000
IPG Laser GmbH1 win£2,500,000
Hydrasun Limited1 win£244,633
Procedure terms
Procedure methodNot published
Procurement categoryNot published
Statuscomplete
Framework / DPSNot published
CompetitionNot published
Above thresholdNot published
Legal basisNot published
Tender period startsNot published
Clarification deadlineNot published
Electronic submissionNot published
Submission languagesNot published
Published12 Nov 2021, 14:10 GMT
Last source update12 Nov 2021, 14:10 GMT
Recurring procurementNot published
ClassificationElectrical installation work of heating and other electrical building-equipment, Electricity, heating, solar and nuclear energy, Engineering-related scientific and technical services, Fibre-optic apparatus, Heating equipment, Industrial lasers, Installation services (except software), Installation services of electrical equipment, Installation services of laboratory equipment, Installation services of testing equipment, Laboratory services, Laser diodes, Lasers, Long-distance heating, Optical instruments, Radiation protection services, Research and development consultancy services, Research and development services and related consultancy services, Scientific installations, Technical services
Delivery area
OCIDocds-h6vhtk-02eaf2
What is being bought
UKAEA requires a 125kW fibre laser system for integration into the CHIMERA test facility. This is to provide the capability for testing prototype fusion reactor components under “high heat flux”, in the region of 10s of MW/m2, or even “very high heat flux”, in the region of 100s of MW/m2. We require the ability to apply high heat flux for long periods or for short well-defined pulses. This functionality enables tests of prototype fusion reactor wall components and the ability to simulate certain fusion plasma extreme transient events, which are thought to be a high risk for the fusion programme including the now under-construction ITER experiment.
What changed
From the official release history
  1. Status changed to complete
    12 Nov 2021, 14:10 GMT
  2. Official notice release published
    12 Nov 2021, 14:10 GMT
  3. Status changed to planned
    12 Oct 2021, 14:08 BST
  4. Official notice release published
    12 Oct 2021, 14:08 BST
  5. Buyer information updated
    12 Oct 2021, 14:08 BST
Lots and requirements (1)
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Individual lot title not published
    Status not published
    Published valueNot published
    UKAEA requires a 125kW fibre laser system for integration into the CHIMERA test facility. This is to provide the capability for testing prototype fusion reactor components under “high heat flux”, in the region of 10s of MW/m2, or even “very high heat flux”, in the region of 100s of MW/m2. We require the ability to apply high heat flux for long periods or for short well-defined pulses. This functionality enables tests of prototype fusion reactor wall components and the ability to simulate certain fusion plasma extreme transient events, which are thought to be a high risk for the fusion programme including the now under-construction ITER experiment.
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
Timeline
  1. Procedure published
    12 Nov 2021, 14:10 GMT
  2. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  3. Contract active
    Signed 12 Nov 2021, 00:00 GMT · €2,500,000
Commercial outcome and competition
Awards
IPG Laser GmbH
Not published · Not published · active
Contracts
CHIMERA High Heat Flux System Laser
€2,500,000 · signed 12 Nov 2021, 00:00 GMT · active
Bid statisticsNo aggregate bid statistics published
Buyer and organisations in this procedure

United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority

Contracting authority GB-FTS-1212
View buyer profile
  • United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority
    buyer

    N/A
    Culham Science Centre, Abingdon, UKJ14, OX14 3DB
    +44 1235466213
  • IPG Laser GmbH
    supplier

    Carl-Benz-Strasse 28, , Burbach, DE7, 57299
  • UK Atomic Energy Authority
    mediationBody
    reviewBody
    reviewContactPoint

    Culham Science Centre, Abingdon, OX14 3DB
Documents (0)
Official links; attachments are not copied
No data
No linked documents are published
Related procedures (0)
No data
No related procedures published
Planning and rationale
Planning budgetNot published
No-engagement rationaleNot published
Procedure rationaleUKAEA issued a PIN (as referenced in this notice) for the requirement and received only one response from IPG. No other economic operator expressed interest in the PIN and UKAEA has concluded that the very specialist technical requirements may only be met by IPG. We therefor have elected to use the negotiated procedure without prior publication on the basis of 32(2)b(ii).