TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
planned
Official procurement procedure

Automating Income Tax Self Assessment Innovation Proof of Concept

services
Competitive flexible procedure
Financial analysis and accounting software package
IT services: consulting
software development
+1 more
UK
Published value
£291,667
Submission deadline 1 Oct 2026, 23:59 BST
Lots published1
Procurement Intelligence
Published evidence · v1
Suitable for SMEs
Prepared 8 Sept 2026, 08:49 BST
A pre-calculated analytical view of official UK procurement facts, competition benchmarks and decision timelines.
Bid readiness
Review notice
Deadline: 1 Oct 2026, 23:59 BST
Check official notice for submission route
Scope structure
1lots
1 lot · 1 published item
2 published CPV families
Decision Velocity
~52 days
Typical sector award window after deadline
Sector median: 52 days
Contract lifecycle
Not published
No future linked contract end in retained records
No published extension signal
Sector Market Benchmark (CPV 48)
Based on 6,540 published procedures
Median Winning Discount
25.18%
Award reduction below published budget
Typical Bids Received
1 bidders
Median competitive participation in sector
Typical Evaluation Window
52 days
Median time between deadline and award
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 48)
Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
SupplierAwards won in sectorTotal awarded valueAvg. winning discount
Softcat PlcCRN: 02174990
108 contracts£555,145,411,216At ceiling / not disclosed
86 contracts£252,552,195,143At ceiling / not disclosed
Civica UK LimitedCRN: 01628868
58 contracts£68,645,791,583At ceiling / not disclosed
40 contracts£480,014,166,411At ceiling / not disclosed
Access UK LimitedCRN: 02343760
31 contracts£768,803,228-41.4% below budget
28 contracts£37,469,374,835At ceiling / not disclosed
Idox Software LtdCRN: 02933889
28 contracts£7,959,981At ceiling / not disclosed
27 contracts£2,217,810,478At ceiling / not disclosed
CDW LtdCRN: 02465350
24 contracts£528,192,665,731-42.9% below budget
Academia LimitedCRN: 04771037
24 contracts£9,420,117At ceiling / not disclosed
Evidence coverage
9/12 core inputs published
Standard procedure facts
Comparable published opportunities
Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They are research comparables, not expected competitors or a price forecast.
Published procedurePublished valueMatching evidence
National Insurance & PAYE Service Support and ChangeHM Revenue & Customs · 4 Sept 2026, 19:32 BST
£470,100,000
same CPV family
same authority
same region
Provision for a Tobacco Track and Trace SystemHM Revenue & Customs · 27 Aug 2026, 09:19 BST
£5,500,000
same CPV family
same authority
same region
AI and Automation Implementation PartnerLONDON LGPS CIV LIMITED · 27 Aug 2026, 13:49 BST
£525,000
same CPV family
same region
similar value band
Fleet Management SystemAvon Fire Authority · 1 Sept 2026, 15:34 BST
£200,000
same CPV family
same region
similar value band
Provision of Online Exams RenewalCOLLEGE OF POLICING LIMITED · 3 Sept 2026, 14:56 BST
£450,000
same CPV family
same region
similar value band
Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Values and dates are retained OCDS facts; missing source data remains unknown.
Procurement Executive Summary
AI & Search Synopsis
Generated from official OCDS record
Tenderline Synopsis: HM Revenue & Customs: "Automating Income Tax Self Assessment Innovation Proof of Concept". Published status: planned. Published value: £291,667. 1 published lot. Recorded submission deadline: 1 Oct 2026, 23:59 BST. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Contracting AuthorityHM Revenue & CustomsScope & CategoriesSERVICES (1 lot)Submission Window
23d 9h left
1 Oct 2026, 23:59 BST
Submission GatewayDirect notice routeLegal Basis & Regime2023/54 · Competitive flexible procedure · Above thresholdEstimated Value (exc. VAT)£291,667
Bidder Intelligence · Authority Profile: HM Revenue & Customs
Market Analytics
View Authority Profile →
Derived from OCDS awards & bid statistics
Published history for HM Revenue & Customs. These figures describe retained records, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Published-to-award variance
Not availableInsufficient comparable data
Requires at least 5 comparable procedures
Competition Density
13Bids / Report (median)
0% of reports have one bid
Supplier ConcentrationHigh Concentration
CAPGEMINI UK PLCTop vendor: 100% of attributable value
Payment Terms
Check noticePublished terms
Payment obligations depend on the applicable regime and contract. Consult the official documents.
Coverage: 2 active published awards; 1 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 48):
Supplier NameHistoric AwardsAttributable ValueAvg. Price Discount
CAPGEMINI UK PLC1 win£500,000,000
Procedure terms
Contracting AuthorityHM Revenue & Customs
Procedure methodCompetitive flexible procedure
Procurement categoryservices
Statusplanned
Framework / DPSNot published
CompetitionNot published
Above thresholdYes
Legal basisUKPGA · 2023/54
Tender period startsNot published
Clarification deadlineNot published
Electronic submissionallowed
Submission languagesen
Published21 Aug 2026, 16:34 BST
Last source update21 Aug 2026, 16:34 BST
Recurring procurementNot published
ClassificationFinancial analysis and accounting software package, IT services: consulting, software development, Internet and support
Delivery area
UK
OCIDocds-h6vhtk-06b96c
How to participate
Submission methodNot published
Electronic submissionallowed
Clarification deadlineNot published
Submission languagesen
Expression of interest deadlineNot published
E-Sourcing PortalNot published
Submission instructionsNot published
What is being bought
His Majesty's Revenue and Customs (HMRC) is the UK's tax, payments and customs authority, and we have a vital purpose: we collect the money that pays for the UK's public services, and help families and individuals with targeted financial support. HMRC's Transformation Roadmap sets a clear vision for the future tax and customs system, which envisages greater automation, increasing intermediation and integrating tax with the processes and systems taxpayers use in their everyday lives. To support this ambition, HMRC is seeking to explore, develop and test ideas with industry on how the payments, banking and fintech ecosystems could enable a simpler, more automated and customer‑focused tax system. This will be delivered through co‑created, innovation‑led PoCs to safely test emerging data and fintech capabilities, enable rapid learning, and generate evidence to support informed horizon scanning and decision making. We are inviting suppliers to participate in a pre-market engagement exercise, to gather insights into a potential automating Income Tax Self Assessment (ITSA) Innovation Proof of Concept (PoC). If pursued, this PoC will seek to test improvements in close to real-time categorisation and calculation of tax liabilities, using advancements in transaction data and better integrations between payment system actors. It aims to go beyond what can be done in current accounting software. The list of non-exhaustive services under consideration are as follows: - A working PoC model developed and demonstrated in supplier(s) test / sandbox environment which tests how synthetic transactions can be: -- produced or captured (automatically, manually or via a hybrid approach) -- transferred to accounting software -- coordinated and used by accounting software to calculate tax liabilities across multiple income and expense streams -- transferred to HMRC via existing infrastructure (e.g. Making Tax Digital APIs) - Uses realistic supplier-generated synthetic data for two HMRC defined personas. - Demonstrates model impact on HMRC defined transactions which are commonly mis-categorised; mis-apportioned; have unclear gross / net settlements. - Sufficient build and operational detail to demonstrate end-to-end feasibility, rather than solely conceptual designs or options appraisals. These products/services are expected to be key enablers to delivering the following capabilities: - Tax system simplification - Upstream compliance - Customer financial clarity and cash-flow management - Business systems integration - End-to-end data propagation - API handling HRMC are considering phasing this procurement into the following: (1) preparation; (2) build; (3) test and evaluation with conditional progression to build phase subject to agreed success criteria. Phase 1: Preparation (8 weeks): - Supplier generation of robust realistic synthetic payment data (assured by HMRC) - Supplier evaluation plan including impact metrics - Baseline of synthetic payment data established - System design blueprint of proposed working model Phase 2: Build (12 weeks): - Design sprints including extensive records, resulting in the working technical demonstrator.  - Model must be developed and demonstrated in supplier(s) test / sandbox environment using agreed synthetic data Phase 3: Test and evaluation (6 weeks testing, 6 weeks evaluation): - Test of the technical demonstrator by the supplier(s) and HMRC, against agreed metrics - Evaluation reports of the technical demonstrator, including scalability and re-use recommendations  This PoC approach is focused on structured discovery and learning. It is not a commitment to implement a specific solution, technical design, or live service.
What changed
From the official release history
  1. Published value updated to £291,667
    21 Aug 2026, 16:34 BST
  2. Official notice release published
    21 Aug 2026, 16:34 BST
  3. procurement method changed
    21 Aug 2026, 16:34 BST
  4. Submission deadline changed to published date
    21 Aug 2026, 16:34 BST
  5. Official notice release published
    20 Aug 2026, 14:20 BST
  6. Submission deadline changed to 1 Oct 2026, 23:59 BST
    20 Aug 2026, 14:20 BST
  7. Published value updated to £291,667
    11 Aug 2026, 13:45 BST
  8. Status changed to planned
    11 Aug 2026, 13:45 BST
  9. Official notice release published
    11 Aug 2026, 13:45 BST
  10. procurement method changed
    11 Aug 2026, 13:45 BST
  11. Submission deadline changed to 1 Oct 2026, 23:59 BST
    11 Aug 2026, 13:45 BST
  12. Official notice release published
    19 Jun 2026, 15:25 BST
  13. Published tender amendment
    Not published
    Contact email changed.
  14. Published tender amendment
    Not published
    Updated contact email for Josh Jones.
Lots and requirements (1)
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Individual lot title not published
    planned
    Published value£291,667
    The source published no individual title or description for this lot.
    Contract period1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Mar 2027, 23:59 BST
    Eligibility
    SME eligible
    Options / renewalNot published
Timeline
  1. Pipeline notice
    21 Aug 2026, 16:34 BST
  2. Pipeline notice
    20 Aug 2026, 14:20 BST
  3. Pipeline notice
    11 Aug 2026, 13:45 BST
  4. Pipeline notice
    19 Jun 2026, 15:25 BST
  5. Procedure published
    21 Aug 2026, 16:34 BST
  6. engagement
    26 Jun 2026, 23:59 BST · scheduled
    The purpose of this exercise is to engage the industry and gather market insights that will help us shape a potential procurement, including the refinement of market capability, capacity and appetite. Your engagement will help us to ensure any future agreement is fit for the future. A market engagement event will be held on Monday 29th June 2026 from 09:30am to 10:30am via Microsoft Teams. The event will include an overview of the challenge from HMRC colleagues, visibility of a potential procurement structure and will allow time for some questions and answers. Attending suppliers will receive a form after the session to provide feedback to help inform our future approach to this project. To register for this pre-market engagement event please email the below people by 5pm on Friday 26th June: [email protected] AND [email protected]. Include the notice or procurement reference in the subject line. In your email include the names and emails of up to 2 representatives to attend the event. This Preliminary Market Engagement Notice is issued for notification purposes and does not constitute a formal tender or pre-qualification process, nor does it represent a commitment to procure any goods or services. Parties should note participation in pre-market engagement will not influence or provide advantage in any future procurement, and that the scope, services, values, and timelines referenced are indicative only and subject to change.
  7. Submission deadline
    1 Oct 2026, 23:59 BST
Commercial outcome and competition
AwardsNo award published
ContractsNo contract published
Bid statisticsNo aggregate bid statistics published
Buyer and organisations in this procedure

HM Revenue & Customs

Contracting authority GB-PPON-PVMW-8599-JZNJ
View buyer profile
  • HM Revenue & Customs
    buyer

    GB-PPON: PVMW-8599-JZNJ
    100 Parliament Street, London, UKI32, SW1A 2BQ, GB
Documents (4)
Official links; attachments are not copied
Related procedures (0)
No data
No related procedures published
Planning and rationale
Planning budgetNot published
No-engagement rationaleNot published
Procedure rationaleNot published