TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
complete
#h6vhtk-049ba8
Published 12 Dec 2024, 08:44 GMT
Official UK Procurement Procedure

CT1280 – Insurance Services

Local Council
SME eligible
Framework
Financial and insurance services
Insurance related to Transport
Insurance services
Published value
Not published
Contract value exc. VAT
Submission deadline
Open opportunity
complete
Lots published
2
Lots published in procedure
Contract duration
Standard
Published delivery schedule
Electronic Sourcing Gateway:
Published portal

What is being bought & procurement scope

Procurement Scope & Specification
Tenderline summary generated from the published notice
Executive Summary: The City of Edinburgh Council: "CT1280 – Insurance Services". Published status: complete. Published value: Value not published. 2 published lots. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Official Requirement Description:
The City of Edinburgh Council (the Council) is seeking a contract for the provision of insurance services. The Council requires insurance cover for the following: Contractors Plant (own plant and hired plant) Fine Arts (all risks cover on art exhibits) Travel (School Journeys, Business Travel and supported carers)

Lots and requirements (2)

Procurement Structure
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Contractors Plant (own plant and hired plant)
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The City of Edinburgh Council requires insurance to cover Contractors Plant. This includes cover for the Council's own plant and hired plant.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 2 · #3
    Travel
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The City of Edinburgh Council requires insurance cover for Travel. This includes School Journeys, Business Travel and Supported Carers.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published

Qualification snapshot & criteria

Go / No-Go Decision Box
Criteria & entry requirements
Evaluation weighting
Quality: 60%
Cost: 40%
Uniform evaluation weighting applied across all 2 lots.
Incumbent & Market Position
Top Retained Vendor (Authority Spend)Travelers Insurance Company LtdHolds 86.9% of historical attributable spend
High Concentration
Entry requirements & qualification
  • Turnover Benchmark
    Guideline requirement: ~2× annual contract value annual turnover.Per Cabinet Office EFS 2026 & Sourcing Playbook: general proportionality cap (~2× run-rate), not an automatic disqualifier.
  • Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
    Standard public thresholds: Employer Liability (£5m), Public Liability (£5m-£10m), Professional Indemnity (£1m-£5m).✓ Commitment required upon award only — no upfront policy purchase needed to bid
  • Accreditations & Security Vetting
    Check tender pack for Cyber Essentials Plus (PPN 014 risk-proportional), ISO 27001/9001, and BPSS / SC security clearance requirements for named delivery personnel.
  • Source: Cabinet Office Sourcing Playbook & EFS Guidance.

    Buyer track record & authority intelligence: The City of Edinburgh Council

    Rolling 24 months
    Derived from OCDS data
    Published track record for The City of Edinburgh Council. These figures describe rolling 24 months, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
    Avg price drop
    Not availableEarly / insufficient sample
    Requires 5 comparable published awards
    Competition Density
    1Bids / Report (median)
    Single-bidder rate: 60% · Mean: 1.6 bids
    Supplier Concentration
    High Concentration
    Travelers Insurance Company LtdTop vendor: 86.9% of attributable value
    Published spend
    £6,930,000Historical spend
    Cumulative GBP spend across 5 retained awards
    Methodology & coverage notes (5 active published awards)
    Coverage: 5 active published awards; 5 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
    Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 66):
    Supplier Name
    Historic Awards
    Attributable Value
    Avg. Price Discount
    Travelers Insurance Company Ltd1 win£6,020,000No published budget
    Barclaycard payments1 win£700,000No published budget
    Crawford1 win£210,000No published budget

    Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar

    CPV 66 · UK Sector Analysis
    Observed CPV-sector evidence
    Suitable for SMEs
    Prepared 7 Sept 2026, 18:23 BST
    Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
    Median Winning Discount
    0%
    CPV sector evidence · 55 comparable price observations
    Typical Bids Received
    3reported bids
    CPV sector evidence · 1,303 published bid reports
    Decision Velocity
    ~57 days
    CPV sector evidence · median from 81 completed procedures
    Notice Stability
    6 updates
    2 deadline changes
    Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 66)
    Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
    Supplier
    Awards won
    Total awarded value
    Avg. winning discount
    59 contracts£16,821,444At ceiling / not disclosed
    Marsh LimitedCRN: 01507274
    57 contracts£7,532,300At ceiling / not disclosed
    51 contracts£6,472,954At ceiling / not disclosed
    51 contracts£640,466At ceiling / not disclosed
    36 contracts£733,676At ceiling / not disclosed
    35 contracts£69,894,495At ceiling / not disclosed
    29 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    29 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    29 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    27 contracts£1,203,002At ceiling / not disclosed
    Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
    Ranked by multi-factor similarity score
    Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
    Published procedure
    Published value
    Matching evidence
    Value not published
    same CPV family
    same region
    £19,790,000
    same CPV family
    Provision of Insurance and Related Services to Yorkshire HousingYorkshire Housing Limited · 28 Aug 2026, 11:53 BST
    £13,608,000
    same CPV family
    Provision of Insurance and Related Services to Watford Community Housing Trust t/a Chime HousingWatford Community Housing Trust t/a Chime Housing · 1 Sept 2026, 16:37 BST
    £10,675,000
    same CPV family
    Motor Insurance and Risk Related Services to Raven Housing TrustRaven Housing Trust · 24 Jul 2026, 11:57 BST
    £980,000
    same CPV family
    Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.SME Friendly Qualification Criteria

    Procedure terms & legal framework

    Procedure methodStandard public procedureLegal basisStandard UK Procurement RulesProcurement categoryServices
    Notice statuscompleteProcurement thresholdSub-thresholdRegulatory regimeStandard commercial regime
    Commercial structureFramework agreementCompetition typeCompetitive procedureGPA WTO coveredUnspecified in notice
    Recurring procurementNo (One-off requirement)First published12 Dec 2024, 08:44 GMTLast source update12 Dec 2024, 08:44 GMT
    Classification (CPV)Financial and insurance services, Insurance related to Transport, Insurance services
    Delivery area
    Official Registry OCIDocds-h6vhtk-049ba8
    Timeline
    1. Procedure published
      12 Dec 2024, 08:44 GMT
    2. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    3. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    4. Contract active
      Signed 29 Nov 2024, 00:00 GMT · £92,789
    5. Contract active
      Signed 29 Nov 2024, 00:00 GMT · £150,845

    Commercial outcome and contract awards

    Awards (2)
    Risk Management Partners
    Not published · Not published · active
    Risk Management Partners
    Not published · Not published · active
    Contracts (2)
    Contractors Plant (own plant and hired plant)
    £92,789 · signed 29 Nov 2024, 00:00 GMT · active
    Travel
    £150,845 · signed 29 Nov 2024, 00:00 GMT · active
    Bid statistics
    bids: 1 (lot 1)
    electronicBids: 1 (lot 1)
    foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 1)
    foreignBidsFromNonEU: 1 (lot 1)
    smeBids: 1 (lot 1)
    bids: 1 (lot 3)
    electronicBids: 1 (lot 3)
    foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 3)
    foreignBidsFromNonEU: 1 (lot 3)
    smeBids: 1 (lot 3)
    Bidding dynamics & price outcome
    Total bids received: 1 (1 from SMEs)
    Notice history
    From official release and amendment events
    1. tender value changed
      12 Dec 2024, 08:44 GMT
    2. Status changed to complete
      12 Dec 2024, 08:44 GMT
    3. Official notice release published
      12 Dec 2024, 08:44 GMT
    4. Submission deadline changed to published date
      12 Dec 2024, 08:44 GMT
    5. Published value updated to £608,156
      17 Sept 2024, 16:44 BST
    6. Status changed to active
      17 Sept 2024, 16:44 BST
    7. Official notice release published
      17 Sept 2024, 16:44 BST
    8. Submission deadline changed to 18 Oct 2024, 14:00 BST
      17 Sept 2024, 16:44 BST
    9. Buyer information updated
      17 Sept 2024, 16:44 BST

    Buyer and organisations in this procedure

    The City of Edinburgh Council

    Contracting authority
    Local Council
    GB-FTS-346
    View buyer profile →

    Official Documents & Specifications (0)

    Official links; attachments are not copied
    No data
    No linked documents are published