TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
complete
#h6vhtk-0361bf
Published 22 Apr 2026, 12:28 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure

STEP Construction Partner (CP)

Construction consultancy services
Construction management services
Construction project management services
+17 more
UK
Published value
Not published
Contract value exc. VAT
Submission deadline
Open opportunity
complete
Lots published
1
Lots published in procedure
Contract duration
Standard
Published delivery schedule
Electronic Sourcing Gateway:
Published portal

What is being bought & procurement scope

Procurement Scope & Specification
Tenderline summary generated from the published notice
Executive Summary: United Kingdom Fusion Energy: "STEP Construction Partner (CP)". Published status: complete. Published value: Value not published. 1 published lot. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Official Requirement Description:
UKIFS (now UKFE) has conducted this Procurement for a Construction Partner, who, together with a Fusion Partner (determined to be United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority (UKAEA)), will bring together and develop extensive industrial capabilities to design and build a UK prototype fusion energy plant capable of delivering net-energy to the grid, and build a world-leading fusion delivery industry. The Procurement was originally divided into two lots: • Lot 1: Engineering Partner (EP) • Lot 2: Construction Partner (CP) However, Lot 1 – EP has since been cancelled. Lot 2 – CP is now the only Lot included in this Procurement exercise. The contract term for Lot 2 will expire 31 March 2029, followed by three (3) optional extension periods of four (4), six (6) and seven (7) years. UKFE will have the right to exercise an extension option at six (6) months’ notice. The maximum contract duration will be twenty (20) years with an estimated value of £10,000,000,000 across this period.

Lots and requirements (1)

Procurement Structure
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #2
    Construction Partner
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The Construction Partner’s (CP) primary responsibility will be to collaboratively provide the capability to drive the integrated design of the overall layout, buildings, infrastructure, onsite and offsite facilities of the STEP Prototype Plant (SPP) to fulfil the support, enclosure and environmental requirements of the operational plant. The CP will then purchase, fabricate, deliver and install all elements of the designed facilities utilising existing and new supply chains, directly sourced or contracted resources. The CP’s responsibilities will include (but not be limited to) managing the overall health, safety, environment and security systems applicable to all parties engaged at the site. Additional information: Lot 1 for the Engineering Partner (EP) was cancelled and will not be awarded. Only Lot 2 for the Construction Partner (CP) forms part of this notice.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published

Qualification snapshot & criteria

Go / No-Go Decision Box
Criteria & entry requirements
Evaluation weighting
Corporate: Economic Value: 15%
Corporate: Social Value: 10%
Programme: 17%
Technical: 18%
Cultural: Behavioural and Collaborative Assessment: 15%
price: 25%
Incumbent & Market Position
Top Retained Vendor (Authority Spend)ILIOSHolds 100% of historical attributable spend
Entry requirements & qualification
  • Turnover Benchmark
    Guideline requirement: ~2× annual contract value annual turnover.Per Cabinet Office EFS 2026 & Sourcing Playbook: general proportionality cap (~2× run-rate), not an automatic disqualifier.
  • Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
    Standard public thresholds: Employer Liability (£5m), Public Liability (£5m-£10m), Professional Indemnity (£1m-£5m).✓ Commitment required upon award only — no upfront policy purchase needed to bid
  • Accreditations & Security Vetting
    Check tender pack for Cyber Essentials Plus (PPN 014 risk-proportional), ISO 27001/9001, and BPSS / SC security clearance requirements for named delivery personnel.
  • Source: Cabinet Office Sourcing Playbook & EFS Guidance.

    Buyer track record & authority intelligence: United Kingdom Fusion Energy

    Rolling 24 months
    Derived from OCDS data
    Published track record for United Kingdom Fusion Energy. These figures describe rolling 24 months, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
    Avg price drop
    Not availableEarly / insufficient sample
    Requires 5 comparable published awards
    Competition Density
    3Bids / Report (median)
    Single-bidder rate: 0%
    Supplier Concentration
    No estimate
    ILIOSTop vendor: 100% of attributable value
    Published spend
    £10,000,000,000Historical spend
    Cumulative GBP spend across 1 retained awards
    Methodology & coverage notes (1 active published awards)
    Coverage: 1 active published awards; 1 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
    Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 45):
    Supplier Name
    Historic Awards
    Attributable Value
    Avg. Price Discount
    ILIOS1 win£10,000,000,000No published budget

    Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar

    CPV 45 · UK Sector Analysis
    Observed CPV-sector evidence
    Prepared 7 Sept 2026, 14:18 BST
    Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
    Median Winning Discount
    0.63%
    CPV sector evidence · 760 comparable price observations
    Typical Bids Received
    4reported bids
    CPV sector evidence · 6,907 published bid reports
    Decision Velocity
    ~48 days
    CPV sector evidence · median from 669 completed procedures
    Notice Stability
    15 updates
    2 deadline changes
    Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 45)
    Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
    Supplier
    Awards won
    Total awarded value
    Avg. winning discount
    4 contracts£21,191,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    MORGAN SINDALL CONSTRUCTION & INFRASTRUCTURE LTDCRN: Morgan Sindall Construction Ltd
    103 contracts£15,239,793,340At ceiling / not disclosed
    ILIOSCRN: 1157281
    1 contract£10,000,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    Wates Construction LimitedCRN: PHQT-5476-TZBR
    50 contracts£9,923,245,228-0% below budget
    EQUANS Regeneration LimitedCRN: PDWQ-6852-QYVW
    141 contracts£8,388,365,822At ceiling / not disclosed
    Mclaren Construction LimitedCRN: PDDX-6189-DNXD
    16 contracts£8,050,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    41 contracts£7,886,911,783At ceiling / not disclosed
    Bouygues UKCRN: 03460378
    5 contracts£7,750,000,000At ceiling / not disclosed
    Kier ConstructionCRN: PYYQ-3271-CYND
    73 contracts£7,595,703,176At ceiling / not disclosed
    14 contracts£7,455,224,403-0% below budget
    Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
    Ranked by multi-factor similarity score
    Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
    Published procedure
    Published value
    Matching evidence
    £6,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    Technical Support Services 2026Procurement for Housing · 2 Sept 2026, 14:08 BST
    £260,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    YPO - 001284 Community & Healthcare Technology Equipment & Associated ServicesYorkshire Purchasing Organisation · 4 Sept 2026, 12:34 BST
    £600,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    Public Sector Construction Works 2NHS Shared Business Services Limited · 3 Sept 2026, 15:14 BST
    £750,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    £350,000,000
    same CPV family
    same region
    Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.

    Procedure terms & legal framework

    Procedure methodStandard public procedureLegal basisStandard UK Procurement RulesProcurement categoryServices
    Notice statuscompleteProcurement thresholdSub-thresholdRegulatory regimeStandard commercial regime
    Commercial structureStand-alone contract (No framework)Competition typeCompetitive procedureGPA WTO coveredUnspecified in notice
    Recurring procurementNo (One-off requirement)First published22 Apr 2026, 12:28 BSTLast source update22 Apr 2026, 12:28 BST
    Classification (CPV)Construction consultancy services, Construction management services, Construction project management services, Construction supervision services, Construction work for engineering works except bridges, tunnels, shafts and subways, Construction work for industrial buildings, Construction work for manufacturing plant, Construction work for nuclear reactors, Construction work for power plant, Construction works for power plants and heating plants, Construction-related services, Construction-site supervision services, Engineering works and construction works, Laboratory building construction work, Nuclear-power station construction work, Procurement consultancy services, Structures construction work, Works for complete or part construction and civil engineering work
    Delivery area
    UK
    Official Registry OCIDocds-h6vhtk-0361bf
    Timeline
    1. Procedure published
      22 Apr 2026, 12:28 BST
    2. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    3. Contract active
      Signed 2 Apr 2026, 00:00 BST · £10,000,000,000

    Commercial outcome and contract awards

    Awards (1)
    ILIOS
    Not published · Not published · active
    Contracts (1)
    STEP Engineering Partner and Construction Partner
    £10,000,000,000 · signed 2 Apr 2026, 00:00 BST · active
    Bid statistics
    bids: 3 (lot 2)
    electronicBids: 3 (lot 2)
    smeBids: 0 (lot 2)
    Bidding dynamics & price outcome
    Total bids received: 3 (0 from SMEs)
    Notice history
    From official release and amendment events
    1. Status changed to complete
      22 Apr 2026, 12:28 BST
    2. Official notice release published
      22 Apr 2026, 12:28 BST
    3. Buyer information updated
      22 Apr 2026, 12:28 BST
    4. Official notice release published
      12 Aug 2024, 17:19 BST
    5. tender value changed
      8 Jul 2024, 12:19 BST
    6. Status changed to published status
      8 Jul 2024, 12:19 BST
    7. Official notice release published
      8 Jul 2024, 12:19 BST
    8. Submission deadline changed to published date
      8 Jul 2024, 12:19 BST
    9. Published value updated to £20,000,000,000
      22 May 2024, 14:19 BST
    10. Status changed to active
      22 May 2024, 14:19 BST
    11. Official notice release published
      22 May 2024, 14:19 BST
    12. Submission deadline changed to 12 Jul 2024, 13:00 BST
      22 May 2024, 14:19 BST
    13. Buyer information updated
      22 May 2024, 14:19 BST
    14. tender value changed
      18 Apr 2023, 11:24 BST
    15. Status changed to published status
      18 Apr 2023, 11:24 BST
    16. Official notice release published
      18 Apr 2023, 11:24 BST
    17. Published value updated to £20,000,000,000
      10 Nov 2022, 17:07 GMT
    18. Status changed to planned
      10 Nov 2022, 17:07 GMT
    19. Official notice release published
      10 Nov 2022, 17:07 GMT
    20. Official notice release published
      25 Aug 2022, 08:57 BST
    21. tender value changed
      24 Aug 2022, 11:42 BST
    22. Status changed to published status
      24 Aug 2022, 11:42 BST
    23. Official notice release published
      24 Aug 2022, 11:42 BST
    24. Published value updated to £10,000,000,000
      22 Aug 2022, 17:42 BST
    25. Status changed to planned
      22 Aug 2022, 17:42 BST
    26. Official notice release published
      22 Aug 2022, 17:42 BST
    27. Buyer information updated
      22 Aug 2022, 17:42 BST

    Buyer and organisations in this procedure

    United Kingdom Fusion Energy

    Contracting authority
    GB-FTS-180527
    View buyer profile →

    Official Documents & Specifications (0)

    Official links; attachments are not copied
    No data
    No linked documents are published