TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
complete
Official procurement procedure

PURCH2114 Framework Agreement for the Provision of Components for Research in Optical Sciences and/or Working with Lasers

Laboratory
optical and precision equipments (excl. glasses)
Published value
Not published
Submission deadline Not published
Lots published1
Procurement Intelligence
Published evidence · v1
Suitable for SMEs
Prepared 7 Sept 2026, 21:06 BST
A pre-calculated analytical view of official UK procurement facts, competition benchmarks and decision timelines.
Bid readiness
Review notice
Submission deadline not published
Check official notice for submission route
Scope structure
1lots
1 lot · 1 published item
1 published CPV family
Decision Velocity
~88 days
Typical sector award window after deadline
Sector median: 88 days
Contract lifecycle
Not published
No future linked contract end in retained records
No published extension signal
Pricing & Budget Savings
£1,000,000
Contract/award value: £1,000,000
2 award suppliers linked
Bidding Competition
2 bids
2 SME bids · 2 electronic
No bid spread metrics published
Sector Market Benchmark (CPV 38)
Based on 2,782 published procedures
Median Winning Discount
27.72%
Award reduction below published budget
Typical Bids Received
2 bidders
Median competitive participation in sector
Typical Evaluation Window
88 days
Median time between deadline and award
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 38)
Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
SupplierAwards won in sectorTotal awarded valueAvg. winning discount
11 contracts£703,074,260At ceiling / not disclosed
10 contracts£4,204,077,429At ceiling / not disclosed
Bruker UK LimitedCRN: 00923986
9 contracts£21,397,589At ceiling / not disclosed
Waters LimitedCRN: 02912366
8 contracts£147,631,485At ceiling / not disclosed
VAISALA LIMITEDCRN: 01487125
7 contracts£5,606,760,640At ceiling / not disclosed
SHIMADZU UK LIMITEDCRN: 05342169
7 contracts£375,407,161At ceiling / not disclosed
7 contracts£210,000At ceiling / not disclosed
6 contracts£5,601,313,841At ceiling / not disclosed
6 contracts£5,600,927,799At ceiling / not disclosed
6 contracts£642,863,566At ceiling / not disclosed
Evidence coverage
7/12 core inputs published
Framework procedure
Comparable published opportunities
Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They are research comparables, not expected competitors or a price forecast.
Published procedurePublished valueMatching evidence
PURCH2932 Provision of Laser Drilling and Patterning SystemUniversity of Glasgow · 1 Jul 2026, 15:06 BST
Value not published
same CPV family
same authority
same region
PURCH2720 Provision of Electron Beam Lithography ToolUniversity of Glasgow · 8 Jul 2026, 09:59 BST
Value not published
same CPV family
same authority
same region
PURCH2879 Provision of Small Angle X-Ray Scattering System (SAXS)University of Glasgow · 7 Jul 2026, 16:44 BST
Value not published
same CPV family
same authority
same region
Value not published
same CPV family
same authority
same region
Value not published
same CPV family
same authority
same region
Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Values and dates are retained OCDS facts; missing source data remains unknown.
Procurement Executive Summary
AI & Search Synopsis
Generated from official OCDS record
Tenderline Synopsis: University of Glasgow: "PURCH2114 Framework Agreement for the Provision of Components for Research in Optical Sciences and/or Working with Lasers". Published status: complete. Published value: Value not published. 1 published lot. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Contracting AuthorityUniversity of GlasgowScope & CategoriesNot publishedSubmission Window
complete
No deadline published
Submission GatewayDirect notice routeLegal Basis & RegimeStandard procurementEstimated Value (exc. VAT)Not published
Bidder Intelligence · Authority Profile: University of Glasgow
Market Analytics
View Authority Profile →
Derived from OCDS awards & bid statistics
Published history for University of Glasgow. These figures describe retained records, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Published-to-award variance
Not availableInsufficient comparable data
Requires at least 5 comparable procedures
Competition Density
2Bids / Report (median)
44.5% of reports have one bid · Mean: 3 bids
Supplier ConcentrationLow Concentration
Carl Zeiss LtdTop vendor: 11.8% of attributable value
Payment Terms
Check noticePublished terms
Payment obligations depend on the applicable regime and contract. Consult the official documents.
Coverage: 272 active published awards; 272 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 38):
Supplier NameHistoric AwardsAttributable ValueAvg. Price Discount
Carl Zeiss Ltd5 wins£4,543,352
Oxford Instruments Plasma Technology3 wins£1,368,900
LI-COR Environmental - UK Ltd3 wins£489,280
Waters Limited2 wins£1,916,190
Becton Dickinson UK Limited2 wins£795,680
Procedure terms
Contracting AuthorityUniversity of Glasgow
Procedure methodNot published
Procurement categoryNot published
Statuscomplete
Framework / DPSFramework
CompetitionNot published
Above thresholdNot published
Legal basisNot published
Tender period startsNot published
Clarification deadlineNot published
Electronic submissionNot published
Submission languagesNot published
Published22 Jun 2023, 15:23 BST
Last source update22 Jun 2023, 15:23 BST
Recurring procurementNot published
ClassificationLaboratory, optical and precision equipments (excl. glasses)
Delivery area
OCIDocds-h6vhtk-03dbb7
What is being bought
Award of PURCH2114 Framework Agreement for the Provision of Components for Research In Optical Sciences and /or Working with lasers.
What changed
From the official release history
  1. Status changed to complete
    22 Jun 2023, 15:23 BST
  2. Official notice release published
    22 Jun 2023, 15:23 BST
  3. Buyer information updated
    22 Jun 2023, 15:23 BST
Lots and requirements (1)
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Individual lot title not published
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Award of PURCH2114 For The Provision of Components for Research in Optical Sciences and/or Working with Lasers
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
Timeline
  1. Procedure published
    22 Jun 2023, 15:23 BST
  2. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  3. Contract active
    Signed 22 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · £1,000,000
Commercial outcome and competition
Awards
Newport, Thorlabs
Not published · Not published · active
Contracts
Contract
£1,000,000 · signed 22 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
Bid statistics
bids: 2 (lot 1)
electronicBids: 2 (lot 1)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 1)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 2 (lot 1)
smeBids: 2 (lot 1)
Buyer and organisations in this procedure

University of Glasgow

Contracting authority GB-FTS-1836
View buyer profile
  • University of Glasgow
    buyer
    centralPurchasingBody

    Procurement Office, Tay House, Glasgow, UKM82, G12 8QQ
    +44 1413306639
  • Glasgow Sheriff Court & Justice of the Peace Court
    reviewBody

    1 Carlton Place, Glasgow, G14 0RP
    +44 1414298888
  • Newport
    supplier

    Units 3 & 4, Cowley Way,, Weston Road,, Crewe, Cheshire, UK, CW1 6AG
  • Thorlabs
    supplier

    204 Lancaster Way Business Park, Cambridgeshire Business Park, Ely, UKH12, CB6 3NX
Documents (0)
Official links; attachments are not copied
No data
No linked documents are published
Related procedures (0)
No data
No related procedures published