TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
complete
#h6vhtk-037149
Published 19 Apr 2023, 09:08 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure

Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services)

Local Council
Insurance services
Published value
Not published
Contract value exc. VAT
Submission deadline
Open opportunity
complete
Lots published
16
Lots published in procedure
Contract duration
Standard
Published delivery schedule
Electronic Sourcing Gateway:
Published portal

What is being bought & procurement scope

Procurement Scope & Specification
Tenderline summary generated from the published notice
Executive Summary: Somerset Council: "Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services)". Published status: complete. Published value: Value not published. 16 published lots. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Official Requirement Description:
Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) for Somerset County Council and District Councils within Somerset. The Contracts being offered are due to commence on 1st April 2023 and will expire on 31st March 2026, with options to extend for a maximum of a further 48 months. For further information, including access to the tender documents, please visit the ProContract e-tendering portal. Please note, the estimated value entered below is based on the initial contract period and does not include the optional extension period

Lots and requirements (16)

Procurement Structure
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    Lot 1 - Property Combined
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 1 - Property Combined. For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 2 · #10
    Lot 10 - Engineering Inspection Services
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 10 - Engineering Inspection Services. For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 3 · #11
    Lot 11 - Combined Liability – OI and PI
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 11 - Combined Liability – OI and PI. For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 4 · #12
    Lot 12 - Terrorism
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 12 - Terrorism. For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 5 · #13
    Lot 13 - Fine Art
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 13 - Fine Art. For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 6 · #14
    Lot 14 - Director & Officers Liability
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 14 - Director & Officers Liability. For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 7 · #2
    Lot 2 - Housing Properties
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 2 - Housing Properties. For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 8 · #3
    Lot 3 - Property Owners
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 3 - Property Owners. For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 9 · #4
    Lot 4 - Leasehold & Mortgaged Properties
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 4 - Leasehold & Mortgaged Properties. For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 10 · #5
    Lot 5 - Works in Progress
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 5 - Works in Progress. For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 11 · #6
    Lot 6 - Crime
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 6 - Crime. For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 12 · #7A
    Lot 7A - Combined Liability – EL, PL/Products and PEL (£1 million deductible)
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 7A - Combined Liability – EL, PL/Products and PEL (£1 million deductible). For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 13 · #7B
    Lot 7B - Combined Liability – EL, PL/Products and PEL (£500k deductible)
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 7B - Combined Liability – EL, PL/Products and PEL (£500k deductible). For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 14 · #8A
    Lot 8A - Motor Fleet (£1 million deductible)
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 8A - Motor Fleet (£1 million deductible). For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 15 · #8B
    Lot 8B - Motor Fleet (£250k deductible)
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 8B - Motor Fleet (£250k deductible). For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published
  • Lot 16 · #9
    Lot 9 - Personal Accident
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    Lot 9 - Personal Accident. For further details on this lot, please see the specification which is available on the ProContract e-tendering portal.
    Contract period:
    Not published
    Eligibility:
    Not published

Qualification snapshot & criteria

Go / No-Go Decision Box
Criteria & entry requirements
Evaluation weighting
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 70
price: 30
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Quality: 40
price: 60
Published as relative weighting ratio, not percentage points.
Incumbent & Market Position
Top Retained Vendor (Authority Spend)Aviva PLCHolds 91.4% of historical attributable spend
High Concentration
Entry requirements & qualification
  • Turnover Benchmark
    Guideline requirement: ~2× annual contract value annual turnover.Per Cabinet Office EFS 2026 & Sourcing Playbook: general proportionality cap (~2× run-rate), not an automatic disqualifier.
  • Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
    Standard public thresholds: Employer Liability (£5m), Public Liability (£5m-£10m), Professional Indemnity (£1m-£5m).✓ Commitment required upon award only — no upfront policy purchase needed to bid
  • Accreditations & Security Vetting
    Check tender pack for Cyber Essentials Plus (PPN 014 risk-proportional), ISO 27001/9001, and BPSS / SC security clearance requirements for named delivery personnel.
  • Source: Cabinet Office Sourcing Playbook & EFS Guidance.

    Buyer track record & authority intelligence: Somerset Council

    Rolling 24 months
    Derived from OCDS data
    Published track record for Somerset Council. These figures describe rolling 24 months, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
    Avg price drop
    Not availableEarly / insufficient sample
    Requires 5 comparable published awards
    Competition Density
    2Bids / Report (median)
    Single-bidder rate: 0%
    Supplier Concentration
    High Concentration
    Aviva PLCTop vendor: 91.4% of attributable value
    Published spend
    £1,529,735Historical spend
    Cumulative GBP spend across 3 retained awards
    Methodology & coverage notes (3 active published awards)
    Coverage: 3 active published awards; 1 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
    Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 66):
    Supplier Name
    Historic Awards
    Attributable Value
    Avg. Price Discount
    Aviva PLC1 win£1,397,735No published budget
    AVC Wise trading as MyMoneyMatters1 win£72,000No published budget
    Cipfa Business Ltd1 win£60,000No published budget

    Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar

    CPV 66 · UK Sector Analysis
    Observed CPV-sector evidence
    Prepared 7 Sept 2026, 21:24 BST
    Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
    Median Winning Discount
    0%
    CPV sector evidence · 55 comparable price observations
    Typical Bids Received
    3reported bids
    CPV sector evidence · 1,303 published bid reports
    Decision Velocity
    ~57 days
    CPV sector evidence · median from 81 completed procedures
    Notice Stability
    7 updates
    2 deadline changes
    Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 66)
    Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
    Supplier
    Awards won
    Total awarded value
    Avg. winning discount
    59 contracts£16,821,444At ceiling / not disclosed
    Marsh LimitedCRN: 01507274
    57 contracts£7,532,300At ceiling / not disclosed
    51 contracts£6,472,954At ceiling / not disclosed
    51 contracts£640,466At ceiling / not disclosed
    36 contracts£733,676At ceiling / not disclosed
    35 contracts£69,894,495At ceiling / not disclosed
    29 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    29 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    29 contractsNot disclosedAt ceiling / not disclosed
    27 contracts£1,203,002At ceiling / not disclosed
    Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
    Ranked by multi-factor similarity score
    Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
    Published procedure
    Published value
    Matching evidence
    £19,790,000
    same CPV family
    Provision of Insurance and Related Services to Yorkshire HousingYorkshire Housing Limited · 28 Aug 2026, 11:53 BST
    £13,608,000
    same CPV family
    Provision of Insurance and Related Services to Watford Community Housing Trust t/a Chime HousingWatford Community Housing Trust t/a Chime Housing · 1 Sept 2026, 16:37 BST
    £10,675,000
    same CPV family
    Provision of Insurance Brokerage ServicesDFT OPERATOR LIMITED · 14 Jul 2026, 09:42 BST
    Value not published
    same CPV family
    Motor Insurance and Risk Related Services to Raven Housing TrustRaven Housing Trust · 24 Jul 2026, 11:57 BST
    £980,000
    same CPV family
    Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.

    Procedure terms & legal framework

    Procedure methodStandard public procedureLegal basisStandard UK Procurement RulesProcurement categoryServices
    Notice statuscompleteProcurement thresholdSub-thresholdRegulatory regimeStandard commercial regime
    Commercial structureStand-alone contract (No framework)Competition typeCompetitive procedureGPA WTO coveredUnspecified in notice
    Recurring procurementNo (One-off requirement)First published19 Apr 2023, 09:08 BSTLast source update19 Apr 2023, 09:08 BST
    Classification (CPV)Insurance services
    Delivery area
    Official Registry OCIDocds-h6vhtk-037149
    Timeline
    1. Procedure published
      19 Apr 2023, 09:08 BST
    2. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    3. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    4. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    5. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    6. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    7. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    8. Award unsuccessful
      Not published · Not published
    9. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    10. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    11. Award unsuccessful
      Not published · Not published
    12. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    13. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    14. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    15. Award active
      Not published · Not published
    16. Award unsuccessful
      Not published · Not published
    17. Award unsuccessful
      Not published · Not published
    18. Contract active
      Signed 9 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · £45,000
    19. Contract active
      Signed 2 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · £587,202
    20. Contract active
      Signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · £733,950
    21. Contract active
      Signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · £187,758
    22. Contract active
      Signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · £40,500
    23. Contract active
      Signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · £208,665
    24. Contract active
      Signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · £146,763
    25. Contract active
      Signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · £206,393
    26. Contract active
      Signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · £20,290
    27. Contract active
      Signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · £1,131,300
    28. Contract active
      Signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · £113,100
    29. Contract active
      Signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · £1,273,500

    Commercial outcome and contract awards

    Awards (16)
    Maven Public Sector
    Not published · Not published · active
    Zurich Municipal
    Not published · Not published · active
    Zurich Municipal
    Not published · Not published · active
    Ashdale Engineering UK Ltd
    Not published · Not published · active
    Maven Public Sector
    Not published · Not published · active
    Alesco Risk Management Services Limited
    Not published · Not published · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 13
    Not published · Not published · unsuccessful
    Zurich Municipal
    Not published · Not published · active
    Maven Public Sector
    Not published · Not published · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 3
    Not published · Not published · unsuccessful
    Protector Insurance
    Not published · Not published · active
    Maven Public Sector
    Not published · Not published · active
    Maven Public Sector
    Not published · Not published · active
    Maven Public Sector
    Not published · Not published · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 7B
    Not published · Not published · unsuccessful
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 8A
    Not published · Not published · unsuccessful
    Contracts (12)
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 5
    £45,000 · signed 9 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 4
    £587,202 · signed 2 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 1
    £733,950 · signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 8B
    £187,758 · signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 9
    £40,500 · signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 10
    £208,665 · signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 11
    £146,763 · signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 12
    £206,393 · signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 14
    £20,290 · signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 2
    £1,131,300 · signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 6
    £113,100 · signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Provision of Insurance Coverage (Excluding Broking Services) - Lot 7A
    £1,273,500 · signed 19 Jan 2023, 00:00 GMT · active
    Bid statistics
    bids: 12 (lot 1)
    bids: 12 (lot 10)
    bids: 12 (lot 11)
    bids: 12 (lot 12)
    bids: 12 (lot 14)
    bids: 12 (lot 2)
    bids: 12 (lot 4)
    bids: 12 (lot 5)
    bids: 12 (lot 6)
    bids: 12 (lot 7A)
    bids: 12 (lot 8B)
    bids: 12 (lot 9)
    Bidding dynamics & price outcome
    Total bids received: 12
    Notice history
    From official release and amendment events
    1. Status changed to complete
      19 Apr 2023, 09:08 BST
    2. Official notice release published
      19 Apr 2023, 09:08 BST
    3. Buyer information updated
      19 Apr 2023, 09:08 BST
    4. tender value changed
      10 Nov 2022, 08:06 GMT
    5. Status changed to published status
      10 Nov 2022, 08:06 GMT
    6. Official notice release published
      10 Nov 2022, 08:06 GMT
    7. Submission deadline changed to published date
      10 Nov 2022, 08:06 GMT
    8. Published value updated to £7,500,000
      29 Sept 2022, 11:11 BST
    9. Status changed to active
      29 Sept 2022, 11:11 BST
    10. Official notice release published
      29 Sept 2022, 11:11 BST
    11. Submission deadline changed to 10 Nov 2022, 12:00 GMT
      29 Sept 2022, 11:11 BST
    12. Buyer information updated
      29 Sept 2022, 11:11 BST

    Buyer and organisations in this procedure

    Somerset Council

    Contracting authority
    Local Council
    GB-FTS-80024
    View buyer profile →

    Official Documents & Specifications (0)

    Official links; attachments are not copied
    No data
    No linked documents are published