Find a Tender
Open for tender
30d 21h left
#h6vhtk-06f808
Published 11 Sept 2026, 12:58 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure
Open Framework for the Provision of Short Break
Local Council
services
SME eligible
VCSE eligible
Framework
Above threshold
Open procedure
GPA Covered: {"GPA"}
Special Regime: {"lightTouch"}
Health and social work services
Published value
£6,577,120
Submission deadline
12 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST
Clarification Cut-Off
1 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST
Contract duration
7 yrs
Registration note: Free · short registration with manual review; public opportunity list
Instructions: https://www.the-chest.org.uk/
Project Reference - DN779079
What is being bought & procurement scope
Procurement Scope & Specification
Executive Summary: Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council: "Open Framework for the Provision of Short Break". Published status: active. Published value: £6,577,120. 3 published lots. Recorded submission deadline: 12 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST. Published submission portal: www.the-chest.org.uk.
Official Requirement Description:
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council (The Council) is seeking to develop an Open Framework for the Provision of Short Breaks in Stockport.
For a full specification for this opportunity, please register you interest.
Bidders are advised that the deadline set out in the documents is absolute. You are advised to upload your submission well in advance of the deadline to avoid any technical issues that might arise causing you to fail to meet the deadline which would lead to the rejection of your submission. The Council is conscious that Bidders spend a huge amount of time, effort and expense in putting together a submission and is keen to ensure that no bid is rejected for this reason.
In submitting your quotation you agree to contract on the terms and conditions as detailed on The Chest. Due to the Council's obligations of fairness and equal treatment to all bidders it cannot accept amendments to these terms and conditions or alternative terms and conditions. If you seek to amend the terms and conditions or submit alternative terms and conditions the Council may reject your quotation.
Lots and requirements (3)
Procurement Structure
- Lot 1 · #Lot 1. Residential Based ServicesLot 1. Residential Based ServicesactivePublished value£3,946,272Residential based services include, but not exclusively, residential care and nursing homes, specialised short breaks units, specialised holiday centres. These services must also provide access to on-site care and support on a 24-hour basis, services must be CQC registered, where providers have a residential offer of short breaks for individuals who do not require personal care this must be clearly noted as part of the tender response, highlighting what other quality measures are in place to ensure the service offered is appropriately monitored and managed in line with legislation and best practice. It is expected that residential based services would be accessed for 1-14 nights per allocated short break.Contract period:30 Nov 2026 — 30 Nov 2033 (7 yrs)Eligibility:SME eligibleVCSE eligiblePre-Qualification & Selection Criteria (PQQ)
- Economic & FinancialSee ITT and PSQ documents
- Technical CapacitySee ITT and Specification document
- Lot 2 · #Lot 2: Community Based ServicesLot 2: Community Based ServicesactivePublished value£1,973,136Community Based services are delivered on the whole to individuals within the home, they differ from standard home care services as staff maybe required for longer periods of time, including overnight. Staff provided maybe required to support with a range of personal care tasks as well as offering the individuals access to the local community, engaging in meaningful activities as well as managing day to day tasks such as cooking, cleaning and attending appointments. Short Breaks offered in individuals' home will usually be in blocks of 4 or more hours. Providers required to offer personal care must be CQC registered, however we welcome applications from organisations who can offer short breaks to individuals in their own home where personal care is not a requirement. Providers must indicate on the tender application their registration status.Contract period:30 Nov 2026 — 30 Nov 2033 (7 yrs)Eligibility:SME eligibleVCSE eligiblePre-Qualification & Selection Criteria (PQQ)
- Economic & FinancialSee ITT and PSQ documents
- Technical CapacitySee ITT and Specification document
- Lot 3 · #Lot 3: InnovationLot 3: InnovationactivePublished value£657,712This lot will be utilised to call off any potential new developments that the local authority wishes to develop, this could include new residential facilities. It could also include specific support to a group of service users who wish to source a short break together or a service to support with planning and organising holiday for individuals with care and support needs. There are no immediate plans for new developments, but if these occur the council would utilise this lot to undertake mini competitions for any new innovations.Contract period:30 Nov 2026 — 30 Nov 2033 (7 yrs)Eligibility:SME eligibleVCSE eligiblePre-Qualification & Selection Criteria (PQQ)
- Economic & FinancialSee ITT and PSQ documents
- Technical CapacitySee ITT and Specification document
Qualification snapshot & criteria
Go / No-Go Decision Box
Evaluation weighting
Quality: 100%
Incumbent & Market Position
Top Retained Vendor (Authority Spend)VALLEY CARE DIRECT LIMITEDHolds 63.8% of historical attributable spend
High ConcentrationEntry requirements & qualification
Turnover Benchmark
Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
Accreditations & Security Vetting
Contract Duration & Term OptionsExpected duration: 7 yrs
Published track record for Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council. These figures describe a rolling 24-month window, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Avg price drop
45.6%Indicative
Competition Density
36Bids / Report (median)
Supplier Concentration
Published spend
£5,362,457Historical spend
Typical award value
£934,000Moderate (n=4)
Awarded spend by half-year
2024-H2
2025-H1
2025-H2
2026-H1
2026-H2
Methodology & coverage notes (4 active published awards)
Coverage: 4 active published awards; 7 bid reports (which may be per lot); 4 valued awards. Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Every figure carries an evidence level: Robust (5+ observations), Moderate (3–4), Indicative (1–2). Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 85):
Supplier Name | Historic Awards | Attributable Value | Avg. Price Discount |
|---|---|---|---|
| VALLEY CARE DIRECT LIMITED | 1 win | £3,423,906 | No published budget |
| Making Space | 1 win | £1,760,000 | No published budget |
| Physio.co.uk | 1 win | £108,000 | No published budget |
| RECONSTRUCT (CHILDREN AND ADULT SERVICES) LIMITED | 1 win | £70,551 | -45.6% below budget |
Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar
CPV 85 · UK Sector Analysis
Observed CPV-sector evidence
Suitable for SMEs
Prepared 11 Sept 2026, 14:31 BST
Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
Median Winning Discount
0%
Typical Bids Received
1reported bids
Decision Velocity
~54 days
Notice Stability
Stable notice
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 85)
Supplier | Awards won | Total awarded value | Avg. winning discount |
|---|---|---|---|
ATOS IT SERVICES UK LIMITEDCRN: 01245534 | 13 contracts | £12,096,084,526 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Eville and Jones (GB) LimitedCRN: PHXH-2391-YMLX | 59 contracts | £9,613,913,059 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
| 13 contracts | £5,537,708,775 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
| 11 contracts | £3,595,302,069 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
Barts Health NHS TrustCRN: N/A – NHS Trust | 16 contracts | £3,453,013,003 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
| 16 contracts | £2,933,363,592 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
MAXIMUS UK SERVICES LIMITEDCRN: 09072343 | 39 contracts | £2,893,246,280 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
| 6 contracts | £2,711,962,948 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
| 17 contracts | £2,505,604,267 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
| 15 contracts | £2,375,960,101 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
Published procedure | Published value | Matching evidence |
|---|---|---|
Disability Support ServiceUniversity of Salford · 8 Sept 2026, 17:16 BST | £2,730,996 | same CPV family same region similar value band |
Short Breaks for Children and Young People with Disabilities and their Families (Re-opening)Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council · 7 Sept 2026, 10:33 BST | £3,600,000 | same CPV family similar value band matching published text |
Framework Agreement for the Provision of Short Breaks Services For Children With Disabilities Living in the London Borough of Waltham ForestLondon Borough of Waltham Forest · 29 Jul 2026, 12:12 BST | £2,236,000 | same CPV family similar value band matching published text |
Specialised Healthcare TasksEssex County Council · 19 May 2025, 14:16 BST | £1,257,436 | same CPV family similar value band matching published text |
SPS 2608 - The Provision of a High Quality Short Breaks and Activities for Children and Young People with Special Education Needs and DisabilitiesRoyal Borough of Greenwich · 28 Jul 2022, 16:14 BST | £2,340,000 | same CPV family similar value band matching published text |
Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.SME Friendly Qualification Criteria
Procedure terms & legal framework
| Procedure method | Open procedure | Legal basis | UKPGA · 2023/54 Procurement Act 2023 | Procurement category | services |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Notice status | active | Procurement threshold | Above threshold (FTS publication) | Regulatory regime | {"lightTouch"} |
| Commercial structure | Framework agreement | Competition type | Competitive procedure | GPA WTO covered | {"GPA"} |
| Recurring procurement | No (One-off requirement) | First published | 11 Sept 2026, 12:58 BST | Last source update | 11 Sept 2026, 12:58 BST |
| Award evaluation window | Submission end — 10 Nov 2026, 23:59 GMT | Classification (CPV) | Health and social work services | ||
| Delivery area | |||||
| Official Registry OCID | ocds-h6vhtk-06f808 | ||||
How to participate & submission route
Authorized E-Sourcing Portal
Supplier login required
Online submission allowed
Language: EN
Access & Registration note: Free · short registration with manual review; public opportunity list
| Expression of interest (EOI) | — | Tender submission deadline | 12 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST | Clarification deadline | 1 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Submission channel | Official e-sourcing portal | Electronic submission | Allowed | Accepted languages | en |
| Participation fee | Free of charge (Open access) | ||||
Detailed Submission Instructions & Authority Contacts
www.the-chest.org.uk/
Project Reference - DN779079
Timeline
- Procedure published
11 Sept 2026, 12:58 BST - Clarification deadline
1 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST - Submission deadline
12 Oct 2026, 12:00 BST
Commercial outcome and contract awards
Awards (0)No award published |
Contracts (0)No contract published |
Bid statisticsNo aggregate bid statistics published |
Notice history
From official release and amendment events
- Official notice release published
11 Sept 2026, 12:58 BST
Buyer and organisations in this procedure
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council
Contracting authority
Local Council
Official Documents & Specifications (4)
Official links; attachments are not copied
- 11 Sept 2026, 12:58 BST