Find a Tender
complete
#h6vhtk-06f445
Published 8 Sept 2026, 11:52 BST
Official UK Procurement Procedure
MetroWest Firmware Upgrade — UK Public Procurement Procedure
Local Council
Direct award
No classification published
Published value
Not published
Submission deadline
Open opportunity
Lots published
1
Contract duration
Direct award
Electronic Sourcing Gateway:
Published portal
What is being bought & procurement scope
Procurement Scope & Specification
Executive Summary: The West of England Combined Authority: "MetroWest Firmware Upgrade". Published status: complete. Published value: Value not published. 1 published lot. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Official Requirement Description:
Network Rail to deliver essential firmware and platform upgrades to the Smartlock Support Server systems, which currently operate on obsolete and unsupported Windows platforms. These ageing installations present growing risks to reliability, safety assurance, cybersecurity compliance, and long‑term supportability, and cannot accommodate the new signalling functionality required for services in 2028.
Lots and requirements (1)
Procurement Structure
- Lot 1 · #1Individual lot title not publishedcompletePublished valueNot publishedThe source published no individual title or description for this lot.Contract period:Not publishedEligibility:Not published
Qualification snapshot & criteria
Go / No-Go Decision Box
Evaluation weighting
Award criteria weighting not published in structured data — consult the tender pack documents.
Incumbent & Market Position
Top Retained Vendor (Authority Spend)Network Rail Infrastructure LimitedHolds 100% of historical attributable spend
High ConcentrationEntry requirements & qualification
Turnover Benchmark
Insurance Commitments (No Upfront Purchase Needed)
Accreditations & Security Vetting
Published track record for The West of England Combined Authority. These figures describe a rolling 24-month window, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Avg price drop
Not availableEarly / insufficient sample
Competition Density
Not availableNo published reports
Supplier Concentration
Published spend
£676,665Historical spend
Typical award value
£676,665Indicative (n=1)
Awarded spend by half-year
2024-H2
2025-H1
2025-H2
2026-H1
2026-H2
Methodology & coverage notes (1 active published awards)
Coverage: 1 active published awards; 0 bid reports (which may be per lot); 1 valued awards. Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Every figure carries an evidence level: Robust (5+ observations), Moderate (3–4), Indicative (1–2). Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 45):
Supplier Name | Historic Awards | Attributable Value | Avg. Price Discount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Network Rail Infrastructure Limited | 1 win | £676,665 | No published budget |
Sector Market Benchmark & Opportunity Radar
CPV 45 · UK Sector Analysis
Observed CPV-sector evidence
Prepared 8 Sept 2026, 13:28 BST
Observed CPV-sector evidence where it exists, with clearly labelled UK all-sector context for sparse fields; this is market context, not a bid forecast.
Median Winning Discount
0.2%
Typical Bids Received
4reported bids
Decision Velocity
~51 days
Notice Stability
Stable notice
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 45)
Supplier | Awards won | Total awarded value | Avg. winning discount |
|---|---|---|---|
Mears LimitedCRN: PYVN-7644-LZQQ | 70 contracts | £3,188,167,900 | -4.4% below budget |
Morgan Sindall Construction and Infrastructure LtdCRN: PPZX-2842-HHPG | 113 contracts | £2,239,846,409 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Milestone Infrastructure LimitedCRN: 13007933 | 10 contracts | £2,207,200,000 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Ringway Infrastructure Services LimitedCRN: 2756434 | 12 contracts | £1,882,180,000 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Wakefield Waste PFI LtdCRN: 08193325 | 1 contract | £1,770,760,000 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Wates Construction LimitedCRN: PHQT-5476-TZBR | 52 contracts | £1,746,245,228 | -0% below budget |
Wates Property Services LimitedCRN: PTTB-7947-QVWT | 89 contracts | £1,559,958,144 | -0% below budget |
UNITED LIVING (SOUTH) LIMITEDCRN: 817560 | 65 contracts | £1,518,620,000 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Axis Europe PlcCRN: PCNG-4217-XXCQ | 138 contracts | £1,397,717,888 | -5.6% below budget |
EQUANS Regeneration LimitedCRN: PDWQ-6852-QYVW | 145 contracts | £1,388,365,822 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Comparable Published Opportunities & Re-tender Precedents
Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They serve as research precedents for contract scoping, specifications, and previous awardees.
No sufficiently evidenced comparable record has been calculated yet.Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Empirical OCDS facts and cross-sector percentiles; missing fields remain unrecorded.
Procedure terms & legal framework
| Procedure method | Direct award | Legal basis | UKPGA · 2023/54 Procurement Act 2023 | Procurement category | Services |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Notice status | complete | Procurement threshold | Sub-threshold | Regulatory regime | Standard commercial regime |
| Commercial structure | Stand-alone contract (No framework) | Competition type | Competitive procedure | GPA WTO covered | Unspecified in notice |
| Recurring procurement | No (One-off requirement) | First published | 8 Sept 2026, 11:52 BST | Last source update | 8 Sept 2026, 11:52 BST |
| Classification (CPV) | Unspecified in notice | ||||
| Delivery area | Location not published | ||||
| Official Registry OCID | ocds-h6vhtk-06f445 | ||||
Timeline
- Procedure published
8 Sept 2026, 11:52 BST - Award active
30 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · £676,665
Commercial outcome and contract awards
Awards (1) Network Rail Infrastructure Limited £676,665 · 30 Jul 2026, 00:00 BST · active · lots 1 |
Contracts (0)No contract published |
Bid statisticsNo aggregate bid statistics published |
Notice history
From official release and amendment events
- Official notice release published
8 Sept 2026, 11:52 BST - Official notice release published
8 Sept 2026, 11:27 BST - Official notice release published
8 Sept 2026, 11:03 BST - Official notice release published
8 Sept 2026, 10:56 BST
Buyer and organisations in this procedure
1 participating organisation
The West of England Combined Authority
Contracting authority
Local Council
Award and contract changes
Official Documents & Specifications (5)
Official links; attachments are not copied
- 8 Sept 2026, 11:52 BST
- 8 Sept 2026, 11:27 BST
- 8 Sept 2026, 11:03 BST
- 8 Sept 2026, 10:56 BST
Procedure justification & pre-market engagement
Official Statement
| Procedure rationale (direct award / limited competition) | No alternative supplier can legally or technically deliver these works, the Direct Award appears capable of being justified under Schedule 5, Paragraphs 5 and 6 of the Procurement Act 2023, subject to legal review. |
|---|