Find a Tender
complete
Official procurement procedure
Residential and Nursing Care Home Services (Issue 1)
Published value
£1,565,078,303
Submission deadline 17 Apr 2026, 12:00 BST
Lots published4
Procurement Intelligence
Published evidence · v1
Suitable for SMEs
Prepared 8 Sept 2026, 02:55 BST
A pre-calculated analytical view of official UK procurement facts, competition benchmarks and decision timelines.
Bid readiness
Core facts published
Submission route published
Scope structure
4lots
1 published CPV family
Decision Velocity
73 days
Sector median: 48 days
Contract lifecycle
Published
Published option or renewal signal
Pricing & Budget Savings
£1,565,078,303
170 award suppliers linked
Bidding Competition
126 bids
No bid spread metrics published
Sector Market Benchmark (CPV 85)
Based on 36,437 published procedures
Median Winning Discount
5.15%
Typical Bids Received
1 bidders
Typical Evaluation Window
48 days
Historical record: ASIST. has won 3 previous contracts with this contracting authority in this category.
Procurement history indicates repeat engagement with this buyer in this sector. All competitions remain open to qualifying tenderers.
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 85)
Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
| Supplier | Awards won in sector | Total awarded value | Avg. winning discount |
|---|---|---|---|
| 445 contracts | £589,385 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
Knowle House SurgeryCRN: TBC | 403 contracts | £1,860,017,505 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
| 300 contracts | £232,055 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
| 251 contracts | £779,257 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
| 243 contracts | £257,522 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
| 228 contracts | £251,448 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
| 225 contracts | £169,325 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
| 219 contracts | £251,097 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
| 202 contracts | £597,982 | At ceiling / not disclosed | |
| 180 contracts | £212,030 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Evidence coverage
11/12 core inputs published
Comparable published opportunities
Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Values and dates are retained OCDS facts; missing source data remains unknown.Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They are research comparables, not expected competitors or a price forecast.
| Published procedure | Published value | Matching evidence |
|---|---|---|
Residential and Nursing Care Home Services for Adults Aged 65 and Over Framework (Issue 2)Staffordshire County Council · 1 Sept 2026, 11:24 BST | £1,565,078,303 | same CPV family same authority same region similar value band matching published text |
Dynamic Approved Provider List For Residential and Nursing Care Services to Older People & Older People requiring Mental Health SupportCardiff Council · 4 Feb 2021, 12:32 GMT | £180,000,000 | same CPV family similar value band matching published text |
Dynamic Approved Provider List For Residential and Nursing Care Services to Older People & Older People requiring Mental Health SupportCardiff Council · 1 Aug 2022, 15:24 BST | £180,000,000 | same CPV family similar value band matching published text |
Residential and Nursing Care in Gloucestershire - Pre Market Engagement SurveyGloucestershire County Council · 2 Sept 2026, 15:31 BST | £816,000,000 | same CPV family similar value band |
Flexible Framework for the Provision of Care HomesBath & North East Somerset Council · 3 Sept 2026, 14:03 BST | £600,000,000 | same CPV family similar value band |
Procurement Executive Summary
AI & Search Synopsis
Generated from official OCDS record
Tenderline Synopsis: Staffordshire County Council: "Residential and Nursing Care Home Services (Issue 1)". Published status: complete. Published value: £1,565,078,303. 4 published lots. Recorded submission deadline: 17 Apr 2026, 12:00 BST. Published submission portal: supplierlive.proactisp2p.com.
| Contracting Authority | Staffordshire County Council | Scope & Categories | SERVICES (4 lots) | Submission Window | Closed 17 Apr 2026, 12:00 BST |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Submission Gateway | Legal Basis & Regime | 2023/54 · Open procedure · Above threshold | Estimated Value (exc. VAT) | £1,565,078,303 |
Bidder Intelligence · Authority Profile: Staffordshire County Council
Market Analytics
Derived from OCDS awards & bid statistics
Published history for Staffordshire County Council. These figures describe retained records, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Published-to-award variance
Not availableInsufficient comparable data
Competition Density
111.5Bids / Report (median)
Supplier ConcentrationNo estimate
Insufficient attributable awardsNo concentration estimate availablePayment Terms
Check noticePublished terms
Coverage: 2 active published awards; 4 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Procedure terms
Contracting AuthorityStaffordshire County Council | Procedure methodOpen procedure | Procurement categoryservices |
Statuscomplete | Framework / DPSFramework | CompetitionNot published |
Above thresholdYes | Legal basisUKPGA · 2023/54 | Tender period startsNot published |
Clarification deadline13 Apr 2026, 12:00 BST | Electronic submissionallowed | Submission languagesen |
Published1 Sept 2026, 11:03 BST | Last source update1 Sept 2026, 11:03 BST | Recurring procurementYes |
ClassificationHealth and social work services | ||
Delivery area | ||
OCIDocds-h6vhtk-0516d2 | ||
How to participate
Submission deadline passed
The official deadline for this opportunity was 17 Apr 2026, 12:00 BST. External portal workspaces, tender packs, or clarification messaging may now be restricted or archived by the contracting authority.
Submission methodNot published | Electronic submissionallowed | Clarification deadline13 Apr 2026, 12:00 BST |
Submission languagesen | Expression of interest deadlineNot published | E-Sourcing Portal |
Submission instructions Suppliers should register on the Councils'
eProcurement system, Proactis.
https://supplierlive.proactisp2p.com/Account/Login
(https://supplierlive.proactisp2p.com/Account/Login)
Suppliers will need to log in and select
"Opportunities" then enter the tender reference
"IA3668" in the box and select "Search".
All tender documents will be found in the request
document section.
Please see clause 51 of the Terms and Conditions
with regards to further information on the Local
Government Re-Organisation. | ||
What is being bought
The procurement will be to establish a framework of providers for the delivery of residential and nursing care home services for adults aged 65 and over who have been assessed by the Council as having needs for care and support under the Care Act 2014 and Mental Health Act 1983.
The Framework is primarily aimed at individuals whose ordinary residence is within Staffordshire (which excludes Stoke on Trent). However, all Placement's will be made based on individual assessed needs, aligned to appropriate legislation, and will be within a reasonable distance, usually up to twenty (20) miles from the Resident's usual place of residence, as detailed in the Council's Choice Policy, unless the Resident chooses a care home outside the 20-mile radius. Where there are no Placements within a reasonable distance that can meet the Resident's assessed needs, the Council will consider locations outside of the reasonable distance.
Schedule 1 (the Specification) of the Framework Agreement sets out the minimum requirements a Service Provider must follow when delivering Services to Residents whose needs fall under the designated Lots of:
• Lot 1 - Residential for Older People
• Lot 2 - Residential for Older People with Dementia
• Lot 6 - Nursing for Older People
• Lot 7 - Nursing for Older People with Dementia
The Service Provider must be registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to deliver residential and/or nursing care for Residents aged 65 and over. The Service Provider must also hold registrations for other care category specialisms to meet both primary and secondary needs of Residents, making this clear in their statement of purpose.
If a Resident has multiple care needs, their primary need decides the Lot they are placed under. Needs may change over time, so the Council expects the Service Provider to be flexible either by meeting changing needs or ensuring a smooth transfer to another service provider if needed. The Service Provider must accept referrals for all types of Care Home stays which include:
• Long Stay: A placement within a residential or nursing care Home where the intention is that the Placement shall be the Resident's permanent residence.
• Temporary Stay: An individual who needs to stay in a residential or nursing care home for (i) a limited period where there is a plan to return to their own home (ii) a period of further assessment. The stay should be unlikely to exceed fifty-two (52) weeks.
• Respite Stay: A short stay in a residential or nursing Care Home for someone normally cared for at their own home, giving their carer a temporary break usually up to eight (8) weeks. Respite stays can be both planned and unplanned. An unplanned respite stay is where respite care is required within twenty-four (24) hours to support carer crisis.
Care home provision for 18 - 65 year olds will be the subject of a separate procurement exercise.
The Choice Policy requires the Council to source a care home placement that meets the assessed eligible needs within a reasonable distance of the person's usual place of residence, and the Indicative Personal Budget will be determined by the most cost-effective placement that can meet those needs.
When developing the tender documents the Council has taken regards to the key objectives set out in the Procurement Act 2023:
a. delivering value for money;
b. maximising public benefit;
c. sharing information;
d. integrity; and
e. removing or reducing the barriers faced by SMEs.
What changed
From the official release history
- Official notice release published
1 Sept 2026, 11:03 BST - tender value changed
3 Jul 2026, 06:19 BST - Status changed to complete
3 Jul 2026, 06:19 BST - Official notice release published
3 Jul 2026, 06:19 BST - Submission deadline changed to published date
3 Jul 2026, 06:19 BST - Published value updated to £1,565,078,303
17 Mar 2026, 09:46 GMT - Status changed to active
17 Mar 2026, 09:46 GMT - Official notice release published
17 Mar 2026, 09:46 GMT - procurement method changed
17 Mar 2026, 09:46 GMT - Submission deadline changed to 17 Apr 2026, 12:00 BST
17 Mar 2026, 09:46 GMT - Official notice release published
19 May 2025, 13:06 BST
Lots and requirements (4)
Published by the contracting authority
- Lot 1 · #1Residential for Older PeoplecompleteOptionsRenewalPublished value£253,253,972The source published no individual title or description for this lot.Contract period1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Aug 2030, 23:59 BSTEligibilitySME eligibleVCSE eligibleOptions / renewalThe Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract. · The Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract.
- Lot 2 · #2Residential for Older People with DementiacompleteOptionsRenewalPublished value£633,385,550The source published no individual title or description for this lot.Contract period1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Aug 2030, 23:59 BSTEligibilitySME eligibleVCSE eligibleOptions / renewalThe Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract. · The Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract.
- Lot 3 · #6Nursing for Older PeoplecompleteOptionsRenewalPublished value£150,737,197The source published no individual title or description for this lot.Contract period1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Aug 2030, 23:59 BSTEligibilitySME eligibleVCSE eligibleOptions / renewalThe Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract. · The Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract.
- Lot 4 · #7Nursing for Older People with DementiacompleteOptionsRenewalPublished value£527,701,584The source published no individual title or description for this lot.Contract period1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Aug 2030, 23:59 BSTEligibilitySME eligibleVCSE eligibleOptions / renewalThe Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract. · The Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract.
Timeline
- Pipeline notice
19 May 2025, 13:06 BST - Procedure published
1 Sept 2026, 11:03 BST - Submission deadline
17 Apr 2026, 12:00 BST - Award active
29 Jun 2026, 00:00 BST · £253,253,972 - Award active
29 Jun 2026, 00:00 BST · £633,385,550 - Award pending
29 Jun 2026, 00:00 BST · £150,737,197 - Award pending
29 Jun 2026, 00:00 BST · £527,701,584 - Contract active
Signed 21 Aug 2026, 00:00 BST · £253,253,972 - Contract active
Signed 21 Aug 2026, 00:00 BST · £633,385,550
Commercial outcome and competition
Awards ABACUS QUALITY CARE LTD., ABSOLUTE HEALTHCARE (CENTRAL) LIMITED, ABSOLUTE HEALTHCARE SWAN HOUSE LIMITED, AEGIS RESIDENTIAL CARE HOMES LIMITED, AGNES AND ARTHUR LIMITED, AKARI CARE LIMITED, ALISON HOUSE CARE HOME LIMITED, ALIVE HEALTH CARE SUPPORTED LIVING LTD, ALPHA HEALTH CARE LIMITED, ANGEL CARE HOMES LIMITED, ARIA HEALTHCARE GROUP LTD, ASSURED HEALTHCARE SOLUTIONS LTD, AVERY HOMES (CANNOCK) LIMITED, AVERY HOMES (NELSON) LIMITED, AVERY HOMES NEWCASTLE UL LIMITED £253,253,972 · 29 Jun 2026, 00:00 BST · active · lots 1 ABACUS QUALITY CARE LTD., ABSOLUTE HEALTHCARE (CENTRAL) LIMITED, ABSOLUTE HEALTHCARE SWAN HOUSE LIMITED, AEGIS RESIDENTIAL CARE HOMES LIMITED, AGNES AND ARTHUR LIMITED, AKARI CARE LIMITED, ALISON HOUSE CARE HOME LIMITED, ALIVE HEALTH CARE SUPPORTED LIVING LTD, ALPHA HEALTH CARE LIMITED, ANGEL CARE HOMES LIMITED, ARIA HEALTHCARE GROUP LTD, ASSURED HEALTHCARE SOLUTIONS LTD, AVERY HOMES (CANNOCK) LIMITED, AVERY HOMES (NELSON) LIMITED, AVERY HOMES NEWCASTLE UL LIMITED £633,385,550 · 29 Jun 2026, 00:00 BST · active · lots 2 ABSOLUTE HEALTHCARE (CENTRAL) LIMITED, ABSOLUTE HEALTHCARE SWAN HOUSE LIMITED, ACER MEWS HEALTH CARE LIMITED, ADSWOOD LODGE HEALTH CARE LIMITED, AKARI CARE LIMITED, ALIVE HEALTH CARE SUPPORTED LIVING LTD, ALPHA HEALTH CARE LIMITED, ASSURED HEALTHCARE SOLUTIONS LTD, AVERY HOMES (CANNOCK) LIMITED, AVERY HOMES (NELSON) LIMITED, BARCHESTER HEALTHCARE HOMES LIMITED, BLACKMOOR CROFT HEALTH CARE LIMITED, BLUE MAR LIMITED, BLUE MARINE CARE LLP, BRADWELL HALL NURSING HOME LIMITED £150,737,197 · 29 Jun 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 6 ABSOLUTE HEALTHCARE (CENTRAL) LIMITED, ABSOLUTE HEALTHCARE SWAN HOUSE LIMITED, ACER MEWS HEALTH CARE LIMITED, ADSWOOD LODGE HEALTH CARE LIMITED, AKARI CARE LIMITED, ALIVE HEALTH CARE SUPPORTED LIVING LTD, ALPHA HEALTH CARE LIMITED, ASSURED HEALTHCARE SOLUTIONS LTD, AVERY HOMES (CANNOCK) LIMITED, AVERY HOMES (NELSON) LIMITED, BARCHESTER HEALTHCARE HOMES LIMITED, BLACKMOOR CROFT HEALTH CARE LIMITED, BRADWELL HALL NURSING HOME LIMITED, BRIDGEWOOD HEALTH CARE LIMITED, BROOK VIEW HEALTH CARE LIMITED £527,701,584 · 29 Jun 2026, 00:00 BST · pending · lots 7 |
Contracts Lot 1 £253,253,972 · signed 21 Aug 2026, 00:00 BST · active Contract period: 1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Aug 2030, 23:59 BST The Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract. · The Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract. Lot 2 £633,385,550 · signed 21 Aug 2026, 00:00 BST · active Contract period: 1 Sept 2026, 00:00 BST — 31 Aug 2030, 23:59 BST The Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract. · The Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract. |
Bid statistics bids: 126 (lot 1) finalStageBids: 126 (lot 1) smeFinalStageBids: 97 (lot 1) vcseFinalStageBids: 2 (lot 1) bids: 125 (lot 2) finalStageBids: 125 (lot 2) smeFinalStageBids: 97 (lot 2) vcseFinalStageBids: 1 (lot 2) bids: 98 (lot 6) finalStageBids: 98 (lot 6) smeFinalStageBids: 80 (lot 6) vcseFinalStageBids: 0 (lot 6) bids: 97 (lot 7) finalStageBids: 97 (lot 7) smeFinalStageBids: 79 (lot 7) vcseFinalStageBids: 0 (lot 7) |
Buyer and organisations in this procedure
Showing primary 50 of 171 published organisations
Staffordshire County Council
Contracting authority GB-PPON-PZDG-2995-QQMDAward and contract changes
Documents (11)
Official links; attachments are not copied
- 1 Sept 2026, 11:03 BST
- 1 Sept 2026, 11:03 BST
- 3 Jul 2026, 06:19 BST
- 3 Jul 2026, 06:19 BST
- 3 Jul 2026, 06:19 BST
- 3 Jul 2026, 06:19 BST
- 17 Mar 2026, 09:46 GMT
- 19 May 2025, 13:06 BST
Related procedures (0)
No related procedures published
Planning and rationale
Planning budgetNot published |
No-engagement rationaleNA |
Procedure rationaleNot published |