TenderlineUK
Procurement Intelligence
Official OCDS
Find a Tender
complete
Official procurement procedure

PCR Sample Collection Kits and Consumables

Manual swab test kits
Medical consumables
Published value
Not published
Submission deadline Not published
Lots published8
Procurement Intelligence
Published evidence · v1
Prepared 7 Sept 2026, 21:55 BST
A pre-calculated analytical view of official UK procurement facts, competition benchmarks and decision timelines.
Bid readiness
Review notice
Submission deadline not published
Check official notice for submission route
Scope structure
8lots
8 lots · 8 published items
2 published CPV families
Decision Velocity
~52 days
Typical sector award window after deadline
Sector median: 52 days
Contract lifecycle
Not published
No future linked contract end in retained records
No published extension signal
Pricing & Budget Savings
£10,400,000
Contract/award value: £10,400,000
11 award suppliers linked
Bidding Competition
10 bids
0 SME bids · 10 electronic
No bid spread metrics published
Sector Market Benchmark (CPV 33)
Based on 74 published procedures
Median Winning Discount
41.96%
Award reduction below published budget
Typical Bids Received
3 bidders
Median competitive participation in sector
Typical Evaluation Window
52 days
Median time between deadline and award
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 33)
Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
SupplierAwards won in sectorTotal awarded valueAvg. winning discount
42 contracts£11,274,871,284-48.5% below budget
40 contracts£2,128,139,644At ceiling / not disclosed
35 contracts£2,136,030,424-59.1% below budget
30 contracts£834,774,799-59.1% below budget
26 contracts£1,018,605,826-59.1% below budget
23 contracts£6,514,396,855At ceiling / not disclosed
23 contracts£3,563,512,187At ceiling / not disclosed
22 contracts£11,516,824,438At ceiling / not disclosed
22 contracts£770,894,756At ceiling / not disclosed
22 contracts£19,160,715At ceiling / not disclosed
Evidence coverage
7/12 core inputs published
Framework procedure
Comparable published opportunities
Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They are research comparables, not expected competitors or a price forecast.
Published procedurePublished valueMatching evidence
NP57426 Condoms & Sexual Health ProductsThe Common Services Agency (more commonly known as Public Services Delivery Scotland) (PSD Scotland) · 12 Aug 2026, 16:08 BST
£1,143,000
same CPV family
same region
Imaging ServicesThe Common Services Agency (more commonly known as Public Services Delivery Scotland) (PSD Scotland) · 3 Aug 2026, 14:41 BST
Value not published
same CPV family
same region
Patient Monitors, Anaesthetics Machines, Ventilators & ECGThe Common Services Agency (more commonly known as Public Delivery Services Scotland) ( PSD Scotland ) · 17 Aug 2026, 14:32 BST
Value not published
same CPV family
same region
Flexible Video Endoscopy Consumables and Single use ScopeThe Common Services Agency (more commonly known as Public Services Delivery Scotland) (PSD Scotland) · 19 Aug 2026, 14:38 BST
Value not published
same CPV family
same region
Custom Theatre and Procedure PacksNHS Lanarkshire · 27 Aug 2026, 15:20 BST
Value not published
same CPV family
same region
Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Values and dates are retained OCDS facts; missing source data remains unknown.
Procurement Executive Summary
AI & Search Synopsis
Generated from official OCDS record
Tenderline Synopsis: The Common Services Agency (more commonly known as NHS National Services Scotland) ("NSS"): "PCR Sample Collection Kits and Consumables". Published status: complete. Published value: Value not published. 8 published lots. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
Contracting AuthorityThe Common Services Agency (more commonly known as NHS National Services Scotland) ("NSS")Scope & CategoriesNot publishedSubmission Window
complete
No deadline published
Submission GatewayDirect notice routeLegal Basis & RegimeStandard procurementEstimated Value (exc. VAT)Not published
Bidder Intelligence · Authority Profile: The Common Services Agency (more commonly known as NHS National Services Scotland) ("NSS")
Market Analytics
View Authority Profile →
Derived from OCDS awards & bid statistics
Published history for The Common Services Agency (more commonly known as NHS National Services Scotland) ("NSS"). These figures describe retained records, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Published-to-award variance
Not availableInsufficient comparable data
Requires at least 5 comparable procedures
Competition Density
4Bids / Report (median)
23.4% of reports have one bid · Mean: 9.9 bids
Supplier ConcentrationLow Concentration
Medtronic LimitedTop vendor: 2.3% of attributable value
Payment Terms
Check noticePublished terms
Payment obligations depend on the applicable regime and contract. Consult the official documents.
Coverage: 974 active published awards; 798 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 33):
Supplier NameHistoric AwardsAttributable ValueAvg. Price Discount
Medtronic Limited58 wins£834,801,000
B. Braun Medical Limited51 wins£647,299,421
Baxter Healthcare Ltd46 wins£519,848,508
Becton Dickinson U.K. Limited45 wins£251,604,978
Johnson & Johnson Medical Ltd43 wins£775,468,969
Procedure terms
Procedure methodNot published
Procurement categoryNot published
Statuscomplete
Framework / DPSFramework
CompetitionNot published
Above thresholdNot published
Legal basisNot published
Tender period startsNot published
Clarification deadlineNot published
Electronic submissionNot published
Submission languagesNot published
Published21 Dec 2022, 13:50 GMT
Last source update21 Dec 2022, 13:50 GMT
Recurring procurementNot published
ClassificationManual swab test kits, Medical consumables
Delivery area
OCIDocds-h6vhtk-03075a
What is being bought
The Scope of the framework is for the supply of PCR Sample Collection Devices and Consumables. Included within the framework are Individual Tube(s) with prefilled Viral Transport Medium (VTM) 1ml/3ml, VTM Sample Collection Kits, Individual Tube(s) with prefilled Inactivation Medium, Inactivation Medium Sample Collection Kits 1ml/3ml, IVD Peel Pouch containing Dry Sterile Swabs and various associated consumables such as Lysis Buffer. The sample collection products can be used for multiple viral and microbiological pathogens.
What changed
From the official release history
  1. tender value changed
    21 Dec 2022, 13:50 GMT
  2. Status changed to complete
    21 Dec 2022, 13:50 GMT
  3. Official notice release published
    21 Dec 2022, 13:50 GMT
  4. Buyer information updated
    21 Dec 2022, 13:50 GMT
  5. Published value updated to £80,000,000
    5 Jan 2022, 13:06 GMT
  6. Status changed to planned
    5 Jan 2022, 13:06 GMT
  7. Official notice release published
    5 Jan 2022, 13:06 GMT
  8. Buyer information updated
    5 Jan 2022, 13:06 GMT
Lots and requirements (8)
Published by the contracting authority
  • Lot 1 · #1
    1a - Individual Tube (green capped) with prefilled volumes of Viral Transport Medium (VTM) - 1ml
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The Procurement of Individual Tube (green capped) with prefilled volumes of Viral Transport Medium (VTM) - 1ml
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
  • Lot 2 · #2
    1b - Individual Tube (green capped) with prefilled volumes of Viral Transport Medium (VTM) - 3ml
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The Procurement of Individual Tube (green capped) with prefilled volumes of Viral Transport Medium (VTM) - 3ml
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
  • Lot 3 · #3
    2a - VTM Sample Collection Kit (in Peel Pouch format), containing individual Tube (green capped) prefilled with volume of VTM and an individual Sterile Dry Swab with Breakpoint - 1ml
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The procurement of VTM Sample Collection Kit (in Peel Pouch format), containing individual Tube (green capped) prefilled with volume of VTM and an individual Sterile Dry Swab with Breakpoint - 1ml
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
  • Lot 4 · #4
    2b - VTM Sample Collection Kit (in Peel Pouch format), containing individual Tube (green capped) prefilled with volume of VTM and an individual Sterile Dry Swab with Breakpoint - 3ml
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The Procurement of VTM Sample Collection Kit (in Peel Pouch format), containing individual Tube (green capped) prefilled with volume of VTM and an individual Sterile Dry Swab with Breakpoint - 3ml
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
  • Lot 5 · #5
    3 - Individual Tube (red capped) with prefilled volumes of Inactivation Medium
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The Procurement of Individual Tube (red capped) with prefilled volumes of Inactivation Medium
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
  • Lot 6 · #6
    4 - Inactivation Medium Sample Collection Kit (in Peel Pouch format), containing individual Tube (red cap) prefilled with Inactivation medium and an Individual Sterile Dry Swab with Breakpoint
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The procurement of Inactivation Medium Sample Collection Kit (in Peel Pouch format), containing individual Tube (red capped) prefilled with volume of Inactivation medium and an Individual Sterile Dry Swab with Breakpoint
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
  • Lot 7 · #7
    5 - IVD Peel Pouch containing Sterile Dry Swab with Breakpoint
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The procurement of IVD Peel Pouch containing Sterile Dry Swab with Breakpoint
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
  • Lot 8 · #8
    6 - Various Consumables
    cancelled
    Published valueNot published
    The procurement of various associated Consumables
    Contract periodNot published
    EligibilityNot published
    Options / renewalNot published
Timeline
  1. Procedure published
    21 Dec 2022, 13:50 GMT
  2. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  3. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  4. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  5. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  6. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  7. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  8. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  9. Award active
    Not published · Not published
  10. Contract active
    Signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · £1,300,000
  11. Contract active
    Signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · £1,300,000
  12. Contract active
    Signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · £1,300,000
  13. Contract active
    Signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · £1,300,000
  14. Contract active
    Signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · £1,300,000
  15. Contract active
    Signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · £1,300,000
  16. Contract active
    Signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · £1,300,000
  17. Contract active
    Signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · £1,300,000
Commercial outcome and competition
Awards
2San Global Limited, Life Science Group Ltd, Medical Wire & Equipment, Origin Limited
Not published · Not published · active
2San Global Limited, Brian Hutchison, Life Science Group Ltd, Medical Wire & Equipment
Not published · Not published · active
2San Global Limited, Life Science Group Ltd, Medical Wire & Equipment, Origin Limited
Not published · Not published · active
2San Global Limited, Brian Hutchison, E&O Laboratories Ltd, Medical Wire & Equipment, Origin Limited
Not published · Not published · active
2San Global Limited, E&O Laboratories Ltd, Life Science Group Ltd, Origin Limited
Not published · Not published · active
2San Global Limited, E&O Laboratories Ltd, Life Science Group Ltd, Origin Limited
Not published · Not published · active
2San Global Limited, E&O Laboratories Ltd, Life Science Group Ltd, Origin Limited
Not published · Not published · active
2San Global Limited, Alpha Laboratories, DGP Intelsius, E&O Laboratories Ltd, Life Science Group Ltd, Novum MedTech Ltd, Origin Limited, Rainbow Diagnostics Ltd, Thermo Fisher Scientific
Not published · Not published · active
Contracts
1a - Individual Tube (green capped) with prefilled volumes of Viral Transport Medium (VTM) - 1ml
£1,300,000 · signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · active
2a - VTM Sample Collection Kit (in Peel Pouch format), containing individual Tube (green capped) prefilled with volume of VTM and an individual Sterile Dry Swab with Breakpoint - 1ml
£1,300,000 · signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · active
1b - Individual Tube (green capped) with prefilled volumes of Viral Transport Medium (VTM) - 3ml
£1,300,000 · signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · active
2b - VTM Sample Collection Kit (in Peel Pouch format), containing individual Tube (green capped) prefilled with volume of VTM and an individual Sterile Dry Swab with Breakpoint - 3ml
£1,300,000 · signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · active
3 - Individual Tube (red capped) with prefilled volumes of Inactivation Medium
£1,300,000 · signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · active
4 - Inactivation Medium Sample Collection Kit (in Peel Pouch format), containing individual Tube (red cap) prefilled with Inactivation medium and an Individual Sterile Dry Swab with Breakpoint
£1,300,000 · signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · active
5 - IVD Peel Pouch containing Sterile Dry Swab with Breakpoint
£1,300,000 · signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · active
6 - Various Consumables
£1,300,000 · signed 21 Nov 2022, 00:00 GMT · active
Bid statistics
bids: 10 (lot 1)
electronicBids: 10 (lot 1)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 1)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 0 (lot 1)
smeBids: 0 (lot 1)
bids: 10 (lot 2)
electronicBids: 10 (lot 2)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 2)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 0 (lot 2)
smeBids: 0 (lot 2)
bids: 10 (lot 3)
electronicBids: 10 (lot 3)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 3)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 0 (lot 3)
smeBids: 0 (lot 3)
bids: 10 (lot 4)
electronicBids: 10 (lot 4)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 4)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 0 (lot 4)
smeBids: 0 (lot 4)
bids: 10 (lot 5)
electronicBids: 10 (lot 5)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 5)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 0 (lot 5)
smeBids: 0 (lot 5)
bids: 10 (lot 6)
electronicBids: 10 (lot 6)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 6)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 0 (lot 6)
smeBids: 0 (lot 6)
bids: 10 (lot 7)
electronicBids: 10 (lot 7)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 7)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 0 (lot 7)
smeBids: 0 (lot 7)
bids: 10 (lot 8)
electronicBids: 10 (lot 8)
foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 8)
foreignBidsFromNonEU: 0 (lot 8)
smeBids: 0 (lot 8)
Buyer and organisations in this procedure

The Common Services Agency (more commonly known as NHS National Services Scotland) ("NSS")

Contracting authority GB-FTS-322
View buyer profile
  • The Common Services Agency (more commonly known as NHS National Services Scotland) ("NSS")
    buyer
    centralPurchasingBody

    Gyle Square (NSS Head Office), 1 South Gyle Crescent, Edinburgh, UKM, EH12 9EB
    +44 1312757454
  • 2San Global Limited
    supplier

    Unit 11 Carnforth Business Park, , Oakwood Way, CARNFORTH, UK, LA5 9FD
    +44 1524488064
  • Alpha Laboratories
    supplier

    40 Parham Drive, Eastleigh, UKJ3, SO50 4NU
  • Brian Hutchison
    supplier

    The Ostlers, Muckhart Road, Dollar, UK, FK147AE
  • DGP Intelsius
    supplier

    1 Harrier Court. Airfield Business Park,, Elvington, UK, YO41 4EA
  • E&O Laboratories Ltd
    supplier

    Burnhouse, Bonnybridge, UK, FK4 2HH
  • Life Science Group Ltd
    supplier

    Unit 14, Crowhill Farm, Wilden, UKH2, MK44 2QS
    +44 0000000000
  • Medical Wire & Equipment
    supplier

    Leafield Industrial Estate, Corsham, UK, SN13 9RT
    +44 01225810361
  • Novum MedTech Ltd
    supplier

    Kemp House, 152-160 City Road, London, UK, EC1Y 2NX
  • Origin Limited
    supplier

    Twisden Works, Twisden Road, London, UKI31, NW5 1DN
  • Rainbow Diagnostics Ltd
    supplier

    86 Harley Street, London, UK, W1G 7HP
  • Sheriff Court House
    reviewBody

    27 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1LB
  • Thermo Fisher Scientific
    supplier

    Ion Path, Road Three,, Winsford, UK
Documents (0)
Official links; attachments are not copied
No data
No linked documents are published
Related procedures (0)
No data
No related procedures published