Find a Tender
complete
Official procurement procedure
DoF Collaborative Arrangement Supply of Unmetered Electricity 2023-2024 (ID 4543436)
Electricity
Published value
Not published
Submission deadline Not published
Lots published1
Procurement Intelligence
Published evidence · v1
Suitable for SMEs
Prepared 7 Sept 2026, 21:36 BST
A pre-calculated analytical view of official UK procurement facts, competition benchmarks and decision timelines.
Bid readiness
Review notice
Check official notice for submission route
Scope structure
1lots
1 published CPV family
Decision Velocity
~52 days
Sector median: 52 days
Contract lifecycle
Not published
No published extension signal
Pricing & Budget Savings
£25,000,000
1 award supplier linked
Bidding Competition
3 bids
No bid spread metrics published
Sector Market Benchmark (CPV 09)
Based on 31 published procedures
Median Winning Discount
22.5%
Typical Bids Received
4 bidders
Typical Evaluation Window
52 days
Top Contenders in this Sector (CPV 09)
Active commercial suppliers winning public contracts in this field
| Supplier | Awards won in sector | Total awarded value | Avg. winning discount |
|---|---|---|---|
SSE Energy Supply LimitedCRN: PCGX-2814-WLHL | 20 contracts | Not disclosed | At ceiling / not disclosed |
YÜ ENERGY RETAIL LIMITEDCRN: PTNX-6527-XQXY | 17 contracts | Not disclosed | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Npower Commercial Gas LimitedCRN: PNPM-1457-MYHW | 17 contracts | Not disclosed | At ceiling / not disclosed |
EDF Energy Customers LimitedCRN: 02228297 | 16 contracts | £1,218,974,750 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Drax Energy Solutions LimitedCRN: PHGT-4176-JZYL | 16 contracts | Not disclosed | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Good Energy LtdCRN: PLNW-9135-RDNX | 16 contracts | Not disclosed | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Conrad Energy Group LimitedCRN: PZRR-8583-MLBT | 16 contracts | Not disclosed | At ceiling / not disclosed |
TotalEnergies Gas and Power LimitedCRN: PDYB-5247-JVLW | 16 contracts | Not disclosed | At ceiling / not disclosed |
SSE ENERGY SUPPLY LIMITEDCRN: 03757502 | 15 contracts | £4,407,981 | At ceiling / not disclosed |
British Gas Trading LimitedCRN: PPQG-1767-NGCR | 15 contracts | Not disclosed | At ceiling / not disclosed |
Evidence coverage
8/12 core inputs published
Comparable published opportunities
Method: tender-intelligence-v1. Values and dates are retained OCDS facts; missing source data remains unknown.Historic records ranked from matching published evidence. They are research comparables, not expected competitors or a price forecast.
| Published procedure | Published value | Matching evidence |
|---|---|---|
ID 6612871 - DAERA - AFBI - Comprehensive Radiological Monitoring Survey for Radionuclide Decommissioning ProjectAgri-Food and Biosciences Institute (AFBI) · 7 Jul 2026, 16:27 BST | £125,000 | same CPV family same region |
Mechanical & Electrical Framework - NINHMF (NPC) LIMITED · 24 Aug 2026, 15:44 BST | £500,000,000 | same CPV family same region |
PRN26101 Landlord Natural Gas SupplyChoice Housing Ireland Limited · 11 Aug 2026, 09:26 BST | £2,000,000 | same CPV family same region |
T187 - Renewable Electricity ExportNorthern Ireland Water Limited · 22 Jul 2026, 10:58 BST | £1 | same CPV family same region |
ID 6647666 Invest NI - Energy and Resource Efficiency - Technical Advisory Framework - PRE-MARKET ENGAGEMENTInvest Northern Ireland · 30 Jul 2026, 16:53 BST | £1 | same CPV family same region |
Procurement Executive Summary
AI & Search Synopsis
Generated from official OCDS record
Tenderline Synopsis: Department of Finance: "DoF Collaborative Arrangement Supply of Unmetered Electricity 2023-2024 (ID 4543436)". Published status: complete. Published value: Value not published. 1 published lot. Submission deadline not published. See the official notice for participation instructions.
| Contracting Authority | Department of Finance | Scope & Categories | Not published | Submission Window | complete No deadline published |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Submission Gateway | Direct notice route | Legal Basis & Regime | Standard procurement | Estimated Value (exc. VAT) | Not published |
Bidder Intelligence · Authority Profile: Department of Finance
Market Analytics
Derived from OCDS awards & bid statistics
Published history for Department of Finance. These figures describe retained records, not a forecast of bids or a measure of buyer bias.
Published-to-award variance
Not availableInsufficient comparable data
Competition Density
3Bids / Report (median)
Supplier ConcentrationModerate Concentration
Esb Independant EnergyTop vendor: 49.2% of attributable valuePayment Terms
Check noticePublished terms
Coverage: 48 active published awards; 42 bid reports (which may be per lot). Supplier values exclude multi-supplier awards, frameworks and DPS, and use GBP only. They are published award values, not payments. Published-to-award variance compares single-lot, single-award, single-supplier GBP procedures with explicitly non-framework/non-DPS status; increases remain in the average. Unpublished data stays unknown. Awarded suppliers are winners, not all bidders.
Historical Awarded Suppliers in this Category (CPV 09):
| Supplier Name | Historic Awards | Attributable Value | Avg. Price Discount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Esb Independant Energy | 2 wins | £508,750,000 | — |
| POWER NI ENERGY LIMITED | 2 wins | £58,000,000 | — |
| FIRMUS ENERGY SUPPLY LIMITED | 1 win | £420,000,000 | — |
| POWER NI ENERGY LIMITED | 1 win | £40,750,000 | — |
| BALCAS TIMBER LIMITED | 1 win | £7,250,000 | — |
Procedure terms
Contracting AuthorityDepartment of Finance | Procedure methodNot published | Procurement categoryNot published |
Statuscomplete | Framework / DPSNot published | CompetitionNot published |
Above thresholdNot published | Legal basisNot published | Tender period startsNot published |
Clarification deadlineNot published | Electronic submissionNot published | Submission languagesNot published |
Published8 Mar 2023, 07:11 GMT | Last source update8 Mar 2023, 07:11 GMT | Recurring procurementNot published |
ClassificationElectricity | ||
Delivery area | ||
OCIDocds-h6vhtk-038c24 | ||
What is being bought
This contract will be for the supply of 100 percent green Unmetered Electricity for 12 months. The anticipated commencement date shall be 1st April 2023. The Contract will be utilised by the following clients: • Department for Infrastructure (DfI); • NI Water (NIW); • The Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI); • Northern Ireland Housing Executive (NIHE); and • Translink A bid must be provided for a 12 month term (as detailed within the pricing schedule) for 100 percent green unmetered electricity. Each Client will be wholly responsible for the performance of its obligations under the contract. As CPD and its Clients are committed to the Central Government Energy Management Strategy and Action Plan to 2030 Contractors must provide 100 percent green electricity. This commits all Central Government bodies to reduce costs and consumption consistent with draft Programme for Government (PFG) indicators on greenhouse gas emissions and enhancing security of supply. This is delivered through a target to reduce net energy consumption by 30 percent by 2030 and to spend no more on energy in 2030 as we do today. In addition Department for Economy (DfE) has published an issues paper considering how best to advance proposals for an energy strategy that will enable new and challenging decarbonisation targets to be met. Not least among these is the UK Government legal requirement to achieve “net zero carbon” by 2050. Further details on this initiative can be found at https://www.economy-ni.gov.uk/energy-strategy-call-for-evidence and https://www.gov.uk/government/news/uk-becomes-first-major-economy-to-pass-net-zero-emissions-law DfI has embarked on a street lighting LED retrofit programme to replace existing sodium street lighting units with LED ones resulting in reduced consumption as the year progresses. Consequently, the retrofit projects will have an impact on this contract as they will have a direct effect on the consumption of unmetered electricity. The rates submitted must be honoured for the duration of the contract despite the likelihood of a reduction in the annual usage, the supplier should take this into consideration when submitting their response.
What changed
From the official release history
- tender value changed
8 Mar 2023, 07:11 GMT - Status changed to complete
8 Mar 2023, 07:11 GMT - Official notice release published
8 Mar 2023, 07:11 GMT - Submission deadline changed to published date
8 Mar 2023, 07:11 GMT - Published value updated to £30,000,000
9 Dec 2022, 10:43 GMT - Status changed to active
9 Dec 2022, 10:43 GMT - Official notice release published
9 Dec 2022, 10:43 GMT - Submission deadline changed to 30 Jan 2023, 15:00 GMT
9 Dec 2022, 10:43 GMT - Buyer information updated
9 Dec 2022, 10:43 GMT
Lots and requirements (1)
Published by the contracting authority
- Lot 1 · #1Individual lot title not publishedcancelledPublished valueNot publishedThis contract will be for the supply of 100 percent green Unmetered Electricity for 12 months. The anticipated commencement date shall be 1st April 2023. The Contract will be utilised by the following clients: • Department for Infrastructure (DfI); • NI Water (NIW); • The Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI); • Northern Ireland Housing Executive (NIHE); and • Translink A bid must be provided for a 12 month term (as detailed within the pricing schedule) for 100 percent green unmetered electricity. Each Client will be wholly responsible for the performance of its obligations under the contract. As CPD and its Clients are committed to the Central Government Energy Management Strategy and Action Plan to 2030 Contractors must provide 100 percent green electricity. This commits all Central Government bodies to reduce costs and consumption consistent with draft Programme for Government (PFG) indicators on greenhouse gas emissions and enhancing security of supply. This is delivered through a target to reduce net energy consumption by 30 percent by 2030 and to spend no more on energy in 2030 as we do today. In addition Department for Economy (DfE) has published an issues paper considering how best to advance proposals for an energy strategy that will enable new and challenging decarbonisation targets to be met. Not least among these is the UK Government legal requirement to achieve “net zero carbon” by 2050. Further details on this initiative can be found at https://www.economy-ni.gov.uk/energy-strategy-call-for-evidence and https://www.gov.uk/government/news/uk-becomes-first-major-economy-to-pass-net-zero-emissions-law DfI has embarked on a street lighting LED retrofit programme to replace existing sodium street lighting units with LED ones resulting in reduced consumption as the year progresses. Consequently, the retrofit projects will have an impact on this contract as they will have a direct effect on the consumption of unmetered electricity. The rates submitted must be honoured for the duration of the contract despite the likelihood of a reduction in the annual usage, the supplier should take this into consideration when submitting their response. Additional information: This is a demand lead contract.Contract periodNot publishedEligibilityNot publishedOptions / renewalNot published
Timeline
- Procedure published
8 Mar 2023, 07:11 GMT - Award active
Not published · Not published - Contract active
Signed 7 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · £25,000,000
Commercial outcome and competition
Awards POWER NI ENERGY LIMITED Not published · Not published · active |
Contracts Contract £25,000,000 · signed 7 Mar 2023, 00:00 GMT · active |
Bid statistics bids: 3 (lot 1) electronicBids: 3 (lot 1) foreignBidsFromEU: 0 (lot 1) foreignBidsFromNonEU: 1 (lot 1) smeBids: 1 (lot 1) |
Buyer and organisations in this procedure
Department of Finance
Contracting authority GB-FTS-3552Documents (0)
Official links; attachments are not copied
No linked documents are published
Related procedures (0)
No related procedures published